67

3.4 based on 67 customer reviews

21
18
8
7
13
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Loud and deep bass

HT-RT3 29 August 2019 by Fonytonylovessony (United Kingdom)

This home theater, is something else! It makes, not only the walls shake but the earth shakes with the fury of a mighty Lancaster ! If you want to be immersed into a film or a game then buy this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony HT-RT3 5.1 Suround System

HT-RT3 18 March 2019 by MusB (United Kingdom)

I bought this as I was told in Currys the Sony TV did not have very good sound from the TV itself. (They were wrong, the TV has good sound). As I had an 10 year old Phillips 5.1 surround system which was connected by SCART it would not be able to connect to the new TV. So I decided to buy the Sony HT-RT3. I have been quite disappointed with this model. Good points: Build quality seams very good. It is easy to set up. The sound is quite good, not brilliant. The HT-RT3 comes on automatically when the TV is turned on. Bad points: There is an annoying constant noise of a cooling fan in the woofer. The menu, (operated by it's own remote control), is on a small digital display on the front of the woofer. (No OSD). Although settings are set to "Surround Sound" I have still not had any sound from the rear left or right speakers. Even after playing with various settings. Not even when using my DVD player. My old Philips system was brilliant compared to this new Sony HT-RT3. All in all I am very disappointed with the Sony HT-RT3. It is a 3.1 system and not a 5.1 system as no sound from the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

7

0

67 Customer Reviews

0

Very good sound system

HT-RT3 18 November 2019 by Spike 2014 (United Kingdom)

excellent sound quality one little grip is that the cooling fan is a bit noisey

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

NICE SOUND

HT-RT3 07 October 2019 by djgeoff (United Kingdom)

works well with sony tv,sound clear, plenty of volume could do with a bit longer cabling to remote speakers though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Fabulous sound

HT-RT3 02 October 2019 by Elma27 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product to compliment my Sony Bravia TV and it was well worth the money. Excellent choice.l

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Good sound system, but annoying fan noise

HT-RT3 19 September 2019 by Austin_101 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago, i love the sound and quality of the product. The only issue I have is the loud fan noise, which spoils the experience of listening to music at low volume. The fan noise is loud and annoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Loud and deep bass

HT-RT3 29 August 2019 by Fonytonylovessony (United Kingdom)

This home theater, is something else! It makes, not only the walls shake but the earth shakes with the fury of a mighty Lancaster ! If you want to be immersed into a film or a game then buy this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Constantly breaks! Not fit for use

HT-RT3 23 August 2019 by Maddox93 (United Kingdom)

Useless product! Bought the same model January 2019, finally 8 months later had it replaced and would constantly show UPDT and no matter how many times it would be reset would do the same. The sound was then hit and miss so finally got an exchange. New speakers are doing exactly the same!! Cannot see if on Tv, BT or what volume because the display just says UPDT. Can’t just take the product back, Sony need it repairing and taking to a far away repair store. Would not recommend this product at all! Biggest regret buying this!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

5

0

Great sound qality

HT-RT3 26 June 2019 by Karoly85hu (United Kingdom)

I've bought this by mistake. I've thought it is a 5.1 Dolby surround system but unfortunately just stereo on 6 speakers. The sound qality is really great but not what I wanted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Very nice surround

HT-RT3 13 April 2019 by Despite (United Kingdom)

I am very pleased with the quality of the sound. Nice surround and loud speakers with crystal clear sound. Altough woofer could offer little more bass when speakers are not set to very high volume. Otherwise i am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Sony HT-RT3 5.1 Suround System

HT-RT3 18 March 2019 by MusB (United Kingdom)

I bought this as I was told in Currys the Sony TV did not have very good sound from the TV itself. (They were wrong, the TV has good sound). As I had an 10 year old Phillips 5.1 surround system which was connected by SCART it would not be able to connect to the new TV. So I decided to buy the Sony HT-RT3. I have been quite disappointed with this model. Good points: Build quality seams very good. It is easy to set up. The sound is quite good, not brilliant. The HT-RT3 comes on automatically when the TV is turned on. Bad points: There is an annoying constant noise of a cooling fan in the woofer. The menu, (operated by it's own remote control), is on a small digital display on the front of the woofer. (No OSD). Although settings are set to "Surround Sound" I have still not had any sound from the rear left or right speakers. Even after playing with various settings. Not even when using my DVD player. My old Philips system was brilliant compared to this new Sony HT-RT3. All in all I am very disappointed with the Sony HT-RT3. It is a 3.1 system and not a 5.1 system as no sound from the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

7

0

0

Great sound

HT-RT3 03 February 2019 by Chippy1964 (United Kingdom)

Very good value for money, the sound quality even via Bluetooth is excellent Highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Ok

HT-RT3 17 January 2019 by david345 (United Kingdom)

It has a delay when playing audio through the aux cord and Bluetooth and also with the USB and the audio quality is poor when i play audio through the aux cord (analog). Also when the volume goes above 30 on the system the bass is lowered .

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

worth the money

HT-RT3 10 January 2019 by anthony17 (United Kingdom)

I just brougth this for the to use with xbox and now sounds great no issue with fan noise as per claims by other people. worthnbuying it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Brilliant quality

HT-RT3 04 January 2019 by gibbo98 (United Kingdom)

The sound quality is brilliant, they are so easy to set up and use, being able to connect to multiple devices using Bluetooth etc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

simple! great!

HT-RT3 28 November 2018 by furich (United Kingdom)

had sound systems previously but this is the best to date

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

poor quality

HT-RT3 25 October 2018 by Mr Nut (United Kingdom)

i brought this as ive always had sony TV (bravia) for many many years as they are just a beautiful machine ,picture quality is just amazing, so i brought a good sound bar to go with it at the same time , but just total rubbish!!!! failed within 4 months, then failed again at 10 months, now failed again at 18 months no sound at all!! I will not be buying sony soundbars again as they are just cheap rubbish

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

14

0

Not Outstanding

HT-RT3 05 October 2018 by Unimpressed Buyer (United Kingdom)

This system is not wireless, as the "Bluetooth Technology" strap line it leads you to believe. The surround speakers wire through the subwoofer and are as much of an annoyance as speaker wires always were. The subwoofer itself has a particularly loud cooling fan, which disturbs quite passages in whatever you are watching. Over-all a second rate product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

8

11

0

The worst sound quality ever!

HT-RT3 06 September 2018 by Roberto1975 (United Kingdom)

I am not happy to buy this product! I lost my money for this junk product!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

8

11

0

HT-RT3 review Status

HT-RT3 01 September 2018 by Kallol Bhuiya (USA)

I Brought this 1.5 years ago but I am not happy because when i increase volume to 30 and sub-woofer volume increases to 5-6 then it's main volume decreases, but it is not the proper way. I think its sub-woofer volume would be decrease not main volume. I'm sure that the heat sensing technology not uses in wright area.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Great Budget friendly 5.1 Sound

HT-RT3 29 August 2018 by AimaAdi (USA)

Have been using it for 3 months. Was looking for 5.1 Ch for a long time but didn't want 5 speaker format so when I chanced upon this I instantly liked the sound bar format. Had to just conceil the back speaker wires in false ceiling. My TV doesn't have digital out unfortunately, so using it with Analog and Bluetooth of FireTV and digital output of TataSky, so multiple inputs come in handy. However, I am not able to understand how it's converting Analog input into 5.1 sound ? Maybe someone from Sony can enlighten.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good sound

HT-RT3 28 August 2018 by Normando (USA)

I bought my unit 3 weeks ago and the base unit wouldn’t receive signal from the remote,the store swapped it for a new unit and I’ve the same problem even after resetting. I have a Sony ct 290 model in another room and both remotes worked fine on that so I suggest to everyone else that thinks their remotes not working that the problem is with the receiver in the sub woofer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It has known problems - I should reseached more

HT-RT3 23 August 2018 by iAlan (United Kingdom)

Disappointed with this sound bar. I bought it at the same time as a Sony 55 TV. The sound is out of sync and the fan is very noisy. After doing research it looks like this is a common problem with this sound bar. Someone has posted a temp fix for the sync problem (go into menu and toggle sound effect off and on) but you need to do this everything you turn the system on. You get used to the noise of the fan but the problem is it speeds up and down so sometimes you hear it and other times you don't. The Sony TV is fantastic. It’s a real shame that the Sony sound bar is so poor. I think the issues could be fixed by a software update but as yet Sony are not recognising this problem.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

0

Disappointing!

HT-RT3 30 July 2018 by Cinema Man (United Kingdom)

Remote control is sluggish or does not work at all dispite resetting to factory values as recommended by Sony advisor by phone. Most functions of the device seem depentant on a working remote. Cannot easily change formats, sound field or volume levels. Local controls on the Sub unit seem okay but slow.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

5

0

Not as good as we hoped

HT-RT3 08 July 2018 by Jon48 (United Kingdom)

We bought this just over a month ago and although the sound is much improved from that of the TV. The problem we have is with lip sync! Everything starts off fine but after a while the lip sync problem sets in. On contacting Sony they sent a list of different things to try to rectify the problem. We are working our way down the list but the problem remains,it is just an annoying fault.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great sound!

HT-RT3 13 June 2018 by Timeteen (USA)

Tried this sounder at the store and was blown away by the sound quality, once I brought it home I got to play some FLAC files on it and it sounds even greater. My last Sony Home Theatre sounds amazing but is now 10 years old and I was hesitant about replacing it but this sounder has done an exceptional job.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0