$5,999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
117

4.6 based on 117 customer reviews

86
25
4
0
2
Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20 August 2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Love the A9

ILCE-9/BQ AP2 02 September 2017 by Hawkman (Malaysia)

Love the A9, however even after the firmware update, notice a little banding in the EVF under certain lighting conditions and the camera body heats us very fast. For a camera at that price point it is a disappointment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

117 Customer Reviews

0

Great features

ILCE-9/BQ AP2 21 October 2021  (Singapore)

just bought this a month ago and am so happy that i did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant camera

ILCE-9 15 October 2021 by NINJA Allan (United Kingdom)

This was to be my first DSLR camera, jumping from a bridge camera. Call it a leap of faith, I am definitely not disappointed, even from my novice's perspective it is a fantastic wildlife camera and meets all of my needs. I am really enjoying learning all about it and thoroughly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast, quiet and accurate.

ILCE-9 14 October 2021 by Gigshots (United Kingdom)

The A9 makes life a lot easier at quiet music performances in very low light. I never have to worry about ruining the sound for others or flooding the room with light when chimping. The eye detect is great and I very rarely suffer banding - even in combined lighting. The body is not the most comfortable camera I’ve owned but I’m willing to sacrifice that for the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Changed to A1

ILCE-9 13 October 2021 by JohnWildlife (United Kingdom)

Great camera for a starter if your photographing action.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love my A9 I came from Canon and don't regret it

ILCE-9 13 October 2021 by DT9334 (United Kingdom)

I Got my A9 March last year and I am very pleased with it I would like to up grade it but it would cost to much around £2.000 witch I cannot afford

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

What a step up from the A7iii!

ILCE-9 13 October 2021 by Rabb54 (United Kingdom)

I bought an A7iii to try before deciding to move from my 5Div / 1Dx Canon bodies and multiple lens system. I was pretty impressed so moved across, buying the 25-105, 90mm macro, 85mm, 100-400gm and the 70-200 f2.8. Then I bought the A9. Good grief, so much better for sports / action / wildlife. Great camera body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent features,fast auto focus.

ILCE-9 13 October 2021 by Tony 58 (United Kingdom)

Excellent wildlife camera,excellent all rounder,best camera I've ever had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fastest Zoom

ILCE-9 13 October 2021 by IreneCA (United Kingdom)

I'm a female, professional nature photographer and freelance writer and use my camera for a very diverse range of shots, many of which rely on fast continuous focus. This camera is the tops to track birds in flight, even with the subject coming towards you. It's fast and reliable. The only downside is the electronics are very fragile so don't flip your screen out near splashing water! The camera is perfect for my slim hands, but can't comment on how a bear-paw holder would feel. The menu is very well set up to find something fast and easy without endless scrolling. One has to rethink ISO as it takes much higher amounts in twilight than other makes. It's also much lighter than other products which makes traveling a lot easier. )In combination with the 150-500 lens there is no compromise in quality and depth of field with a 5.6 max aperture compared to my previous 2.8 prime lens - the bokeh effects are stunning.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

ILCE-9 05 August 2021 by Cstrawbridge90 (United Kingdom)

Technology created my witchcraft I’m sure of it. Focus speed and tracking like nothing I’ve used before! sharp photos (though extra megapixels would be great), silent shutter is a god send for wildlife photography too!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Sony A9 , fabulous features.

ILCE-9 15 June 2021 by Crookhaugh3 (United Kingdom)

I’ve been using my A9 for 18 months or so and just love it. Lightweight, intuitive menu, and great online tutorials make this the best camera I’ve owned in almost 50 years!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 21 May 2021 by Jay69 (United Kingdom)

I brought the sonya9 about 2 months ago , and I’m so glad I spent my money on it . I set it up for wild life and sports and I haven’t mist a shot the 20 frames a second just blows my mined with no blackout . I would recommend this camera to every one that is into wild life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great hit rate, fast & accurate

ILCE-9 05 April 2021 by Blackheathboy (United Kingdom)

I sold off my old Canon kit as I was not happy with the quality of my images, the Sony A9 stood out over the accepted ‘big boys’ and it delivers 100%.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Camera I have eve owned

ILCE-9 31 March 2021 by PRG Paul (United Kingdom)

Only had this for a couple of weeks, I have owned Canon and Nikon over 20 years and got into Sony 2 years ago. I have been happy with my A7 iii since new, and decided to buy the A9, over the years I have slowly purchased GM Lenses and the A9 shows that glass off. With fast eye detection sports and wildlife looks stunning and with 20 FPS you never miss a shot. I will Never get rid of my A7 iii but the A9 is a massive step up. Hopefully I can edit this review and add some pics. If you can spare the cash buy it while the price is as low at it is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

ILCE-9 01 March 2021 by strech (United Kingdom)

I have had this 3 years and it has performed well. The sensor picks up dust easily. The vibrating sensor cleaner has little effect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mostly positive experience!

ILCE-9 15 February 2021 by Bob Last (United Kingdom)

I bought this last month because of it's fast focussing, low light capabilities and good balance of controls.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Best camera ever

ILCE-9/BQ AP2 30 December 2020 by MickSpiers (Singapore)

The Sony A9 is by far the best camera I have ever used. I am still discovering all the things it can do and have found no limitations in any photographic genre. The speed of the autofocus including eye autofocus is just mind blowing and the object tracking combined with 20fps continuous shooting is perfect for sports action and wildlife. Image quality is superb and the control dials speed up the process for creative shots. No more searching through menus all the time. Just wow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Original A9 still rocks

ILCE-9 13 December 2020 by chunkydunky139 (United Kingdom)

This camera is one I have sought for so long since it came out and is perfect for my needs, very responsive and great AF. I replaced my A7III with this as I like the size and with the newer A9 being slightly bigger it has started to get into the bigger range and I prefer the original. The speed of this camera is phenomenal and I find I catch that bit more when there is fast movement involved. It also works well in low light. I know there are newer models coming out but I suspect they will follow the new size that most people seem to like.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great features

ILCE-9/BQ AP2 13 December 2020 by P009 (Thailand)

I am so happy about eye AE, continuous focus and fast focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Value fast action event camera of 2020-21

ILCE9/B 05 November 2020 by Tahzive (USA)

Just got my hand on this beast of a camera and its insane. It was an expensive camera at lunch in 2017 but considered a very good value for money camera and offered essential features like Eye tracking continuous AF, Black out free 20fps and maintains same color across the color fidelity in high iso range is something that world has never seen before and that remains still the same. Interestingly the price has come down by a huge margin and its close to a7riii which makes it a no brainer and the best value camera for 2021 period. Just one catch, there is no Slog or HLG for video and I really wish sony with give picture profile to this beast. On the other hand the A9ii got a bit incremental update nothing that can beat A9, its all the same with fast transfer capability for hardcore on field sports shooter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-9 08 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from the Sony A73 about 6 weeks ago, and the A9 is Fabulous, I like to capture wildlife and the A9 Focusing and the continuous view in the viewfinder is Amazing, especially capturing birds in flight. I would definitely recommend the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Ergonomically not great but surpasses all other ca

ILCE-9 21 September 2020 by Janner1406 (United Kingdom)

Having transferred from DSLRs to mirrorless with the Sony A7III and waiting for the release (not forthcoming) of the A7IV upgraded to the Sony A9. No regrets. The Tracking AI of this camera is truly superb and suits my genre of photography, wildlife and aviation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast AF, Fast fps, and accurate!

ILCE-9/BQ AP2 29 August 2020 by andy88 (Singapore)

The A9 was the second SONY camera I have as the frist one was A7III that gave me a good impression. I wanted to try the A9 for its trackig anf fps rates for birding photography as well as s[orts events. All good except the 24mp resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amzing auto focus.

ILCE-9 19 August 2020 by Richo2440 (United Kingdom)

Amazing camera, wildlife photographers dream. The focus system is amazing

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

grainy quality pictures after canon

ILCE-9 06 August 2020 by mr mac (United Kingdom)

impossible to get cash back. suggest for customer who has spent a very considerable amount of money with sony it should be better

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1