$2,699.00

(AUD inc. GST)
349

4.7 based on 349 customer reviews

274
55
12
2
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03 May 2018  (United Kingdom)

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Electrical faults after 14 months

Body Only 24 June 2019 by mpjcfoto (United Kingdom)

I've used this camera for 16 months now. The first 14 of those were fantastic and the camera was everything I needed for photography and videography. However, after 14 months of use the sensor has started to violently and loudly shake making videography impossible as well as most slow shutter speeds impossible also. Unfortunately the electrical fault developed only 2 months after the warranty expired and I am now left with an almost unusable camera. This is a fault I have seen across the internet but has not been publicly addressed by Sony (to my knowledge). Until this is fixed I cannot recommend this or any Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

350 Customer Reviews

0

Great products

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 23 January 2020 by Gerrott_toxic (United Kingdom)

This camera is very good, especially when it comes to video shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT

Body Only 20 January 2020 by eddie06 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and really please with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A7 mk3

Body Only 19 January 2020 by Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa (United Kingdom)

I Bought the camera mainly for video and very happy

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Surpassed my expectations!

Body Only 17 January 2020 by Beazergood (United Kingdom)

I bought this just after Xmas having saved up for over a year. My only previous interchangeable lens camera was a Nikon D7000 that’s done me very well for over 10 years. I also own an RX100M5 which has been great for travel the past few years. The a7iii has blown me away in terms of image quality and features. I’m pleased I’ve waited this long as it appears to be a relative ‘bargain’ for a full frame camera with this feature set. I’m not sure how much is down to the camera and how much is down to the Zeiss 55 1.8 lens I’ve paired it up with... either way, I’m suuuuper happy with this setup!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

What would I add

Body Only 14 January 2020 by Focusdown (United Kingdom)

Eye focus simple turned my world around , it's amazing , especially when you wedding photographer with documentary style and everyone around you moves fast )))) The only one thing I am missing after using canon - I am missing touch screen menu function , can touch for focus ( wich is great ) ,but to change settings can't . Hope in a7 IV you will add and make my wish came through ( if you are real Santa )))))) Love Edit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wow! Finally a camera that I am pleased with!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 13 January 2020 by KurtVinion (USA)

So I have had it only a week and the testing I have done so far puts my Canons to shame. I do not say this lightly as I have been using Canon's for 25+ years and I am extremely fussy about file quality. I own or have owned nearly everyone of the Canon pro line of cameras - except the 1dxMarkII. With my line of work (full-time portrait & wedding photographer)I needed a camera that was lighter, responsive and one that excels at night time shooting. As many of my portrait sessions are at night - I need clean files at high iso and a camera that can focus. This Sony A7III is just what I have been waiting for. The bonus, my EF lenses work beautifully (1.2 and 1.4's) Now the questions is A9 or pick up an A7IIIR or the A7IV? Thanks Sony for creating such a wonderful product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well designed and well built

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13 January 2020 by John 1943 (United Kingdom)

Bought this because I use other cameras with e-mount lenses. Typical Sony, designed to be used rather than an item of Jewellery. Have no doubt that it will be as reliable as other Sony professional products.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product! Quick delivery!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 12 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

I finally managed to upgrade to A7III, I cannot say enough how happy I am with it and how happy it makes me to finally shoot on this piece of gear!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fast autofocus, great low light performance

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 10 January 2020 by gil_mere (United Kingdom)

This camera has very fast and reliable autofocus; Relatively less noise when increasing iso. Camera body feels very solid and well made. One thing i wish this camera has is a flip screen. For Lightroom users, older version of lightroom does not read this camera’s raw files, but you can either update to a newer version of lightroom or download dng converter (which is free). Alternatively, you can use sony’s imaging edge software to process your raw files.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a7iii

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 10 January 2020 by S Slavov (United Kingdom)

Amazing camera. Provides rich features, high image quality, excellent performance in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 09 January 2020 by Calum198773 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a fast camera for sports and an all rounder with excellent image quality. I am an amateur photographer and love the camera it’s not to complicated for a beginner and has lots of amazing features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great product

Body Only 09 January 2020 by Nobbyb (United Kingdom)

Very happy with it, and would look at other Sony products

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb sensor, great capabilities

Body Only 07 January 2020 by GeeManLeg (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent camera, and if you find a good deal such as a cashback offer it comes for excellent value. The build quality is great. This sensor easily competes with the very best and shines in dynamic range, low light capability and colour rendering. Good handling too. I love the advantages of the IS, too. I’ve experimented with the A7riii before and whilst that has killer resolution, the file sizes are frustratingly large and the colour rendition, is not as good as the A7iii. Ideally it would have 4K @ 60fps, more visible focus point (the current grey box can get lost), stronger IS for videos and video autofocus tracking. However, Sony have to leave some features for the successor to the a7sii Nevertheless, for its price point, there is nothing which can compete with this camera body in 2020 so far. This is a game changing camera and will do for this decade what Canon’s 5dm3 did for the last.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Curate's egg

Body Only 06 January 2020 by Cat man (United Kingdom)

I read all the reviews before buying and would agree with most of what they said... but there are things to think about. The menus are pretty awful but I haven't found them to be a problem in use. There are plenty of ways of customising it all to suit your own preferences. It would be nice to have touch screen capability to go with the menus and I don't understand why Sony have not implemented this. Coming from a Canon with fantastic menus and touch screen, this is a step backwards. It isn't a particularly comfortable camera to hold but neither is it as uncomfortable as some would suggest. The AEL button, which I use a lot, is a bit awkward, but not impossible. The AF-ON for back button focusing is fine. Animal eye AF works surprisingly well at shorter ranges in good light. This was a huge selling point for me! (firmware 3) The viewfinder isn't great but ok once I had shifted the white balance a bit. It is large making it easy to frame. Dioptre adjustment is very good. The big issue for me is a software one - Sony seem determined to add a lot more sharpening/contrast/saturation into the raw files than Canon do so it has been hard to get to the more natural looking colours that I am after. I appreciate that the modern way is a very contrasty saturated look - not my taste at all. I've been using Capture One and have had to work hard to get around this and have not been totally successful. Even with the sharpening turned off, I still think the images - particularly pet hair - look over sharpened. I guess a lot of you will see it differently to me, but be warned if you are after a natural look. It will take some work! Noise levels aren't too bad and better than my APS-C images. I am very touchy about noise and think noise reduction software ruins images so always turn this off in RAW software. I would be willing to use ISO 400 on this camera for larger prints up to 15 by 10 or so. The little plastic doors that cover the inputs are really not up to the job and feel very cheap. Come on Sony - you can do better! Joystick is great. I haven't had any problems with changing my settings unintentionally as I hold and use the camera. The Northrups seem to find this a big problem. USB battery charging is very slow - several hours for a full charge. I bought the camera for its sensor and full frame loveliness. As you can tell I haven't quite got what I wanted yet and there is no doubt in my mind that IF the canon 5dmkiv had been a similar price, I would have gone with that. At the time of purchase the A7iii was over £1000 cheaper. The pet eye AF and availability of tiny little Samyang primes won the day! I only shoot raw so no idea about jpeg images. Happy shooting!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Super focus system

Body Only 06 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera only a couple of weeks and have not had the opportunity to try the camera out fully but I am impressed with the portraits that I have done so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning pictures in low light

Body Only 03 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in November 2019. I also have Canon 80d (not selling this camera though) but also wanted a full frame camera after learing a lot about this camera. I certainly have no regrets of buying this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great

Body Only 03 January 2020 by Piorun (United Kingdom)

Great camera for price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Everything i need

Body Only 29 December 2019 by Andrius35 (United Kingdom)

Love it so far had it only for couple of weeks. Easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

This Camera’s a beast!!

Body Only 29 December 2019  (United Kingdom)

I love this Camera!! It’s amazing and the quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Camera, but very complicated

Body Only 26 December 2019 by iatros666 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a full frame travel camera, and rejected the full frame offerings by Canon and Nikon, and knew I could use Canon lenses on this system. Camera feels great and looks good. All the people I know say it is complex to set up, and you have to spend a bit of time to get the best out of it. I bought the 24-240 FE zoom which has turned out to be a lot better than reviews suggested. Reluctant to buy other lenses as they are so expensive. Results comparable with my Canon 5D mk II. Smaller than my Canon, but no lightweight with lenses attached. Very fine performance in automatic mode. Can use cheaper E mount APSC lenses, but they will crop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Sony

ILCE-7M3 26 December 2019 by daz (United Kingdom)

Really good camera although not sure about the price from the supplier

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The Dark Knight

Body Only 24 December 2019 by omid7466 (USA)

i migrate from other brand and half frame sensor size and its a really wonderful decision ! i

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Amazing camera, better than I expected

Body Only 23 December 2019 by DanBuk (United Kingdom)

I had my reservations about going from Canon to Sony but it was the right thing to do, I use my Canon lens on Sony body with Sigma adaptor and it works a treat. I needed some advice and the guys at Wex were really helpful to answer all my questions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My best decision this year

Body Only 17 December 2019 by The_Grumps (United Kingdom)

In over 45 years of photography I had only used two makes of camera, Canon for 40 years and then because I needed to cut the weight I carried, Olympus Micro Four Thirds for the last 5 years. Then I saw the Sony A7III advert promising low noise levels and an enormous dynamic range from a full frame sensor. I had toyed with changing from Olympus because of noise levels at high ISO amongst other things so I bit the bullet and bought the A7III with the 24-105 f4. Now the Olympus kit has gone and I'm wondering why I didn't change cameras sooner. In the short time I have had the A7III it has proved a delight, superb image quality, great handling and in terms of weight very similar to my former Olympus kit. I am now waiting for the weather to improve so I can do what I love doing, taking photographs with good kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0