$2,379.15

(AUD inc. GST)
232

4.6 based on 232 customer reviews

171
47
7
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

The Best Camera I ever owned

ILCE-7RM2 29 October 2015  (United Kingdom)

I am an ex-professional photographer and have owned many cameras over the years. One month ago I changed from my usual brand to Sony and purchased the a7R II - Wow! What a camera. With 42 mps and Auto ISO that copes with all lighting the results are stunning. I visited a stately home where no flash was allowed and the photos I took are amazing. All details were captured and no noise problems are apparent. I have heard that there may be a problem with overheating on the video capture but I am a stills photographer and this does not concern me. I you want perfect video then maybe choose a dedicate video camera. The a7RII is the best camera available for stills and I have no regrets in converting to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointment for a camera of this level

ILCE-7RM2 28 January 2018 by DogsAfire (USA)

1) The very intuitive controls of the NEX-7 have been replaced by far less intuitive and, to me, less useful ones. For something that only affects results in one specific shooting mode, the MM compensation dial takes up a huge amount of room for little benefit. The exposure compensation knob of the NEX-7 functioned in all modes and was very useful. 2) The camera simply does not tolerate cold weather well. I live in northern Michigan and when temperatures get below about 10 deg F, the camera starts making odd noises and misfiring. For this area, 10 degrees is not cold at all and I would expect a professional camera to function properly. 3) The camera reboots on its own at random times for apparently no reason. I have lost a number of shots because of this behavior 4) I bought the absolute fastest SD card I could find, from a very reputable dealer. Once the internal buffer is exhausted, the camera can write no more than about one photo per second to memory (I always shoot RAW + JPEG). Eliminating the JPEG storage doesn't help. The camera simply cannot write its data to memory at a faster rate. Items 3) and 4) are particularly troublesome for me because I shoot image stacks of snowflakes, which melt before my eyes as I'm shooting them. A reboot in the middle of an image stack destroys the entire process. The log write times greatly extend the amount of time that it takes to build an images stack. These are serious problems for me. 5) The image display size has only two magnifications, unlike the earlier NEX-7 which allows a very smooth range of zooming into an image, both for focus and for image review. The a7R Mk II is difficult to use in critical focus situations because of the restriction. 6) The camera has no built-in flash of any sort. C'mon people. I don't always carry a big flash unit everywhere with me. To be honest, I never looked to see if the camera had a flash before I bought it because, well, _all_ cameras have one these days. I just assumed it would be there. Surprise! I am NOT HAPPY with this very expensive camera. I thought I was buying the top of the line and got a mediocre, somewhat usable one instead. This single purchase has greatly decreased my confidence in Sony engineering. I was very pleased with the design of the NEX-7 and still love that camera. I was looking for a full frame upgrade. The Sony a7R Mk II is NOT IT!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

232 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera but has flaws

ILCE-7RM2 03 November 2020 by Mike244 (USA)

The A7Rii is a great camera but has its flaws. Mine is brand new and it is sometimes a bit laggy. Also my shutter locked on me today and its shutter count is still under 1000. I don't think that should happen to a brand new camera and it makes me worried of its reliability.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony A7R II

Body Only 03 October 2020 by brian8 (USA)

Is a Great Product for the Price and still Getting Unbelievable reviews. Feature vs Quality vs Price is Excellent!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

PERFECT FOR PORTRAITS

ILCE-7RM2 04 August 2020 by DrIan (United Kingdom)

I bought this to upgrade from a first gen A7. I use the camera in a very limited way, for studio portraiture, in good daylight or with studio flash. it's pretty close to perfect for that. The main thing is the quality of the sensor, and the level of detail. It's a little merciless in fact, every pore, hair, the detail of the iris: it's all there in the RAW file. It's hard to think I'm every going to want or need more detail or texture than this sensor gives. Going from the 24MP sensor of the 42MP of the A7R it's a less dramatic change than I expected, but it is noticeably richer. coupled with a good quality 85mm or 105 mm lens, it's exactly what I need. It'll be a while before I need to upgrade from this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pretty cool

ILCE-7RM2 30 July 2020 by ASmallPP (United Kingdom)

My mum Brought this a month ago, as a novice photographer/ videographer it is amazing. I love it. It does feel a bit heavier from my original Sony a7 but it’s amazing quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

What the heck happened?

Body Only 22 July 2020 by StarryNights2 (USA)

I rarely use this camera due to the terrible manual & menu system. Wish I had not wasted my money on this camera!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Great picture taking but Sony death trap Shutter

ILCE-7RM2 21 July 2020 by Jar0304 (USA)

Bought this camera just out of warranty and boom, “camera error, turn of and on” the shutter is stuck! For no reason , never dropped or handled tough. Just stuck shut. I do my digging and go figure sooo many others have this same issue. Like a programmed shut down. $469 to fix the shutter replacement. Sony you’re a rip off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

scene viewing elements are too dark outside

Body Only 23 June 2020 by artistcaper (USA)

I got this yesterday day ago....i'll let you know!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

LOVE this camera

Body Only 20 June 2020 by evinpville (USA)

LOVE this camera!! It's easy to use and lets me take great images!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome camera

ILCE-7RM2 26 May 2020 by Keithehj (United Kingdom)

Absolutely adore this camera. Recently retired and having a lot of fun using it. The images are out of this world and the legacy A mount lenses are working a treat with body 399 phase detection and the La-ea3 adapter. As a hobbyist the dedicated books are a must. Particularly like Friedman’s comprehensive guide to all functions, features and tips, for example the “clear image zoom” feature will save me £££s on utilising existing lenses for a longer focal length with no discernible quality loss!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

ILCE-7RM2 15 May 2020 by PPD7 (United Kingdom)

Excellent camera - solid feel, great performance and features. The screen is very clear and the multiple custom buttons very helpful. The only confusing things during the setup were that the one touch NFC feature only works on some phones (not the cameras fault!) and the loaded applications for PlayMemories are out of date and been replaced with Imaging Edge. I am though delighted with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

My Go To Camera

ILCE-7RM2 14 May 2020 by 28Griff69 (United Kingdom)

This is my second A7Rii replacing my Canon 5D awesome camera producing amazing images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very High End Camera, Even in 2020 the Tech is #1

Body Only 30 April 2020 by Neve Studios (USA)

Best camera I have ever owned. Nikon, Canon, Fujifilm, Lumix, and Olympus. I have finally tried Sony and I am sure I won't be going back. High resolution, great autofocus, stabilized bodies and lenses. Great overall camera, also the shutter life is supposed to be 500k, can't beat it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Need some help on Apps

Body Only 25 April 2020 by Sony Survey (USA)

Still unable to download apps for this camera. Do not want to install from phone. Have a PC that is perfectly functional and was working fine when I installed apps to my @6000 camera. It is frustrating using and setting up the software. The usefulness of this excellent camera is blunted by the lack of functionality of the software, the lack of Guides and publications (like magazines) to support it. YouTube videos help but often overlook important details and are not necessarily professional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 08 March 2020  (USA)

i am going to have to purchase another camera this one was stolen from my house but it was the clearest camera I have had and I need the same perfection once I purchase a new one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

quite satisfactory

Body Only 04 February 2020 by SergeyG (USA)

considering that in 2015 almost $ 5000 was paid for a full set of equipment along with optics,this is not one hundred percent (100%) satisfaction ...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Better than exspected

ILCE-7RM2 27 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

I'm a amateur astronomer & wanted to video the milky way & if lucky catch a meteor or 2. I have tried several other manufacture cameras & failed miserably but heard how good the new Sony cameras were & took a chance. So I brought a Sony A7rii got a wide open lens & went to my astro club. Within minutes of trying I caught this stunner & realised I had made a good decision. Since then I have caught many more than I could ever wish for, the thing that gets me is the colours, I have caught red, orange, yellow, blue green & white ones the difference its made is a lot as taking photos you more often than not do not get much colour & miss so much taking long exposure images. These a 4 stills from my 1st 4k video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

My Dream Camera

ILCE-7RM2 13 January 2020 by Ron 007 (United Kingdom)

Have used Nikon and Canon Pro Camera,s My requirement is a compact camera with quality lens availability Giving high class results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Excelent can

Body Only 27 December 2019  (USA)

Nice shoots! I have a great camera!!! I was hard work to buy it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Don’t needed to buy A7r4 - the A7r2 is great!

ILCE-7RM2 27 December 2019 by Magical image (United Kingdom)

I dumped my wonderful A7 with poor built quality, and ventured for the A7r2, it is a substantial upgrade, the built quality by their Chinese factory is way way better than the Thai, and the sensor is upgraded with doubled the original size 42m vs 23.6m Before I purchased the A7r2, i tried the A7r4! That’s awesome, but it is 3x the price! To me the A7r2 is a future proof engine and body! Get one now - if you have a A7, Canon 6d, Canon 5D mk4 etc... you will be surprised and feel contented! Claim your blessing now!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Inspiring!!

ILCE-7RM2 10 December 2019 by BobK007 (United Kingdom)

My first venture into full frame was the A7II which is a great camera, but I wanted better low light and more pixels to play with so upgraded to the A7RII... it was well worth the upgrade one of the surprising new features to give me the most benefit was adjustable min shutter speed on auto ISO. I love the camera and see no reason to move away. I use some old Canon L glass and it works amazing with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastically sharp, great editing capability

ILCE-7RM2 08 December 2019 by RobH1997 (United Kingdom)

After perviously having canon SLRs I was worried I might not get along with the Sony system, and differences in colour reproduction. But I am very happy to report that I wish I had switched to Sony a long time ago! My photos are clean, crisp and colourful. And after importing the raw files into Lightroom, they can be very easily adjusted, or corrected. I can pull back so much detail from highlights and shadows, far more than my previous cameras. I am finding that my keep ratio is way higher with this camera, it just produces fantastic pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Is this the best camera available?

ILCE-7RM2 03 December 2019  (United Kingdom)

in a word ... yes! The perfect combination of features, dynamic range, low light shooting and more than enough megapixels to keep most people happy! I own two of these beasts and they are a culmination of being a keen landscape hobbyist for more than 30 years having cut my teeth on Ebony view cameras and Schneider lenses (the best there is). There are newer versions of the A7R available but for landscape use the II cannot be beaten. I use these cameras in "view camera" mode - mounted to a tripod, manual focus, manual setting with tilt-shift lenses ... awesome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Early days but so far so good

ILCE-7RM2 23 November 2019 by Doors to manual (United Kingdom)

Early days but so far so good. I would recommend buying an independent instruction manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

LCD FLICKERING AFTER JUST 2+ YEARS OF USE

ILCE-7RM2 22 November 2019 by Quire (USA)

I BOUGHT THE A7Rii slightly more than two years ago. Now the LCD is flickering and unusable. I'm limited to just using the EVF. I've saved for a while to get this camera and paid full price and the reliability is not where it needs to be for a product at this price point. In as much as I love the output of this camera, I'm extremely disappointed on its reliability (or lack thereof).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0