243

4.3 based on 243 customer reviews

146
59
21
5
12
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A great soundbar, but not for everyone

HT-X8500 28 November 2020 by Wightknight (United Kingdom)

This is a very capable soundbar with a good, balanced sound presentation. The bass is good but not overwhelming. It has puzzled me why the reviews have been so polarised, either five stars or one. I think I understand why. To get the best from this soundbar, you need to connect it via HDMI to a TV that supports ARC/eARC. Remember that Atmos is only supported over eARC or where a component such as a Blu-ray player is connected directly. If you want bass that will shake the furniture, you need a soundbar with a subwoofer; a soundbar on its own will still produce plenty of bass, but with limits. Please don’t expect this soundbar to produce the same surround effects as a system with several speakers. Having said that, this soundbar produces a decent soundstage with some vertical effects. This soundbar is ideal for those who live in a flat or don’t want rumbling bass to disturb others in the house. It will provide scale and weight to improve your enjoyment of movies, sports events and music. It is a good soundbar, but it won’t be right for everyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

32

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Garbage product

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 March 2021 by HRSG (Singapore)

1 month of testing.Regret to buy this garbage...........,

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

243 Customer Reviews

0

Smaller Room & TV Speaker

HTX8500 21 October 2021 by FMS82 (USA)

Best all-around small room and TV speaker! Boosts volume and sound projection, decent subwoofer. Sleek looks! Excellent value!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sounds

HT-X8500 24 September 2021 by Rjjjj (United Kingdom)

Works well wired, less so Bluetooth - too many RF devices in small area.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 15 September 2021 by Connie (Australia)

I bought this one few weeks ago, i love it. Sound great , its a good size, not too big, perfer for my house. I already recommend to my friends, i will get one more for my friend house warming too.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality, great overall

HT-X8500 14 September 2021 by arpan57 (United Kingdom)

Really like the sound quality, surround sound system. Comes with a set of presets on remote which is quite handy. Sometimes, dialogues are not too clear and sometimes there is a lag in lip sync. However, I like this soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loved it!

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 September 2021 by Shoedog96 (Singapore)

Bought this month ago, had initial problems connecting it to my older Samsung TV. But once connected with the required cables, worked reliably and wonderfully!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All-in-one for sound!

HT-X8500 10 September 2021 by Tracy G (United Kingdom)

I purchased this soundbar a few weeks ago and I am pleased with the overall performance of it. The sound is a lot better than what I had previously, which was just sound through the TV speaker itself, so it's a great addition to my Sony TV. It's easy to set up and it comes with great features like different sound modes as well as its bluetooth function. I would recommend this product for its ease of use, ease of set up/installation and for it's price.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

So far I love it.

HTX8500 06 September 2021 by DonJW (USA)

Had a couple of months now and am happy with the sound it plays. Haven't been able to test the Atmos yet as I currently have an older Samsung tv that does not have an eArc input. I have a new Sony 77 inch tv coming which has one and can't wait to get that hooked up to the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound in bedroom

HTX8500 26 August 2021 by James808 (USA)

Added to my Sony x90j in bedroom. Speakers surprisingly come close to surround sound. Sound has some height to it and at times sounds come in from left and right beside you. Used in a smaller space like a bedroom or office type space is probably best for this model. Bass hits quite well for being built in. I would like a few more bass level settings then just 3 though. Only issue I’ve had arise is when watching HBOmax movies that have Dolby atmos sound will blip then turn off. I have not had this issue with any other apps that I use that offer Dolby atmos though. So I’m pretty sure it’s something to do with the HBO app not the soundbar itself. Over all excellent product great for movies, video games, and regular viewing shows.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It was great for 1.5 years, then got worsen

HT-X8500 17 August 2021 by Ice_machinE (United Kingdom)

Sound wise, it has a wonderful sound and very good bass. Performance wise: I connected everything through it so I could have 1 source of sound (everything goes through an HDMI splitter because I wanted all of my devices to work through it), for the first 1.5 years, it worked flawlessly, then it started giving me crackling sounds and turn off the sound all together with all the lights flashing. The only way to fix this was to either disconnect all the cables from it or pull the power plug from it and turn it back on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor performance.

HT-X8500 16 August 2021 by Juanmaizq (United Kingdom)

Makes the TV slower to work and the quality of sound is not much better to compensate for this.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Good system but poor remote

HT-X8500 15 August 2021 by Hamidom (Australia)

I have struggled to have consistent sound connection with the TV, now the sound system is not operating with the TV

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Nice soundbar

HT-X8500 14 August 2021 by Dekker54 (United Kingdom)

I bought this mainly for Dolby atmos and Iam extremely impressed. I know it’s a 2019 model but it perfect .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good mid priced Soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 05 August 2021 by clishic (Singapore)

Quite good sound reproduction. Dolby Atmos works great too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just dandy

HTX8500 02 August 2021 by Oink (USA)

I've had it a month......... cccvv v. Bb no. No. Mmm

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

HT-X8500 30 July 2021 by Smithy (United Kingdom)

Great sound, easy to setup

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

No audio output from soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 22 July 2021 by BS Chua (Malaysia)

I don't know why quite frequent the Audio System output mis-communication. No audio output from the Soundbar. I have to switch off the TV and try again. Sometime, successful

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not bad

HT-X8500//M SP1 22 July 2021  (Singapore)

So far the sound quality is good. Value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

HT-X8500//M SP1 16 July 2021 by Fllim (Singapore)

Less than a month from date of purchase, now I need to send for repair. I can’t on the sound bar. I’m quite disappointed as I trusted SONY!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

2

0

Trial and error to operate - atmos is average

HT-X8500 12 July 2021 by JimboSydney (Australia)

This is my first ever sound bar and I was super excited because it was Atmos enabled. The sound is quite expansive and for a small room (I have a studio apartment) it is great. For the average person they may find this product adequate, however I did have higher expectations based on the product marketing. Now for my critiques: The set up is easy over e-arc but I've found this soundbar confusing to use and there was so much trial and error with the remote control. This is a product that you'll need the set up guide handy near by quite a bit because nothing is that intuitive. I have a Samsung QLED TV and the only way for me to get Atmos on Netflix, Disney+ etc was via my Xbox Series X - so a word of warning. The sound on cinema mode has really muffled dialogue but a bit of tweaking and reading online forums gave me some good advice to mess around with other modes - like music mode for movies. The built in demo and demo videos on the Dolby Atmos App are decent however it'll be hit and miss on content. Surprisingly, the Matrix 4K UHD Bluray sounded fantastic. I also note that the sound does have a habit of cutting out and at times my TV via earc mysteriously can't find the device (despite everything being brand new and high quality hdmi cables). The directional sound can be hard to pin point, but overall the soundbar does give you a better experience that built in TV speakers and it's quite enveloping and bassy. At some stage when I upgrade, I will probably look for a proper 5.1 solution - as virtual surround on this device doesn't quite cut it.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Improved sound on TV 100% right out of box!

HTX8500 11 July 2021 by Bob 74 (USA)

This Soundbar is exactly what I needed for a Toshiba C350 Fire TV. This is used in a bedroom and improves the sound of the TV dramatically. Sony hit a home run with this unit. Could not be more pleased! Currently using all default settings with a HDMI earc connection. Have not even tried any options and still very impressed with this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great all in one sound bar

HT-X8500 08 July 2021 by jd davidson (Australia)

great sound with out all the speakers , I have 2 one for the main 65in tv and one for the media room 55in tv,

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent Soundbar; limited Atmos

HT-X8500 07 July 2021 by Robin (Australia)

Most reviews were positive so I hit the billet when updating to a new 4K TV and replacing a cheap soundbar. Great sound, though not sure if it’s worth the huge $$ difference, and controls are limited (bass, etc). Also drops out frequently when changing between PS4 and TV even though we are using eARC. Atmos does kick in on the few times it has been available, but hardly noticeable so this shouldn’t be a deciding factor. As mentioned in most reviews, the lit up displays on the soundbar itself is not user-friendly and requires having the manual close by.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent Sound

HT-X8500 25 June 2021 by Mary the Cat (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up, looks good, great sound. good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Life is never the same again!

HT-X8500//M SP1 16 June 2021 by Kate2021 (Singapore)

We had the previous model for 3 years and only went into the SONY shop for a stroll and didnt intend to buy anything, but the salesman is very patient, courteous, meticulous and has answered all of our questions without being pushy on the new model. So we went back to the shop 1 month later and bought it instantly from the same salesperson! Life is never the same again when you watch your SONY TV, and we can never go back to the old and traditional sound again especially when we watch any films on Netflix or Amazon, or even watch any news. The 3-D sound effect adds another layer of listening-ability and pleasure to the ears and heart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0