Starting at

$1,349.00

for Body Only model

(AUD inc. GST)
297

4.6 based on 297 customer reviews

208
72
9
4
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

sony a7 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Body Only 04 June 2014 by paul01071968 (United Kingdom)

i bought my a7 to replace my sony a850 mainly because of the weight difference and i was blowen away with the picture quality and the realy impresive video the fact i can use all my a mount lens with a lea 4 adaptor ment i did not have to go out and replace all my lens the build quality like all the sony cameres i own is realy good the menu system is very easy to use the camera is a quality piece of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice build quality...but.

Body Only 05 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

Bought as I needed better resolution and less noise than a m43 can provide. I photograph extreme macro subject up to 7x lifesize and wanted the better signal/noise a 35mm sensor can provide. My previous camera had all kinds of ergonomic deficits, namely buttons in the wrong place that kept getting unintentionally pressed and was causing me to lose shots due to incorrect settings. This camera handles very well, is beautifully made and handles exactly as I need it to. Most of the buttons are in the right place, though the review zoom button magnifies the screen image massively and I always have to zoom out to actually see the detail I want. The button is also in a difficult to reach position. The menu system, as with most Sony cameras is just rubbish. It looks 10 years out of date, is unnecessarily complicated and requires the user to scroll through the whole menu instead of having sub-menus. Controlling the camera via wifi is difficult, non-intuitive and basically a painful experience, though this is down to the rubbish software that Sony has foisted upon us. It is not a fault of the camera. I use this camera with non-system lenses when not involved with macro work and find the ev to be less than good, and the exposure meter non-intuitive and unreliable. Need to make a test exposure and check against a histogram. I'm sure it would be more user friendly with system lenses, though these are very expensive. Another very surprising problem, and this is quite a nuisance, is that there is no intervalometer built into the camera. I assumed any camera of this calibre would have one, but no, you need to download and install one from Sony for £8.00. This is a problem for astronomical photographers or those wanting to do time lapse. Come on Sony, give us what we expect.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

307 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Very nice camera

Body Only 09 November 2019 by Compulsory nickname v odd (United Kingdom)

Haven't had chance to use the features I bought the camera for, I tested those out and was very happy. I just need a good lens to complete my purchase I have a SX60 which Is an awesome carry around compact, I thought swapping my Canon for a Sony would be a smart move. I'm still on the fence but can see me jumping to the sony side soon. My first full frame too.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for low light

Body Only 01 November 2019 by Canny lad (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago with the view to take it on my next trip to Utah and Colarado I'll be visiting various National Parks which feature beautiful rock formations , canyons and natural rock arches.At the moment I’m practising but the results so far have been very encouraging

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera I have and very light weight

ILCE-7 Body / Kit 22 October 2019 by Robby (United Kingdom)

Does what it says and light weight

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 18 October 2019 by axel_stelvio (United Kingdom)

S happy with the purchase. It has a great image image quality and a fantastic sensor. Love it!! The only downside it that it drains the battery so quickly you need like 3 batteries with you for a full day shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

For £650 you get a whole lot of camera

Body Only 11 October 2019 by Vik916 (United Kingdom)

Lovely pictures with awesome background blur. Menu could be better and tracking speed but this is an old camera for cheap so if you expect 2019 specs pay £3500 .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great performance!!!

Body Only 07 October 2019 by Markgatte (United Kingdom)

Very happy to have a DSLR Sony! Fantastic performances!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice build quality...but.

Body Only 05 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

Bought as I needed better resolution and less noise than a m43 can provide. I photograph extreme macro subject up to 7x lifesize and wanted the better signal/noise a 35mm sensor can provide. My previous camera had all kinds of ergonomic deficits, namely buttons in the wrong place that kept getting unintentionally pressed and was causing me to lose shots due to incorrect settings. This camera handles very well, is beautifully made and handles exactly as I need it to. Most of the buttons are in the right place, though the review zoom button magnifies the screen image massively and I always have to zoom out to actually see the detail I want. The button is also in a difficult to reach position. The menu system, as with most Sony cameras is just rubbish. It looks 10 years out of date, is unnecessarily complicated and requires the user to scroll through the whole menu instead of having sub-menus. Controlling the camera via wifi is difficult, non-intuitive and basically a painful experience, though this is down to the rubbish software that Sony has foisted upon us. It is not a fault of the camera. I use this camera with non-system lenses when not involved with macro work and find the ev to be less than good, and the exposure meter non-intuitive and unreliable. Need to make a test exposure and check against a histogram. I'm sure it would be more user friendly with system lenses, though these are very expensive. Another very surprising problem, and this is quite a nuisance, is that there is no intervalometer built into the camera. I assumed any camera of this calibre would have one, but no, you need to download and install one from Sony for £8.00. This is a problem for astronomical photographers or those wanting to do time lapse. Come on Sony, give us what we expect.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 05 October 2019 by Spen67 (United Kingdom)

Only had this camera just over a week and I must say I am well impressed great photos image is clear and sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality pictures

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 02 October 2019 by Antj (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera 2 weeks ago, very happy with the picture quality, is my first mirrorless full frame camera, the only downside is that some features are not available if you don't pay for it, it limits the camera features.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A replacement for a Canon

Body Only 01 October 2019 by davidw3000 (United Kingdom)

Had the unit with the 50mm and 24-240mm lenses. The camera does a good job, but battery life is a key problem. Not as good as the top of the range Canon equipment, but compared to the mid level Canon/Nikon equipment it is a pretty good piece of kit

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good camera

Body Only 26 September 2019 by ASK8 (United Kingdom)

Camera is well made and photographs are the sharpest and best I have taken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it ... so easy to use

Body Only 25 September 2019 by Marika Dee photography (United Kingdom)

Suddenly everything makes sense I can concentrate on creativity without getting lost in technical issues

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

ilce7kb 18 September 2019 by Larryah1 (USA)

I’ve always wanted a mirrorless camera. This one didn’t disappoint.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camera Great, customer support terrible

ilce7b 12 September 2019 by HomeSchoolDJ (USA)

I tried adding the timelapse feature to my a7. The process you have to go through to get a feature, that should have been preloaded on the camera, is impossible. I went through 20,000 pages on sony’s Website, and when I submit the form to register my a7 to open an account to download the timelapse feature, to install on my camera... their servers were down “please try again later”. Literally the knock off timelapse application from the sketchy open source community is easier to install than sony’s Software! Fix your website Sony! There are too many hoops to jump through just to take a timelapse on my camera. Makes me (a decade long Sony fan) want to by a cannon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

It's a great camera, but not the latest spec

Body Only 12 September 2019 by misterben (United Kingdom)

I got this as a stop-gap while saving for the mk3. Was on double promotion, so great value for money. Moved from a Canon 550d, and this is smaller and slightly lighter which is makes the whole mirrorless worth it. No complaints about battery life, maybe because I'm coming from a very old camera. Buttons could be a bit nicer placement. I think the later versions fixed these issues. I'm ok with that, for the price I paid. I'm upset that it won't let me preview through a laptop (my 10-year-old Canon did!), and the workflow doesn't seem that smooth - I struggled to have photos taken on computer transfer smoothly, so I gave up and just shoot in-camera & take the memory card out of the camera or transfer via USB rather than shoot on computer. Image quality is very nice. I think I need more lenses, but the Canon L lens I've been using with an adapter works well and had some lovely quality. Enjoying the extra dynamic range Sony has over Canon. The kit lens included is ok. It works very smoothly, and I love the manual focus feature (where it zooms in when it senses that you're turning the focus ring, then out again). I've also tried using a 50-year-old M42 lens with a tilt-shift adapter for some lovely arty images - and was able to set one of the custom buttons to do the zoom in/out feature as obviously an old lens wouldn't be able to tell the camera it was being focused. Overall, I'm very happy with this, but at the same time, I can see myself wanting to upgrade in the near future (when I have money!).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Love it

Body Only 10 September 2019 by Thedy (United Kingdom)

Buying this camera was one of the best decisions ive done regarding photography so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Camera

Body Only 10 September 2019 by Dkim99 (United Kingdom)

I have had all makes of DSLR over the years but none of them match the quality, functionality and performance of this Sony A7

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact & great with legacy lenses

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 07 September 2019 by 10Paul (United Kingdom)

Early impressions: very well built, compact & lightweight. Excellent features & good usability that invites use of manual settings. Great viewfinder. Also works well with legacy lenses. Only downside is the poor battery performance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 03 September 2019 by Raggs (United Kingdom)

Great camera for the money, just need to upgrade the lens now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Exceptional Quality.

Body Only 01 September 2019 by pcp65 (United Kingdom)

Just switched to full frame, picture quality is exceptional, especially in low light, currently using 50mm prime lens that is perfect for what I shoot. Take care Sony lens seem to be very expensive and the camera app is not yet compatible with IOS 13.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 31 August 2019 by dkdan (United Kingdom)

captures great pictures and has a lot of functionality. the focus can sometimes take a while to kick in but for the most part knows what im trying to shoot. nice that it has customisation buttons to help you work it in a way you like. i also got the 50mm Sony prime lens which captures absolutely beautiful pictures. really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light and easy to use

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 27 August 2019 by RJ07 (United Kingdom)

The Sony Alpha ILCE-7K is my first mirrorless camera. I bought it on 13 August 2019 and took it to the far north west of Scotland to try it out. It takes amazing landscape shots, even when there is low level cloud, and that is just with the kit lens (see photo attached). It takes superb panoramic images as well, and they crop down to high quality images too. The camera is easy to get to grips with in its basic functions and offers me excitement with its high quality images.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great image quality.

Body Only 26 August 2019 by Ian1964 (United Kingdom)

Bought this because of the great deal on amazon and am delighted with my a7. I am loving learning more about my camera every time I use it. Can't wait to purchase at least one G lens to get the most from it.. and me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Incredible Camera at an even better price!

Body Only 25 August 2019 by Coastal (United Kingdom)

Genuinely couldn’t be happier with my Sony A7, even the in the box lense ‘55mm’ is fantastic. Couldn’t recommend more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0