Starting at

$848.00

for Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens model

(AUD inc. GST)
1356

4.6 based on 1,356 customer reviews

959
327
31
13
26
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, missing essentials

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 19 April 2014 by RHerrero (USA)

My review will be short as I've just received the camera and have not had a ton of time to play with it. I'm familiar with the Nex line coming from my 5N so I don't expect there to be much about this camera that I dislike. The menu system is different and requires a bit getting used to, but that is minor. The camera feels solid in your hands, looks sleek and professional and the auto focus is FAST. My biggest gripe is not actually with the camera itself, it is with Sony's lack of included essentials. The 'kit' did not include a body cap for the camera nor a back cap for the lens - these are two large oversights in my opinion. What am I supposed to do when I go to put a different lens on the camera in order to protect the lens innards from dust and dirt? Or when I pack up the camera and my lenses into a bag, I am unable to protect the sensor of the camera because a body cap (which is actually in the description of what is included in the kit on the website) was not included? I am extremely disappointed by the lack of these two items because now I have to go purchase and wait for them to arrive seperately.

26

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30 December 2015 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom)

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

1,357 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Impressed

Body Only 17 July 2019 by Tan4150 (United Kingdom)

Excellent camera I have ever had. Photos are very sharp and clear, it has some AI to make some modifications in photos automatically after it has been taken. I like the autofocus of this camera, better works than manual mode in some instances. Recommended for the beginners.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the features of the camera

Body Only 15 July 2019 by Kess42 (United Kingdom)

I got the Sony A6000 2 weeks ago so lm still Learning about the features of the camera.first day or two just playing with the settings on the camera .got some great pictures of the flowers in the garden the colours of the flowers were amazing.looking forward to leaning more about the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera, much more than I expected !

Body Only 10 July 2019 by Pazzypj4 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago to replace an expensive DSLR which had to go, I did not expect I would be so happy with the results of a camera a fraction of the price of my original, I love it and would recommend not just for a novice or beginner in photography but a great all round camera with the edition of some lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing value and performance

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 09 July 2019 by Sk53x11 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to take better photos than my phone. Not disappointed at all so far. Amazing image quality and other worldly autofocus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Pleased!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09 July 2019 by Jerry0A (United Kingdom)

I had the 5100 which I enjoyed using but found it very difficult to use in bright sunshine, as the screen was impossible to see. I’ve upgraded to the newer 6000 which has an eyepiece. The sighting problem has gone and I have still got a camera that I am very familiar with. Perfect solution and it takes great photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera for beginners

Body Only 08 July 2019 by Lyd90 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as my first camera to try and expand my hobby. It really is a great camera, i cant fault it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME CAMERA FOR THE PRICE!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07 July 2019 by Mike82 (USA)

I've purchased this camera about 2 years ago. All I can say is AWESOME CAMERA & CRYSTAL CLEAR PICTURES! And, the camera is easy to operate and has awesome features you might be interested to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive quality and easy to travel with.

Body Only 06 July 2019 by Kevsie (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an alternative to my regular DSLR which is very heavy and not always a joy to take travelling. The Sony A6000 is a very good alternative because it is much lighter but the quality of pictures and technical abilities are still very high. I'm still getting to know the camera but I'm already impressed by the picture quality and the range of features. My only criticism so far is that it is difficult to find one's way around the menu system to take advantage of the very many features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

User friendly and superb quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 05 July 2019 by Andyyyyyyy (United Kingdom)

Bought this to start getting more into photography. As a beginner the camera is really user friendly, lightweight and has a good selection of lenses to expand my photography/film work. Very pleased with the camera and enjoying the learning curve.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has every thing I need plus more

Body Only 04 July 2019 by Carmot (United Kingdom)

Had it a couple of weeks now and I am very impressed

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The wifi sync to mobile does not work

Body Only 26 June 2019 by Seddoni (United Kingdom)

1. Camera overall very good. 2. Wifi pics sync to mobile does not work - it just hangs with a loading wheel ... tried everything. That is very poor and I have few alternatives. 3. The play memories app is very cheap looking with poor operability, confusing tiles that do similar things, registration is poor and uses an app to web call , not native UI ... 4. Camera UI is a bit cluncky and 1990’s multi-menu for 000’s of bit of functionality in many menus, where is the quick start/link menu ?? For most folk who only need 3-5 things ....

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

focus

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25 June 2019 by tami2 (United Kingdom)

i love this camera great pictures easy to hold compact

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So far so good

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25 June 2019 by chiefsfan (United Kingdom)

So I've only had this 2 weeks but already glad I bought it. As a virgin photographer of wild life i am finding this really responsive and easy to use. Ok if you have never had this type of camera before you need to keep the instruction book handy but overall very pleased. I may come back later after I've had it a bit longer but yes I would recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great transition from Bridge to mirrorless

Body Only 24 June 2019 by Horse2505 (United Kingdom)

Only just started to play with this camera but the results have been awesome. You can keep it on the auto focus etc and its great. Everything is to hand and buttons are not easily accidentally pressed. Even my 8 year has taken some good pictures with it. Only thing that I am struggling with is the WIFI and NFC, doesn't seem to want to connect to my Android or IPhone 7 so I need to play with this as if I can get this to work then 5 stars on ease of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 23 June 2019 by Jolley (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with this camera and it’s features, Sony quality 100 %

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Old but still good

Body Only 23 June 2019 by Tklmix13 (United Kingdom)

This is budget camera with great features as it shoot great pictures in the low light. Record high quality FHD.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Packed with great functionality

Body Only 22 June 2019 by Why do I have to have one (United Kingdom)

I have only just started using this camera. As it contained soo many new features I started by reading the manual, then did some research about how other users configured some of the settings. Unless you have used an A series camera in the past do not assume you know what all the settings mean. This has to be the best value small camera on the market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera for enthusiasts.

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L 19 June 2019 by Alex (United Kingdom)

The cameras will suit every type of photographer, amateur or professional. Feature packed with full auto and for the creative photographer great manual features. The kit is a 2 lense kit and price point is reasonable.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Easy

Body Only 18 June 2019 by JillN (United Kingdom)

This is an easily portable camera which takes a great variety of photographs according to its different settings. There is much to learn about diversifying the photography but the automatic setting works really well. Overall it has exciting potential.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERY COMPLETE CAMERA

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16 June 2019 by hank41 (USA)

I bought the camera last week and am trying to learn how to use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Noisy pictures, awful viewfinder

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 13 June 2019 by Berttx (USA)

I bough this about a month ago to have a handy camera with great capabilities that could take interchangeable lenses. Carrying my DSLRs every day was not an option. The form factor of the camera is quite nice. The focus systems are slow and clunky. But the worst two problems are the horrible view finder. You sometimes can't tell if the object is in focus. Also, the pictures are ALWAYS noisy, even at ISO100 in full daylight. Most subjects look blurred because of the noise. Perhaps I got a bad camera. I'm not sure, but I have been REALLY disappointed by the terrible image quality.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointed

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50 mm & 55-210 mm) 10 June 2019 by Ritayvonne (USA)

I was told that I would be able to move my photos from the camera to the IPhone but the application does not work.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

solid great camera

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L 09 June 2019 by marky (United Kingdom)

bought this Sony a6000 for my holiday found it to be perfect with the added bonus of two lenses pictures were excellent and the build quality of the camera is very high , also features of the camera were easy to use . would highly recommend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

great camera

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 09 June 2019 by markyp101 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera kit for my holiday two weeks ago and was not disappointed the cameras build quality is excellent and having the choice of two lenses was great last of all the pictures came out excellent ,would recommend this camera highly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0