$3,099.00

(AUD inc. GST)
158

4.7 based on 158 customer reviews

126
22
9
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect replacement for my clunky DSLR

Body Only 18 January 2019 by Deadroute (United Kingdom)

Bought this as heard rave reviews, and having tried one out. Knew I'd get on with it well. I do a fair bit of video as well as stills and like hybrid shooting. (the aim is to get an fs5) Its easy to set up and has so many customise able features you can set it up to exactly how you want it, i also love how you can send to smartphone etc and can upload straight away

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Powerful Camera; Significant Limitations

ILCE-7M3 04 January 2019 by Mike0909 (USA)

This is a very powerful camera, no doubt. But it is ridiculous that it does not have Touch-To-Focus Remote Functionality through the mobile app, or a built-in Intervalometer. These are basic functions that Sony has left out with no sign of integration anytime soon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

1

158 Customer Reviews

0

Incredible Camera!

Body Only 12 February 2019 by Murphyphotographic (United Kingdom)

So this camera and me... I'm one of those indecisive people who has tried literally every system, Nikon, Olympus, Canon - you get the idea, for my portrait and wedding photography business! I must say I have really settled with Sony. I started off buying a cheap used A7 and the Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 (incredible lens!), and became absolutely hooked, despite all the negative feedback from others at the time as being 'apparently' not as capable as say, a Nikon or Canon higher end FF camera. I have stuck with them ever since getting that original A7 and every iteration has gone from strength to strength. So eventually I held out and took the plunge with the new A7iii. This camera though is really something else...its AMAZING! More than what I thought it would be! Everything I used to love of The A7 or the A7ii is still there but 110% more. Its a stunning camera with a great feature set and really makes you love and enjoy taking photos all over again. Got to say Sony, the Eye AF is unbelievable. Such an incredible feature for a wedding and portrait photographer and really allows you to free up your mind and become more and more focussed on getting the shot. The value at roughly 1800GBP is tremendous for a camera of this level. Try this camera out with Sony native lenses and your won't regret it! Love mine! all my gear is now Sony and I really couldn't see myself changing anytime soon :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera i ever owned !!

Body Only 10 February 2019 by vanRhine (United Kingdom)

Leaving 30+ years Nikon behind, but so very happy and satisfied with my Sony A7 III. My eyes are not getting better so i rely more and more on the screen. In combination with the sofisticated AF-system this beats the D750 by far.... Lenses are also great, started with the 16-35 F/4.0, 70-200 F/4.0 and for now the 'T' 28-75 F/2.8. Saving for the Sony 85mm and 24mm prime's....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My best ever camera

Body Only 09 February 2019 by Furty (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago having heard the rave reviews. It has surpassed my expectations. The quality of image, the features, the ease of handling are all a joy to have. I've completely switched from Canon to Sony as a result of this camera.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb Full Frame Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 09 February 2019 by Kristapple (United Kingdom)

This is my first Sony Mirrorless camera and I am extremely happy with it. I have also bought the 16-35 F4 and I’m using the camera for both stills and video. The quality of which are both excellent. The menus definitely need sorting out, but the camera is highly programmable, and I’ve pretty much got everything under custom buttons now, so don’t need to dive into the menus to often. But overall I’m extremely happy with the camera, and would highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very impressed with the a7 iii

Body Only 09 February 2019 by Clicky (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because I'm into wildlife photography, currently shooting with canon, I am keen to see how the eye focus will work on Wildlife. If it works as good as it does on people I will be all in

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Eye AF is a game changer, ISO is amazing

Body Only 07 February 2019 by Sheila P (USA)

Have been very happy with it overall, so far. The A7III is my primary wedding camera, with an A6300 as my back up. (Also have a second A6300 converted to infrared.) The main reason for updating my camera equipment was the Eye AF. My previous equipment had a marked tendency to lock autofocus on a high contrast background, rather than on people's faces. Obviously, for a portrait and wedding photographer, this was problematic at times, and potentially disastrous. Having Sony's eye tracking AF is an amazing improvement, to be sure. I do wish the A7III did not require the extra pushing of a button to engage the feature. That is one thing that is a bit of a disappointment, and actually the ONLY fault I have with this terrific camera. The focus is SO FAST, and the high ISO capability is nothing short of amazing. The compact body is still substantial, feels solid in the hand, but not bulky. I love the tilt screen and have used it multiple times to shoot a group of people on the dance floor from overhead. For sports shooters, the high ISO capability allows you to use faster shutter speeds to get the fast action shots, and the subject tracking does very well there, too. The menus can be a bit intimidating as they are so in-depth, but necessary in order for the camera to have such immense capability for customization. Perhaps Sony will do a software update at some point, so that the Eye AF can be engaged all the time? We can hope! And then this camera would be absolutely PERFECT. It's pretty close now!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I WANTED TO LOVE IT...

ILCE-7M3 05 February 2019 by Nazali (USA)

The positive first: Images are crystal clear with quite pricey 55mm f1.8 lens; image quality amazing; 24-105mm f4.0 nice enough; low light capability is super. "My Menu" and Quick Access feature nice. The not so positive: 1) tilt screen - too stiff and not quite adjustable enough – why not a fully articulating screen Sony?; built-in flash and battery charger included would have been nice; 2) 24-105mm is not ergonomically compatible with the camera at all. The lens is quite heavy for the camera, so not balanced and with poor grip design shooting created spasms in my thumbs. After shooting a dancer on stage for about two hours had to wear a brace on my right hand for two days after. Forgot my monopod and paid the price. However, shots taken without flash were much sharper compared to my friend's Canon. The following week, I was outside shooting kids flying kites for two hours. Now both my thumbs ached for four days. What a drag. 3) I'm not a professional photographer and not young so I don’t carry two cameras or a lot of lenses. I would have been much more amenable to keeping the camera if Sony offered a longer zoom - 24-135 or 140mm F2.8 as I take so many types of photos - even in the course of a few hours on a Sunday (family group, candid kid shots, peacocks, landscape, indoor chanting meditation, food, etc); 4) while taking video, this lens sticks when zooming slowly in and out so there is no smooth transition - unacceptable; 5) touch pad & joy stick focus unpredictable and unreliable - drove me crazy. 6) After doing so much research and finally choosing the camera I wanted, the menu was a huge learning curve even though I own an older Sony, so I took a two-hour private class with someone already experienced on this model which helped quite a bit. I really wanted this Sony, was willing to overlook a few things, but in the end, after 2-1/2 months, the relationship with this camera didn’t gel - the clincher was hurting my hands. Yes, I could have tried a grip but had already made a substantial investment in time, accessories, money. I needed more than a great image out of the box. I wanted to enjoy it, become one with it, like I have with my other Sony camera, but in the end, decided to call it quits and sent it back. I will have some beautiful shots and nostalgia (memories with the pain removed). I’m truly disappointed and sorry to say good-bye. I returned the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

The greatest hardware, with the worst software.

Body Only 04 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

Sony has managed to create the greatest Mirrorless camera on the market. It's only draw back is the Sony ecosystem of apps, and the necessary firmware update that you have to do in order for this camera to even read a memory card. You will love taking photos with this camera. You will hate interacting with any of the software that Sony has provided. Luckily, after the first few days, this will subside. Pro's: The camera, in all its form. Incredible sensor, auto focus system is just ridiculously fast, it maintains 10fps whilst auto focus tracking, low light, the feel of the camera (pinky grip is a great bonus) and the image quality. All flawless. Better then any DSLR I've shot. Cons: The menu system is huge, and reads like it's not written by a native English speaker. The camera required a firmware update to recognise a Sansdisk memory card. There is no battery charger included, you can only charge batteries in the camera, through usb so you can't use your camera and alternate charging. Updating the firmware required all sorts of firmware - I had to search how to use it as it just didn't work on a Mac. Any interaction with any software in the Sony ecosystem, ever. Even when posting this review, I have to come up with a "Nickname" that hasn't been taken by anyone else... *Submit* "nickname already used" *Submit* "nickname already used" *Submit* "nickname already used"...... In time, when I'm just taking shots and using other software, I know I will love adore this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Great for both photo and video!!

Body Only 03 February 2019 by JakeP95 (United Kingdom)

For someone who shoots photos and videos, my last camera, Nikon wasn't great for video, it worked but autofocus wasn't helpful. Switching to Sony has made my career easier and gives me more time to focus on the creative style etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great camera, top quality images but.....

Body Only 01 February 2019 by Dadhairday (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera + 24-105 lens a few weeks but some great shots. Very clear from close up to landscape so a versatile option if you only have a budget for one quality lens. My only concern is dust spots on sensor already and I’ve only put the lens on once!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

I love this camera

Body Only 30 January 2019 by Suneet (United Kingdom)

Bought my new Alpha 7 III on New Year's Eve 2018. Decided upon this due to budget and a number of reviews I had seen on Youtube. I've not been disappointed at all. Sharp, focussed images, the video is crystal clear (built in mic is good, but I use it with an external rode mic. Image stabilisation in images/video is superb. I just love this camera so much. Can't recommend it more. The only thing I'd say is, don't buy it with the kit lens. Instead, save up and purchase a higher quality lens of your choice as you'd soon outgrow the kit lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 28 January 2019 by Jeromesaha (United Kingdom)

Excellent product from Sony. I love eye auto focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 25 January 2019 by Ianc1990 (United Kingdom)

Switched to this from a Canon DSLR. It can take a little bit of getting used to, especially with the complicated, unnecessarily shortened words menu, but you do get there in the end. The image quality that comes out of this body is absolutely stunning, and the complicated menu allows you to (eventually) change almost anything you could think of. It's just a shame about no built in intervalometer - a big feature that would be so easy for Sony to implement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features without durability

Body Only 23 January 2019 by Squidnuke (USA)

Feature are amazing but the random red spots that randomly appear on some photos only after a month of owning and all the complaints online about failing shutters and broken shutter leafs has me worried. i love this camera but i fear for its longitivity

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

the beast

Body Only 22 January 2019 by irsali (United Kingdom)

i moved from canon to sony and this camera is a beast . its user friendly. the auto focus is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

1

0

Great focussing, great image quality, no charger.

Body Only 21 January 2019 by Spilz (United Kingdom)

I've had this for a couple of weeks now, I was originally pretty annoyed that there is no charger in the box. The battery has to be charged in the camera, which renders the camera useless when charging. I was equally as annoyed to find that the chargers are £85! The angular edges of the camera have already caused the paint to wear due to the strap rubbing against it. Neither of these problems would stop me buying the A7iii though, at the end of the day it's there to do a job, and having shot exclusively with Canon for 12 years, 7 of those professionally, it's head and shoulders above. The camera itself is brilliant, the image quality is amazing, and the focussing system is second to none. Keep doing what you do Sony. Please send me a charger ;)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Fantastic experience with my first full frame cam

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 20 January 2019 by Walshy690 (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently and it is amazing. Love this

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect replacement for my clunky DSLR

Body Only 18 January 2019 by Deadroute (United Kingdom)

Bought this as heard rave reviews, and having tried one out. Knew I'd get on with it well. I do a fair bit of video as well as stills and like hybrid shooting. (the aim is to get an fs5) Its easy to set up and has so many customise able features you can set it up to exactly how you want it, i also love how you can send to smartphone etc and can upload straight away

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 16 January 2019 by Foxy73 (United Kingdom)

I have just bought this camera adout three weeks ago it is fantastic camera It is so simple to use and nice to hold

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

35

13

0

Simply Amazing!

Body Only 15 January 2019 by Grevis (United Kingdom)

I Bought this camera after I switched from another brand. And I just love the features and the quality which coming from this machine. I think this is the best camera on the market. I can shoot handheld photos from the night sky which is absolutely amazing. And the full frame 1080p slow motion ,with fast autofocus system the other best thing which they put in this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Brutal Design, Beautiful Output

Body Only 13 January 2019 by chet7 (USA)

I bought this camera about a week ago, the A7iii is a major step up in many ways and step down in others. Still image quality and Autofocus capability are in another league compared to most other cameras I've used. These were the primary reasons I made the switch and I couldn't be happier. The biggest issue with the A7iii is a slight lagginess in physical control responsiveness. It's a nit pick to be sure, but it's lends to a very slight feeling of disconnected-ness from the act of taking a picture. The A7iii functions wonderfully but the physical act of turning the front and rear dials, pressing buttons, or adjusting the EV dial lags in responsiveness to what you see on screen. The concerns about the menu system being overcomplicated are exaggerated in my opinion. The features of this camera are complex and I really appreciate the ability to super customize the camera to my needs. Perhaps, adding some more explanation about what some of the features in the menu are would help. In the end, the quality of the image is all that really matters and the A7iii allows me to create the images I want to create with a higher rate of success than any other camera I've ever owned. Thank you, Sony for putting a camera of this capability within my reach.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Superb camera the best camera under £2000

Body Only 11 January 2019 by DaveB5 (United Kingdom)

I have owned for 2 months and have now sorted out my lens and I am delighted by the results I have obtained and the ease of use compared to other competetive micro four third cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Superb camera

Body Only 07 January 2019 by Davinbradley (United Kingdom)

Upgraded to the A7iii from a canon 600D. This Sony is AMAZING! The focus system is phenomenal, the dynamic range is fantastic. Excellent full frame sensor. Best purchase ever !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

BEAST is an understatement

Body Only 06 January 2019 by ShotByDan (USA)

I've been shooting with Sony for a while. I was shooting with eh a7sii and it was amazing autofocus was not the best but I shot some killer shoots on it like Post Malone, Newsboys, corporate videos and many weddings but the A7III is awesome no crop in 120 frames amazing battery life (killed 2 batteries on a full day of shooting a conference) color science has gotten way better the shutter sounds really good and the 24mp is beautiful. Love this camera. the price is also one of the best parts!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0