HIGH SPEED-FLASH

Product Reviews

$799.00

(AUD inc. GST)
15

3.7 based on 15 customer reviews

5
4
3
2
1
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good Flash - A Few Minor Quibbles

HVLF60RM 21 August 2018 by MNPNW (USA)

I have two of the HVL-F60RM flashes which I use in combination with a HVL-45RM. They work well; however take a bit longer to setup than the Canon radio units I used with that system. You need to make changes on the camera and flash for remote use and if you decide to use a different unit as the commander, it requires a re-pairing. The swivel head is quite useful, just a bit weak in holding the flash head position. TTL works quite well, better than third party units I've used (Godox). Switches and controls superior to third party units. Wish OEM's would start making LiOn units, perhaps using the same battery as the camera. Overall, a good OEM quality radio flash unit.

Performance

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Won't allow more than one master

HVL-F60RM 05 April 2019 by CGPhoto (USA)

Only one master is allowed to trigger slaves. If you are a wedding photographer and use two bodies you can't trigger a single slave with both bodies. You can do this with any other flash system on the market.

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

15 Customer Reviews

0

Looks good and Functions well

HVL-F60RM 26 November 2021 by Image Mike (United Kingdom)

its just arrived and went straight to work as a commander flash,

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent top range flashgun

HVL-F60RM 13 October 2021 by RGent (United Kingdom)

Not used much yet but an excellent feature-filled flashgun. Expensive and other third party guns will do an equal job.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It's pretty flash

HVL-F60RM 14 September 2021 by flyingblind7 (Australia)

I was lucky enough to find this flash in stock when I purchased by Sony A7R IV. So far it has fulfilled all my requirements and then some. Exactly what you would expect from a Sony product.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Awesome flash

HVLF60RM 27 July 2021 by Hicks 1 (USA)

I bought this flash because it is a great light source

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cheaply made - didn’t even get to really use it.

HVLF60RM 29 June 2021 by TRW12345 (USA)

I bought this flash brand new and when I was showing someone that the flash articulate the the left and the right it broke at the hot shoe. I’ve also been told by Sony experts that this flash has issues with the heart you in general if your not very delicate with it.

Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Defiantly not worth the asking price

HVL-F60RM 24 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

I liked this flash when I first got it a month ago but feel seriously let down after using it. Its big bulky and the head is so loose that its near enough impossible to use light modifiers. The head does not lock and so moves about on its own after the slightest movement. there are lots of flashguns available at a fraction of the cost of this one with better facilities and with a locking flash head. At the asking price of this flash it should be perfect and it isn't and far from it. I tested this one at the side of a Nissan Di700A using a Seconic flash meter there appear very similar in power output, the Nissan has a locking head and facilities are very similar at a price nearly a quarter of this one from Sony. The facilities on the flash work well and are easy to learn but at over £600.00 they are not outstanding. When I bought this Sony flash had I known then what I know now I would have defiantly chosen a different flash

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Overheats after minimal use!

HVL-F60RM 04 August 2020 by johp (USA)

I have used this flash for awhile but recently it has been overheating with minimal use on my Sony A7RIV camera. At this price point I am disappointed.

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Prolonged Pain Amidst The Beauty

HVL-F60RM 28 April 2020 by Sky Born Visual (USA)

‘WITHOUT THE HEAVY MAGMOD ATTACHMENTS this flash will FALL OFF YOUR SONY ALPHA 7,9 CAMERA! One day. And surprise you!’ Have been using two of these for years. I LOVED THEM WITH ALL MY HEART in the beginning. Was super impressed by the speed and quality when syncing at events and for real estate. Prom, portraits - used them both endlessly. Then one day one fell of the hot shoe mount. And then the other...is it the mount, me or the flash locking mech!? And the bitterness in my heart turned the sweetness into a distant memory. It took a few more bounces off the floor to make me spend on ‘off camera’ items - like the remote driver (which doesn’t fall off my Sony Alphas!) and a couple of MagMod grips to attach them to tripods. Yeah! What a pain when all you want is an on camera flash for bouncing light. And run and gun. But it saves them from their next tumble to the floor! as I said Bitter Sweet! But I can safely say I feel emotionally unstable when shooting a portrait and the LOCKING MECHANISM OBVIOUSLY DOESNT STAY LOCKED! Should rename this the Sony High Impact Flash

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent

HVL-F60RM 16 February 2020 by JarJar (United Kingdom)

I have used Nikon flash units for the majority of my photography work (Weddings) When I moved over to Sony I was reluctant to purchase the rather expensive HVL-F60RM and opted for a cheaper non branded flash to work with my Sony’s A7iii and found them to be inconsistent and unreliable. I recently purchased the Sony flagship flash several weeks ago and find the unit to have a quality build (which it should be for £619) the light is consistence and the HSS works with the flash head in any position. The design of this flash is revolutionary with it’s rotating mount (the flash is in the same position in horizontal as it is in the vertical) The recycle time is excellent and with my line of work is more than adequate for my environment . The menu system is simple and easy to navigate unlike the menus system on my A7iii. I would have paid the asking price of £619 but if you look around I purchased the unit from Wilkinson camera shop based in the Uk for £449. Having been in the wedding g photography business for 12 years you get used to overpriced gear but as stated earlier in this basic review you get what you pay for and in my opinion this unit is excellent (

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good flash

HVL-F60RM//CE17 15 January 2020 by kimhuat (Singapore)

So far I am happy with the purchase and have started to use it

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Won't allow more than one master

HVL-F60RM 05 April 2019 by CGPhoto (USA)

Only one master is allowed to trigger slaves. If you are a wedding photographer and use two bodies you can't trigger a single slave with both bodies. You can do this with any other flash system on the market.

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good Flash - A Few Minor Quibbles

HVLF60RM 21 August 2018 by MNPNW (USA)

I have two of the HVL-F60RM flashes which I use in combination with a HVL-45RM. They work well; however take a bit longer to setup than the Canon radio units I used with that system. You need to make changes on the camera and flash for remote use and if you decide to use a different unit as the commander, it requires a re-pairing. The swivel head is quite useful, just a bit weak in holding the flash head position. TTL works quite well, better than third party units I've used (Godox). Switches and controls superior to third party units. Wish OEM's would start making LiOn units, perhaps using the same battery as the camera. Overall, a good OEM quality radio flash unit.

Performance

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

10

0

0

Great features in a fairly compact unit

HVL-F60RM//CE17 14 June 2018 by Sony Budddy (Thailand)

Bought one of these first to use with Sony-RX10 in Wireless mode. Loved the menu system so much that I bought a second unit

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does the job but.....

HVL-F60RM 08 July 2015 by terry0 (Australia)

I like the flash it works well and I get the results I want, its just a shame about the overheating issue. I use it manually all the time because of this as you cannot TTL for an entire shoot as the flash uses too much power and overheats. Once I dialled in all my own settings I haven't had that problem but that isn't very useful when you are working on the fly and need and quick bit of light no time to fiddle.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Unrealised potential

HVL-F60RM 31 August 2014 by Ropes (Australia)

I bought this flash a while ago to replace a HVL-F58 that had the retaining clip broken off by the lousy flash adaptor that came with my A99. The specs of this unit are fabulous and on paper the marriage of the HVL-F60M with the SLT-A99 should produce some stunning shots. Although the two units work extremely well together the HVL-F60M overheats after only 20-25 shots and shuts down for 5 to 10 minutes before it will work again. This is despite the unit not feeling at all warm to the touch and replacing the batteries. Even the non-heat producing LED lights won't work. Recently I was shooting a 21st Birthday and the flash ever heated causing me to miss the cutting of the cake. This is a real poor effort from Sony and they must do better than this. When you consider how expensive this unit is, it is not fair for Sony to release a product that is clearly not fit for it's intended use as a high end/professional flash because it cannot do the job expected of it. Come on Sony, do something about this and soon. I paid good money for this flash!

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0