$4,698.00

(AUD inc. GST)
146

4.6 based on 146 customer reviews

114
21
5
3
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Wanted

ILCE-7RM4 29 May 2020 by Geoff101 (United Kingdom)

Raw uncompredssed is huge. Raw compressed is lossy!! For God's sake provide lossless compression as many people have requested. Most cameras of this and lesser spec offer focus stacking. When are you going to catch up?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not sure was it a right choice

ILCE-7RM4 09 August 2021 by Mulgersson (United Kingdom)

Not so sure I am happy about this. Well image quality is quite good. However, things seems to get quite complicated with Sony. For instance, I would like to tether it with Lightroom, but it does not work with it. Of course, I can use imaging edge, yet it does not support my laptop´s 32b system. Furthermore, Imaging Edge neither support android 6 and I can´t use it with my Samsung tablet. And I already had to buy new Godox flash trigger because Sony have decided not to use universal hot shoe. And so on... Honestly, I think I should have stayed with Canon and not to change the brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

146 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing

ILCE-7RM4A/QAF1 21 October 2021 by Diar (Indonesia)

this is the first full-frame camera for me, previously I used APSC. My impression of the resolution and detail provided is amazing, the APSC mode feature is also very helpful, I can still use my old lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

As expected from Sony

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 20 October 2021 by Earl Of Atlantis (Singapore)

This is my 4th Alpha series and has not disappoint so far. However I think Series may be 'overcooked' with too many variants. Stick to basics with the technology and your supporters will keep coming back. Don't make cameras too complex for mass market.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Much Faster

ILCE-7RM4 18 October 2021 by gt49 (United Kingdom)

On the face of it it has about twice the resolution of the alpha 7Rmk1 but that is not the reason I bought it. The major advantage is the speed of focusing (and its accuracy).

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

'Over the moon' with my α7RIV!

ILCE-7RM4 15 October 2021 by BruceC (United Kingdom)

I’m ‘over the moon’ with my Sony Alpha 7RIV! The image stabilization is superb as the hand-held shot of the moon testifies. The 61.0MP sensor and incredible auto-focus performance make it a great camera for wildlife photography. With its resolving power and colour rendition the 7R4 is awesome for landscapes too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good

ILCE-7RM4 14 October 2021 by Bri5 (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality ,ease of use ,touch screen would have been the finishing touch

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great results if you can find its sweet spot

ILCE-7RM4 14 October 2021 by N10CKK (United Kingdom)

I was torn between this camera and the A9ii as a wildlife photographer. I opted for this high resolution camera in order to get better results from cropping. I would say that it has taken me at least 6 months to learn how to use this camera in a way that gets the best out of it. When shooting wildlife, it needs good light levels, especially when teamed with a telephoto lens; and this means that you have to challenge all your assumptions about speeds and ISO levels and balance them in quite a narrow range for best results (I find 1/3200 and ISO around 1600 with the 200600G lens is the ideal window). Noise reduction software is therefore a must but you would be amazed at how images clean up with ISO up to 8000. When in the operating range the detail is amazing. I would love it to have better AF for birds in flight and (bizarrely) you cannot use animal eye detection on continuous shooting mode, only human eye detection. Sony need to address this and also include bird eye detection in future upgrades as with the A1 In summary, a great camera if you are a confident photographer. If you are not, better opting for the A9ii

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM4A 13 October 2021 by MikeW53 (United Kingdom)

I had the earlier A7R2 which was good but not great for action shots of aircraft. Moved up to the A7R4 which as hoped was a massive improvement in speed and the added pixel count for great cropping capability. Fully programmable options are a nice facility which helps when taking action shots. Amazing camera. Thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Got to be the best camera on the market

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by Scouser56 (United Kingdom)

To coin the word one of my American colleagues uses a lot “this is truly awesome”. Picture quality far exceeds my expectations, the image stabilisation has made hand holding my default option, which is good since I do a lot of trekking and keeping things light is essential, on that note the lightness of the camera and quality lenses makes all-day treks a pleasant experience (I was a Canon DSLR and L series lens user prior to this and didn’t look forward to whole day photo shooting since the combination was extremely heavy and thus tiring. The complicated menu system aside (Sony please simplify the menu system) setting the custom buttons and the preset options makes life a lot easier to get the camera set up for a specific use (I do a lot of B&W photography so setting the no 1 to my preferred camera settings makes it easy to swap to that mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning image quality and amazing Autofocus

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by Msp1 (United Kingdom)

A year of using this camera and it’s still a joy to use, images are breathtaking and razor sharp. The autofocus especially the eye autofocus is brilliant. Never looked back since switching from Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love this camera...

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by BKDWW (United Kingdom)

I am an absolute amateur so this amazing camera is way better than I need but it is just fabulous. Having had various Sony's over the yrs the controls were very familiar and I bought David Busch's guidebook to this camera...worth every penny...as is the camera. Beautiful piece of kit. Now saving for a new lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic, way more than I expected!

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by TMC21 (United Kingdom)

The Sony a7R4 is absolutely superb; stunning resolution & great features wrapped in camera body oozing quality & excellence. So many features I'm not sure where to start but you can read those in other reviews. For me I particularly like being able to switch to APSC mode when using my prime lenses - gives me additional 1.5 crop reach (e.g. 85mm lens becomes 127.5mm) which is really useful. The massive resolution means I can crop heavily if necessary & the results are still impressive. I'd like to be able to select the RAW file size as you can with JPEGs, not a deal breaker as it makes me more considered when shooting. Customizable buttons means my priority features are at finger tip & adding those plus other key features to the My Menu tab reduces the need to search through the menus. Size & weight is good, not overly large or heavy which makes carrying it around a doddle, grip size is just right. The camera has encouraged me to explore my photography further using the many features the camera offers & has helped me understand the intricate photographic process in doing so. Recommend spending time setting it up (there are some great tutorials on the Sony site) & revisit the functionality every so often, there's plenty to get to know on this camera & plenty to enjoy. Really pleased & impressed, thanks Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lots of pixels

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by GeoffWil (United Kingdom)

This camera produces the clearest photos and videos so far taken with SLR cameras I have owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by SinaPro (United Kingdom)

I used this camera for more than 18 months, I am very happy with it. This camera is beast for a fair price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera body

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by sjr1403 (United Kingdom)

Great camera, packed full of features.............

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 12 October 2021 by Lolit (Malaysia)

Simply one of the best camera these days. Great for landscape photography, amazing features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7riii

ILCE-7RM4A 03 October 2021 by JaynCookie (United Kingdom)

My 2nd a7riiii I love this product I use both cameras professionally

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The future of Photography!

ILCE-7RM4A 01 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

moved over from traditional SLR systems to the newer Sony mirrorless system, exceptional image quality, and it feels good in the hand too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Still the best high resolution camera out there

ILCE-7RM4A 23 September 2021 by VdM photo (United Kingdom)

If you want the absolute best image quality then you can’t go wrong with the A7R IV. Overall a 10/10. If I was being nit picky i wish you could track in animal eye AF and the high iso was slightly better but other than that a perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A cut above every other camera I've used

ILCE-7RM4A 14 September 2021 by flyingblind7 (Australia)

I purchased this camera to explore my retirements with. While the auto functionality is outstanding the other modes change this camera to absolutely amazing.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Astounding

ILCE-7RM4 20 August 2021 by Jazzy Bizzle (United Kingdom)

I’ve owned the camera for a little over two months. I am astonished at its capabilities. I’ve moved from canon and everything is superior on the Sony. A quantum leap in performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Some very good upgrades but at a price

ILCE-7RM4A 17 August 2021 by Feverstockphoto (United Kingdom)

There are a lot of little changes to the camera that make it a worthwhile upgrade for me coming from the previous model AR3. Exposure compensation lock welcome. A decent jump in mpx is welcome but wish it had a medium Raw lossless option and less noise at the higher iso settings 3,200/6,400 upwards. It has better focusing, dual UHSII cards, better grip which if rounded would be a perfect fit for my smallish hands. Viewfinder and screen are good improvements. The pixel shift and time-lapse functions need better implementation and processed in-camera to be more useful. Having the shutter curtain down when camera is off would be helpful to keep dust out while changing lenses. Focus stacking would be handy as well. Hopefully they can bring some of these through firmware updates and keep us costumers happy and loyal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Mind blown

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 15 August 2021 by pvkr (Singapore)

The quality of pics and the amount of control it puts in your hands, coming from a DSLR blew me away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic resolution

ILCE-7RM4 12 August 2021 by Stickman 1 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the Sony a7riv in May this year and have found it to be a superb camera in the quality of the results achieved. I am strictly a nature photographer using both the Sony 90mm macro and 200-600 lenses both these lenses give work well with the a7riv body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Met my photography needs !

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 11 August 2021 by Philip Loh (Singapore)

Bought this camera for birding and wildlife photography. Hope to see future improvement in the animal eye detection via firmware update. With 61MP, you get sufficient headroom for cropping and this is especially useful for bird photos. Hope Sony can release more super telephoto lens of light weight in the future so that user can pair them with this camera to experience the full capability of this A7RM4a.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0