28

3.6 based on 28 customer reviews

12
5
3
3
5
Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sounds really great.

HTA9 07 May 2022 by Ranok (USA)

It’s been a week I have the hta9 with sw5 sub. They both sound incredibly good. No connection issue at all. Using a80j as center channel and I can hear any dialogue clearly. Sound coming from all directions fills my living room.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not working well with my A80J TV

HT-A9//M1 SP1 29 May 2022 by Vunjick1 (Singapore)

Most of the time my TV cannot detect the HTA9 or not sound at all. Have to restart my TV to get it work again everything. Also HTA9 sound cut off from time to time. Poor execution else is a very nice sound system. Surprise that not working well with Sony A80J TV.

2

0

29 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing Sound!

HTA9 22 June 2022 by RW77 (USA)

Waited patiently for them to be in stock soooo, glad I did can't wait to listen every day to my new sound system, Love it!

0

0

0

Great product, but tinny sound

HTA9 20 June 2022 by TaxBear (USA)

I bought this, with the optional 300W subwoofer and was very impressed with the sound coverage. Odd-shaped room and was able to hear sounds from where you would expect to hear the sounds. The only downside for me was the tinniness of the sound, even with the subwoofer, which I thought would help (which it did, but not enough for me to keep the system). I returned it after one week of listening, as my old system still sounded better to me, but without the coverage of the HT-A9.

0

0

0

Unparalleled

HTA9 09 June 2022 by LightningSShhaaddooww (USA)

Amazing. Extremely happy with purchase. No drop outs.

0

2

0

Works great when there is no sound cuts

HT-A9//M1 SP1 02 June 2022 by Dumbledore6 (Singapore)

The speakers sound great when watching movies and does mostly as advertised. However, there seems to be frequent sound cuts everyday. Doing the RF optimization multiple time does not help much as the issue just crops up again after some time. Moving my wireless router further from the control box did not help much as well. Also, the rear speakers aren’t as loud as the front speakers even at max rear volume. These issues should be fixed because it’s starting to get annoying and this product should not be working this way for the price. As every home is now filled with wireless devices, I expected this product to be able to accommodate the interferences and work properly regardless, but guess not..

1

0

0

Not working well with my A80J TV

HT-A9//M1 SP1 29 May 2022 by Vunjick1 (Singapore)

Most of the time my TV cannot detect the HTA9 or not sound at all. Have to restart my TV to get it work again everything. Also HTA9 sound cut off from time to time. Poor execution else is a very nice sound system. Surprise that not working well with Sony A80J TV.

2

0

0

Look mom no center channel, lol .

HTA9 18 May 2022 by ltmoe1 (USA)

I am extremely happy with the HT-A9. The sound stage is wonderful; and before you ask, yes you need to purchase the sub, there's no way around it. If you can get the HT-A9 home you will enjoy it.

0

0

0

Sounds really great.

HTA9 07 May 2022 by Ranok (USA)

It’s been a week I have the hta9 with sw5 sub. They both sound incredibly good. No connection issue at all. Using a80j as center channel and I can hear any dialogue clearly. Sound coming from all directions fills my living room.

6

0

0

The best HT system than any other soundbar

HT-A9//M1 SP1 21 March 2022 by Absar81 (Malaysia)

I bought 2 months ago. Setup was super simple. Audio skipping issue noticeable on first day, but manage to solve after relocate speaker & recalibration. But after sometimes the issue cameback again, I need to reset the whole set again. Hope Sony aware on this since not only me facing this. Expecting software update solution. The positive is new level of experience in surround. All 4 speakers equally powerful, unlike soundbar providing small low power rear surround speakers. Bass a bit lack, definitely need additional sub. I have ordered SW5 but haven't received yet. Overall HT-A9 system worth buying if everything work smooth without audio skips due to RF signal.

3

0

0

Game changing sound and simplicity

HTA9 08 March 2022 by SPandey (USA)

I chose the HT-A9 after extensive testing of Sonos Arc, Bose 900, Samsung Q950A, and Sony HT7000 systems in the same room with the same input sources. The simplicity of design, integration with Sony TVs, homogeneous immersive sound with excellent Atmos performance were the top reasons for the choice. The lack of a sound bar helps the listeners focus on the audio content and not on the specific source of sound channel. The phantom center channel eliminated the need to connect the audio cable back to the TV separately. Few expert reviewers do not turn on all sound optimization features which makes them miss out on things like Immersive audio enhancement which is the key difference this system has vs others. I am not an expert or paid reviewer but a life long Sony fan. Bought multiple Sony TVs so far and Sony has not given a reason to switch. Highly recommended if you want to experience the next level of immersive audio and 360 reality sound.

5

0

0

I am delighted with this product.

HT-A9 11 February 2022 by Mehrdad62 (United Kingdom)

I am delighted with this product. Sony has always been good and at the forefront, and this set is revolutionary in the field of home theatre.

5

1

0

Poor quality control

HT-A9//M1 SP1 02 February 2022 by Dr Deepak (Singapore)

Got delivery after 3 months of full payment. Sounded great, till it did. One of the speakers died in a week. Service centre not responding due to local holidays. Apparently there is a long wait for replacement due to supply problems internationally, but I need to test this. Very disappointed by the poor quality control as my set is not the only one with this issue, if you read the forums. I’m scared to even try and buy the additional subwoofer if the quality issues are going to persist across the line. Luckily there are no supplies for the next couple of months, giving me an opportunity to see how Sony responds to this issue.

5

8

0

Excellent sound

HTA9 31 January 2022 by Bria19 (USA)

It does what is says! Once it goes through its set up the sound quality is fantastic! Especially when paired with the TV. Everything connects and it accepts all forms of sound forms. Looks clean and sharp!

0

0

0

90% there - awesome product that could be perfect

HT-A9 06 January 2022 by TechReviews (United Kingdom)

The HT-A9 is a fantastic system. I’ve had it a few months now and am more sad overall. A few improvements could be made however that would make it a truly must own product. 1, The height channels could have more oomph we have a relatively low ceiling and some of the effects come off as muddled, we’ve tried the immersive sound, dts x and dolby virtualizer- all sound quite similar although the dts x is the clearest and has the best surround sound effects and volume overall. 2, There should be an option to add 2 more speakers to the set up retroactively making 6 Ht-A9s and a tv center channel this would create a soundstage that could be even more fine tuned. 3, I own a Sony KD85 85inch 4K tv from July 2020 which new by any standards and yet I cannot use it as the center channel, this is particularly frustrating as it means I’ve just spent thousands of pounds on a set and yet cannot use it with the latest Sony theatre system. I’m sure this could be updated to be used as a centre channel via a firmware update to then connect to the speakers wirelessly via blutooth.  These minor improvements would make a huge difference overall. I do plan on getting a new set but am waiting for the QD OLED in a 97 inch of which you announced you currently only produce at a maximum size of 65 inch.

15

7

0

Disappointed

HTA9 28 December 2021 by Pga4trp (USA)

No matter where I move the module it continues to cut out. It is in our basement and our wifi device is on main floor. For the amount this costs it is disappointing. I also purchased the larger sub woofer to go with it. The sound is not at all as all those you tube reviews said. They all must be getting compensated.

3

1

0

Sounds amazing! But drops out a lot ...

HTA9 12 December 2021 by BossmanKB (USA)

The sound from this system is amazing, and I am super happy with that part of it. However they really need to fix the wireless connection capabilities of this unit as I get drop outs all the time. I tried the optimization feature on every bootup, but that actually made it worse. I originally had my Apple TV right next to it and that was really bad (dropped out just about every time I used it), so I moved them apart and now they are about 3 feet apart horizontally. But I still get drop outs. I am now using it in 'Connection' mode as opposed to 'Sound Quality' for the speaker connections and while it drops out less, I still have had a few. Almost tempted to return it and get something different....

17

1

0

what should be amazing is disappointing :-(

HTA9 22 November 2021 by AZRonC (USA)

Although the system sounds amazing when it works... it cuts in and out every few minutes (or seconds) throughout the play time... both movies and music. Definitely a malfunctioning "brain/box" and now we will see how promptly the warranty works. So sad! The set up wasn't bad but the simple daily on and off of the system and TV is a bit complex. Not sure why everthing is not saved so you don't have to tell it what to do every time.

16

1

0

Very clear

HTA9 13 November 2021 by prussiahawk (USA)

I am very happy with the increased voice quality with this speaker system. The pseudo center channel gives a very good impression that the TV is producing the conversations. It was very easy to set up and adjust to room.

1

5

0

Best sound ever!

HTA9 05 November 2021 by Slaviky (USA)

Praise but worth every penny .sound quality is amazing with no distinction.

2

6

0

Not worth the Hype, especially the price.

HTA9 02 November 2021 by Oriss (USA)

Overhyped. Too expensive. Why buy four speaks for 1924 with tax. Yet not have a subwoofer. Trust me at that it’s overpriced. And the super hyped “up to 7 phantom speakers” would have you listening hard to hear it. Tried it in a large ‍‍Space, wasn’t blown away, it sounded good, but it that impressive. Then I tried it in a smaller room, still wasn’t. I’m keeping it, only because of the easy set up, and the aesthetic. Aside from that, the atmos effect doesn’t meet the hype. Not at all meet the hype.

13

11

0

Needs manual tweaking to get full potential

HT-A9 01 November 2021 by jr0ck (Australia)

Been keen on this since Sony's announcement, and after 4 weeks of ownership now i can say I'm extremely pleased with the system. Coming from an ancient Onkyo / Jamo 5.1 (non Atmos) setup. Only 4 stars as in the 4 weeks I've had this unit I've had 2 dropouts, which is a minor inconvenience compared to what other people are experiencing. If Sony can fix these issues with a firmware update then they've got a winner. Also despite the plug and play marketing, manual tweaking of the settings is needed to get the most of the A9's. Whilst the performance is good OOTB it performs exceptionally better with customizations.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great Sound - Easy Setup

HTA9 27 October 2021 by Don1955 (USA)

Purchased the HT-A9 a couple of weeks ago and it was very easy to setup. The sound is amazing on 5.1 and Atmos programs. I have really enjoyed streaming 360/Atmos music via Amazon Music. One problem that continues to plague this product is the occasional “skips” of sound. I have followed all of the recommendations from the Sony Support App and have been able to reduce the number of “skips”, but the issue still exists. Hopefully a software update fix is forthcoming as I have seen this issue documented from other users.

9

4

0

Poor Quality

HTA9 27 October 2021 by TigerCub (USA)

Wireless connection issues. Audio continuously drops out. Purchased on line for $1800. Sony can do better..

19

5

0

Exceptional audio!

HTA9 27 October 2021 by GrayWolf51 (USA)

The HT-A9 (w/SA-SW5) is the best home-theater I've ever owned. Great work Sony!

3

4

0

Great sounding system when it works properly.

HTA9 24 October 2021 by Famililyguy (USA)

One speaker was having problems connecting to the head unit and the LED light never came on when it worked, the head unit never link to my wifi router and I had to return it for a new set. The new set have worked flawlessly for the last 2 hours we will see how long it last, hopefully for few years, I gave it 2 stars because the hassle to get the first one to work and the hassle to get a second set was painful, hopefully SONY puts mor attention on these problems.

24

2