Starting at

$899.00

for Body Only model

(AUD inc. GST)
1100

4.6 based on 1,100 customer reviews

778
271
21
12
18
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, missing essentials

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 19 April 2014 by RHerrero (USA)

My review will be short as I've just received the camera and have not had a ton of time to play with it. I'm familiar with the Nex line coming from my 5N so I don't expect there to be much about this camera that I dislike. The menu system is different and requires a bit getting used to, but that is minor. The camera feels solid in your hands, looks sleek and professional and the auto focus is FAST. My biggest gripe is not actually with the camera itself, it is with Sony's lack of included essentials. The 'kit' did not include a body cap for the camera nor a back cap for the lens - these are two large oversights in my opinion. What am I supposed to do when I go to put a different lens on the camera in order to protect the lens innards from dust and dirt? Or when I pack up the camera and my lenses into a bag, I am unable to protect the sensor of the camera because a body cap (which is actually in the description of what is included in the kit on the website) was not included? I am extremely disappointed by the lack of these two items because now I have to go purchase and wait for them to arrive seperately.

26

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30 December 2015 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom)

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

1,102 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great Camera

Body Only 20 July 2018 by spoonychief (United Kingdom)

Everybody (well not everybody) moans about the menu system. I don't find it bad, yes it takes a bit of hunting for some settings if you don't use them often but that's to be expected. The menu system is actually quite well laid out for the amount of information it holds. I don't do video so cant comment on that aspect, I do however take pictures. I am not a pro but can churn out good results and this camera is more than capable of producing some very nice pictures. you can crop heavy if you need to thanks to the 24mp. There is nothing I can really fault about the camera or the picture quality, its on par with my dslr. The downside to Sonys e-mount is the price of good glass, and the size of that good glass. however for most the kit lens will be more than enough. Having said that the 30mm Prime lens from sigma is fantastic and cheap and thats what i use 90% of the time. The issue with the sony is the play app is clunky and connecting my camera to the app is a pain in the side, so i just don't bother using it anymore. In summery, I love this camera, I nearly brought the rx100 mkiii but went for the larger sensor on the a6000 in the end and glad I did. in an ideal world i would have both (maybe one day) If I broke my a6000, I would replace it with another one! (I have dropped it while on holiday from a height while travelling at speed and it hit tarmac and luckily it still works fine however it no longer has a battery door as it snapped off, but it does show these cameras are really well built and durable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dslr to ccs

Body Only 20 July 2018 by Gaz66 (United Kingdom)

Wanted a change from dslr so opted for the a6000. Initial impression of the camera is very good. Having used Canon dslr for the past seven year or so i considerd the Canon user interface to be very easy to navigate, however i must say that the a6000 is just as easy to operate! Only took around 400 shots so far so looking forward to using the camera when we go to Norway in August.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Camera

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50 mm & 55-210 mm) 19 July 2018 by sunesh (USA)

happy life, happy sony product, my life is change.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for begginers

ilce6000b 17 July 2018  (USA)

I bought it a month ago and I am enjoying it. I used it to photograph my buddies surfing and some landscape at night and it went great. I'm still learning how to operate it,but I'm happy with the price/bennefit of it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good well designed camera

Body Only 16 July 2018 by uncle B (United Kingdom)

I bought this over a year ago and it it great then and still is

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Interchangeable lenses

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 16 July 2018 by Lavender Cottage (United Kingdom)

It was time to replace my older Sony SLR. Was disappointed to find that an adapter was needed to fit my own lenses and this was very expensive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Purchase

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 12 July 2018 by Sea Fisher (United Kingdom)

So pleased with it, and I am now looking at additional lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice shots

Body Only 10 July 2018 by miles10 (United Kingdom)

i just both 4days ago and im a beginner and i want to know how good your product

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Loving the a6k

ilce6000lb 07 July 2018 by Vorn (USA)

The A6000 makes it fun and easy to create images. Thaks sony Instagram @blinstig

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Still learning

Body Only 04 July 2018 by PH65 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera (two weeks ago) as a step up from an older point and shoot camera and it unquestionably gives greater control. The kit lens gives reasonable photographs, but I do feel these could be better - with a better lens, using a tripod or using the RAW formatting. The clear zoom is very clever, but does seem to lead to pixellation earlier than those taken without. It does, however, give greater flexibility and since I am unlikely to ever print very large images, no one will really notice. With the creative styles (Partial colours, watercolour, high contrast B&W etc) you can create some very appealing images very quickly. My only real gripe so far is that I don't seem to be able to turn the shutter sounds off: surely as this is a mirrorless camera, there needn't be a noise? The batteries could last longer, so if you're going far, get some spares in. So overall, I really like the camera and hope to have many happy years using it. Half the fun of having a camera like this is learning how to get the best from it and I am happily still learning :-)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Little Camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 03 July 2018 by AC65 (United Kingdom)

I have just recently purchased this fantastic little camera. Light and compact, with interchangeable lenses. The quality of the photos with the right lense are amazing. It will take a little time to learn the in and outs of the Sony alpha 6000 But I am looking forward to learning and enjoying it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact in size, but not on features.

Body Only 03 July 2018 by CZorgT (United Kingdom)

This camera has proven to be very god, with the right lens. I use older M42 lenses with an adapter, so I really appreciate the focus peaking and electronic zoom preview that allows accurate manual focusing. The speed of the camera is amazing. The focus is very fast in auto mode with a dedicated lens. The wifi features are very good, with the Android app software being very useful (having Live View) The lack of Live View on my Acer laptop software was a loss, but it seems not all support it. The batteries, in an average environment for temperature, lst quite a decent time for such small batteries. Turning off the wifi helps with this. The real view finder is a wonderful grace. The 5000 doesn't have one and is noticed when gong back to a 5000. The lack of 24p video was a downer, although I can obtain this in NTSC. PAL is of course my preferred for quality. One thing that lets it down is the fact the video and photo settings are intrinsically linked: if I adjust the shutter and aperture in video mode, it keeps that when I switch over to manual photo mode. That does annoy me. I have to say this camera does give good quality and features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features for am/pro

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 01 July 2018 by Paddykels (United Kingdom)

I am used to Canon DSLR camera which is cumbersome and a pain carrying it around. I decided I needed a smaller more portable camera and after a lot of research I decided upon Sony A6000. Well I have to say it was a brilliant decision. It can be used by beginners and professionals. Some of the modes takes the photography out taking great pictures in all sort of conditions, night, twilight sunshine without really blinking. Great camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Best of mirroless for features and price

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 30 June 2018 by Tavo17 (USA)

Always happy with my dear camera, no complains,easy to learn how to use ,good price and accurate recommendations in Best Buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My first mirrorless camera

Body Only 29 June 2018 by John_Photo (United Kingdom)

I bought this two weeks ago and I am delighted with so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple but so versatile

Body Only 29 June 2018 by Rab07 (United Kingdom)

Recently bought this camera to use with legacy lenses and find it to be simple but very versatile. Many useful features for example the viewfinder on a bright day is a godsend. As a more mature user the built in focus aids for manual focus are very clever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25 June 2018  (United Kingdom)

Wanted a lighter camera than my old dslr, fits the bill perfectly. Will be after a 6500 when budget permits. Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 25 June 2018 by Daddy bear (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony A6000 18 months ago as a compact camera for a milestone holiday. Not wishing to carry my DSLR lit around, I wanted something compact that still gave excellent results. Th A6000 fit the bill. While retaining the ability to change lenses if I ever want to it is compact enough to fit in a jacket pocket or my wifes purse. The image results with the standard lens are superb and I now carry it with me nearly all the time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good all round entry level camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 23 June 2018 by mido ellon (United Kingdom)

purchased 4 weeks ago as a holiday /easy to cary camera ,bought with 16 -50 lens ,not a great lens ,wouldnt recommend it as it was slow and fish eye and vignetting problems ,camera itself is a bit over rated for the mobey ,but it does what it says on the box ,almost

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

mr Hunt

Body Only 22 June 2018 by Muscles (United Kingdom)

Nice piece of kit not heavy or clumsy and hopefully will add more lens when needed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great so far

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50 mm & 55-210 mm) 22 June 2018 by SweetJon (USA)

My first camera that doesn’t use film... Great so far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant choice of settings.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 21 June 2018 by Ozzydog (United Kingdom)

I purchased the camera one week ago and so far have been disappointed with the colour rendition. I am not sure if the problem is with the camera or my printer. I have changed to shooting in raw to see if this solves the problem.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small but mighty, pleasure to use and enjoy

Body Only 21 June 2018 by BobanTopke011 (United Kingdom)

Bought it a few weeks ago and one thing is more than obvious. I can’t wait to come from work and to go outside to take a zillion of photos. This minute beast is making me healthy that’s for sure. Am I better photographer, well, thats another question. This real aloha is doing its best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENT

Body Only 19 June 2018 by SUBBU (USA)

I BOUGHT THIS A MONTH A GO. i LOVE IT. THANK YOU SONY..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0