Starting at

$2,688.00

for Body Only model

(AUD inc. GST)
32

4.7 based on 32 customer reviews

24
5
3
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A great, compact full frame camera but not perfect

ILCE-7CM2 16 December 2023 by cameraguy UK (United Kingdom)

Nov 2023. A powerhouse of a camera but could do with a few tweaks. I deliberated for weeks over buying this instead of the A7iv - in the end the slightly more travel-friendly size and updated AF features swung it for me. I come from a video background and current work is 80% video 20% stills, so ideally I wanted a camera that can take great photos but also deliver 10bit 422 video in HD and UHD when used on a gimbal or used on a tripod as a B-camera (or even a C-camera) and is a good match with my other Sony FX-series cameras. So far I am very pleased with the video quality from the A7C ii and the upgraded auto focus ability is proving very reliable - possible the best AF of any camera I have owned. Light sensitivity is not as good as my A7Siii (as expected) but it's a trade-off I'm happy to accept for the increased pixel count that allows me to use S35 / APS-C lenses in 4K / UHD crop without compromise. My photo skills are still fairly basic but so far I am happy with the results I am getting - no complaints there! The bits I wish were better (mainly relating to video usage): the HDMI socket - I would prefer a full-size HDMI not a micro, it feely like it's going to break with the slightest knock. If Sony had put the card slot on the other side of the camera there would've been plenty of room. Also the headphone socket is at the bottom, meaning it restricts the range of movement of the screen, and if you use a Smallrig cage the HDMI port protector blocks the headphone port - it would have been so much better if it was at the top next to the mic socket. Still no Waveform monitor!! I know this is primarily a still camera and histograms are preferred by photographers but if you are going to include such great video performance please, please include a waveform monitor - no video professional uses histograms. Panasonic have been including it for years on some of their Lumix cameras so it can't be difficult to implement. Touch Icons: (on-screen touch buttons) a nice idea but it needs to be customisable to be truly useful. Specifically I'd like the option to remove some of the icons so they don't get accidentally activated - things like the Record button or Focus Map for instance. And why can't I assign the Headphone Level to a shortcut function button or the FN menu? I can assign the Rec Level but not the Headphone Level. (This is as far as I know a thing across the whole Alpha range, not exclusively the A7Cii). In summary: a great stills camera and a very good video camera. There's room for improvement, some of which could be a simple firmware update. If you're purely into stills photography the A7iv might still be the best option? - or if you're not in a hurry wait for the A7v to be released and see what it offers?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Excellent performance. Poor build quality.

Body Only 07 November 2023 by Jeff_L (Singapore)

I've been using a7C II for a few weeks since I bought it in mid October. So far I'm satisfied with the specs and performance of the camera. The size is perfect for everyday casual usage. However, I'm extremely unhappy about the build quality of the camera body. All the function keys (C1, C2, ...) and the menu key is super soft which lack feedback while pressing. This is really frustrating considering that it's a quite expensive camera. I've been actively contacting the customer service for this issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

33 Customer Reviews

0

Compact, Efficient, Workhorse

Body Only 19 February 2024 by FilmKelaido (Singapore)

Was suppose to be my secondary cam for my a7iv, in the end it became my main camera as it was so compact and efficient. I travel alot for shoots, and this combined with my gimbal makes run-and-gun shoots a breeze. Rigging it up is also easy and doesn't take too much of my bag space. Definitely reccomended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

User experience on family casual shooter

Body Only 16 February 2024  (Malaysia)

I have been using a7cii for a month now, the autofocus very reliable and accurate. menu setting is easy to setup. But there are some cons on the camera itself: 1. The screen resolution and EVF resolution are too poor with this price. 2. no joystick for adjust focus area. 3. no dual card slot, can referring Nikon using micro SD as secondary card slot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and convenient with great colours

Body Only 13 February 2024 by Rx78 (Malaysia)

I bought the silver model from Sony. Sony mirrorless has good colour and acceptable video features My leica is heavier and needs post processing, sony is a good travel camera and requires less post processing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent all round camera

ILCE-7CM2 11 February 2024 by Cliffycbm (United Kingdom)

For me this is the perfect sensor size. The images that I've taken are Sharp with good colour rendition. I find the camera comfortable and easy to use with my Sony lenses. There is still much to explore but after 3 weeks using this camera daily I'm delighted with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My first camera

Body Only 30 January 2024 by Boy1993 (Thailand)

It so cool 😀 i try to find fullframe camera, it's my first time to use mirrorless camera. I find about small size/ low weight / new tech / everyday used. I think, it's perfect for me 😁😁😁

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Worth moving up from APS-C

ILCE-7CM2 26 January 2024 by pjb101 (United Kingdom)

Previously I had the A6400. The A7C ii is a big step up and only 100g heavier. 2 extra dials make it much easier to adjust shutter speed and aperture. Full frame gives access to much more choice, higher quality and faster lenses. Autofocus is much more reliable, especially in video. I'm very happy with the images and videos I am getting. Menu system is much improved, though still difficult to navigate or undestand all the options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great travel friendly camera

Body Only 25 January 2024 by dallaskhl (Singapore)

bought it in Dec 2023 and been really happy with the purchase. It is lightweight and really good for me as I mainly used the camera for travelling and street photography. Upgraded from a7II and really love the upgrade so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Full Frame Camera

Body + 28-60mm Zoom Lens 18 January 2024 by EJGN (Singapore)

I bought this a month ago! And i would say its one of my best investment so far. I am excited to use it on my upcoming travels this year.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Compact Camera

Body Only 14 January 2024 by gmulia (Singapore)

Been waiting for this compact FF camera for too long, finally I have it. Very happy to the max!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lack a Joystick and too small viewfinder

Body Only 11 January 2024 by Raystudio (Malaysia)

Overall I'm like the compact size and lighter full frame camera for travel.So far image quality I'm satisfied but without joystick for focusing and viewfinder too small .

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

0

0

0

Great for what it is!

Body Only 11 January 2024 by Parkyx (Singapore)

I mainly use my cameras on travels so weight and ease of use is my main considerations. My A7IV is great, but it is too heavy and I prefer a less chunky grip. The A7CII fits my need perfectly and I've been super happy with it on my last two trips.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Compact Camera

Body Only 08 January 2024 by ritchiphoto (Singapore)

This Camera is just amazing, it has everything of a DLSR camera into a compact format !! It's really easy to use and the AI focus feature is just amazing !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent camera with all the great features!

Body Only 07 January 2024 by GodRevenge (Singapore)

Bought this camera last month, in term of price and features, this camera is beyond my expectation. Great hybrid compact camera with all the features that I needs. Love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony a7cii review

Body Only 30 December 2023 by Calvincool (Singapore)

Self timer in this camera is a joke. I not sure all sony camera did the same but once you press the button the camera will do the focus straightaway before the timer end. So it is impossible to self portrait. I thought Sony autofocus is reliable but found out the photo focus to totally off when surrounding so complex. Subject recognition no auto mode. Different subject must choose very specific which canon and nikon dont need to. It is very troublesome. No joystick to move focus point. Using LCD Touch pad to move totally difficult. Viewfinder and lcd not enough bright for noon or bright day light shooting.start up a bit slow. Sometime lcd screen black out for few seconds and cant do anything. Battery life is good. Compact and small. When in focus photo looks very sharp. Preview photo automatically go to focus area.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Compact yet competent full frame camera

Body + 28-60mm Zoom Lens 27 December 2023 by Omninet08 (Singapore)

I bought this camera to replace my trusty A7III primarily for the compact size and light weight. Little do I know this A7CII has much more to offer, and it is versatile and packed with lots of features which A7III lacks, The revamped menu and touch screen is definitely much more user friendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Travel Camera

Body + 28-60mm Zoom Lens 26 December 2023 by _whys_ (Singapore)

Best travel full-frame camera, light and small, highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A gem of a camera

Body Only 25 December 2023 by PingC (Singapore)

Brought the a7C II paired with the Sony 20-70 mm F4 lens to Okinawa for our 1 week vacation. Used this combo exclusively throughout the holiday, in bright sunshine and drizzly conditions, in dark caves and colourfully lit resorts and streets. It’s the perfect combo. The camera is small and light, yet captured fantastic photos and videos. Took more than a thousand photos and lots of videos. Battery could last more than a day on a single charge. Happy that I was able to capture the Milky Way and a meteor with this little camera (coupled with a Zeiss Batis 18 mm F2.8 lens) from the balcony of our hotel. Only caveat is that it is difficult to play back 4K videos recorded at 60p in the highest bitrate of 200 Mbps on a computer. Overall highly recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A low-light Boss.

Body Only 22 December 2023 by MrTom (USA)

I switched from another system specifically because this camera looked like it would be unobtrusive, fast handling, and capable in low light. I was NOT disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Its body is very light and feels good in the hand

Body Only 20 December 2023 by Z H leee (Singapore)

It feels very good, the light is very powerful on the night scene

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

best full frame camera ever used

Body + 28-60mm Zoom Lens 20 December 2023 by Hewhewme (United Kingdom)

Small form factor, lightweight, full of features, excellent sensor and focusing galore .. 5 star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A great, compact full frame camera but not perfect

ILCE-7CM2 16 December 2023 by cameraguy UK (United Kingdom)

Nov 2023. A powerhouse of a camera but could do with a few tweaks. I deliberated for weeks over buying this instead of the A7iv - in the end the slightly more travel-friendly size and updated AF features swung it for me. I come from a video background and current work is 80% video 20% stills, so ideally I wanted a camera that can take great photos but also deliver 10bit 422 video in HD and UHD when used on a gimbal or used on a tripod as a B-camera (or even a C-camera) and is a good match with my other Sony FX-series cameras. So far I am very pleased with the video quality from the A7C ii and the upgraded auto focus ability is proving very reliable - possible the best AF of any camera I have owned. Light sensitivity is not as good as my A7Siii (as expected) but it's a trade-off I'm happy to accept for the increased pixel count that allows me to use S35 / APS-C lenses in 4K / UHD crop without compromise. My photo skills are still fairly basic but so far I am happy with the results I am getting - no complaints there! The bits I wish were better (mainly relating to video usage): the HDMI socket - I would prefer a full-size HDMI not a micro, it feely like it's going to break with the slightest knock. If Sony had put the card slot on the other side of the camera there would've been plenty of room. Also the headphone socket is at the bottom, meaning it restricts the range of movement of the screen, and if you use a Smallrig cage the HDMI port protector blocks the headphone port - it would have been so much better if it was at the top next to the mic socket. Still no Waveform monitor!! I know this is primarily a still camera and histograms are preferred by photographers but if you are going to include such great video performance please, please include a waveform monitor - no video professional uses histograms. Panasonic have been including it for years on some of their Lumix cameras so it can't be difficult to implement. Touch Icons: (on-screen touch buttons) a nice idea but it needs to be customisable to be truly useful. Specifically I'd like the option to remove some of the icons so they don't get accidentally activated - things like the Record button or Focus Map for instance. And why can't I assign the Headphone Level to a shortcut function button or the FN menu? I can assign the Rec Level but not the Headphone Level. (This is as far as I know a thing across the whole Alpha range, not exclusively the A7Cii). In summary: a great stills camera and a very good video camera. There's room for improvement, some of which could be a simple firmware update. If you're purely into stills photography the A7iv might still be the best option? - or if you're not in a hurry wait for the A7v to be released and see what it offers?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Great point-and-shoot sized full frame

Body + 28-60mm Zoom Lens 16 December 2023 by John DG (Malaysia)

Full frame quality in a point-and-shoot body. If you're looking for a low weight and small sized full frame camera, like we did, this is a unique one on the market. Actually I shoot with bigger full frames, but I needed a compact and light one for my wife. Sony was the only one who had exactly what we were looking for. Ideal for traveling and street photograph. It's less pertruding than my bigger camera's. And yes, there are disadvantages to a compact design. Bigger lenses look a little bit lost on such a compact body and a 2nd memory card slot isn't there either. But it delivers Full Frame quality in a small body. Nothing like it on the market for the moment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact and much improved from the original A7C

Body Only 09 December 2023 by HN67 (Singapore)

I have been a user of original A7C for two years. Improved in many aspects as YouTubers' reviews. Highly recommended to those who wants a compact full-frame camera. I was unbelievably able to take more than 2,000 photo shots (JPEG only) with Sony FE70-200 G2 at 25-28 degrees Celsius for two hours until the memory card went full, by only a full-charged new battery, which was much more than the catalogue spec.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Battery

Body Only 08 December 2023 by Dnes (Singapore)

Compare to my old camera a7c , this new version a7c ii Battery drains faster.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0