97

4.1 based on 97 customer reviews

53
18
15
3
8
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by Christopher44 (USA)

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

bar stops putting out sound randomly

HT-Z9F 30 June 2020  (USA)

goes out often through the day changed cable, updates act. been happening shortly after purchase nov 2019 at. Best Buy. this has been a terrible experience. When I use the optical cable the same loss of sound occurs

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

97 Customer Reviews

0

bar stops putting out sound randomly

HT-Z9F 30 June 2020  (USA)

goes out often through the day changed cable, updates act. been happening shortly after purchase nov 2019 at. Best Buy. this has been a terrible experience. When I use the optical cable the same loss of sound occurs

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Cuts off/Subwoofer goes out

HTZ9F 26 June 2020 by ljphas (USA)

Bought during Nov 2019 during Black Friday Deals. Sound is great when it is working. Sometimes at random moments the sound will cut off. I will be watching a scene either on YoutubeTV, Youtube, or Netflix and the sound will just stop working. To manually fix this everytime, I figured out that I have to go into settings, switch the sound on the Speaker setting from Audio System to TV Speakers, and then back to Audio System and then the sound will come back on. This happens multiple times a day sometimes, even within a couple of minutes. Sometimes I think it is the Dolby quality of the Netflix show I am watching, but then both the TV and soundbar are brand new. In addition to that, the subwoofer does not always kick in. I will watch TV, the sound is good, but then the subwoofer kicks in at a random time and I hear the difference. I don't know why that happens either. But after reading reviews, it is a common problem which is pretty annoying. For the price and brand, this should not happen.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Solid Until You add rear speakers!

HT-Z9F 26 June 2020 by 06Dame (USA)

Purchased a few months ago as an upgrade over an older Samsung 2.1 set-up. Big improvement overall. Didn't notice too many issues. Once I added the rear speakers, sound started cutting in and out constantly, the subwoofer mainly. To temporarily fix the issue, you have to toggle RF on or off in the Soundbar menu. Quite an annoyance for such an expensive set-up. Sounds amazing when it works.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sounds Great, but it mutes on its own at times.

HT-Z9F 24 June 2020 by Sound Bar (USA)

I bought this over a month ago. The sound is really nice. The only issue I have is that the sound bar mutes on its own. I then have to un-mute it by using the remote of the sound bar. Anyone knows how to fix this issue, other than a factory reset?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Always Sony

HT-Z9F 09 June 2020 by JBHII (USA)

Have had this for 1 month and am very satisfied. Works perfectly with new TV. Excellent sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Very Good Soundbar in a Nice Size Package

HT-Z9F 01 June 2020 by Jbirdnyc (USA)

The HTZ9F is a nice sleek design perfect for on the wall or on the table next to your TV. The slightly smaller bar size at 40" (many bars are 42-50") and my cabinet is 41" was a perfect match. Along with two HDMI inputs where the main reasons I bought this model. Although it would have been perfect if there was a 3rd HDMI input. The sound quality is good although I wish it delivered a better mid-range. Sometime the voice is hard to hear. The base is more than I could every need. I have the Bar connect to my router via ethernet cord. Plugged into the Bars HMDI is my 4k Roku and Bluray. Then I connect the Bar to my TV. Which was manufactured before HMDI ARC. The remote is Over all it performs well and delivers good quality sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great sound.

HTZ9F 25 May 2020 by AlexS33 (USA)

Just bought this item today, and the sound is phenomenal. Can't wait to purchase more sony speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great Sound in Small Package

HT-Z9F 05 May 2020 by bran88 (USA)

I've had this soundbar/subwoofer pair for almost a year now, and have had zero issues with it. The 4K passthrough for my Ultra-HD Blu-ray player has worked flawlessly and sound quality is amazing. When watching a 4K movie with a decent audio mix, it will blow you away (Bladerunner 2049 is best example). The customization of audio settings is really nice to fine-tune how you want the sound. I do not have the optional rear speakers, but sound immersion is no issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Terrible

HTZ9F 24 April 2020 by LStep0418 (USA)

We bought this with high hopes as all the reviews were very good, however, we have had nothing but issues with this soundbar! The sound constantly cuts out throughout every show/movie we watch. We have tried troubleshooting every option and still nothing is working! I'm extremely disappointed in this product, it was definitely not worth the $900!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

0

It’s a mess all around

HT-Z9F 22 April 2020 by EmanuelM (USA)

Neither the Chromecast nor the Spotify feature work on this unit. WiFi is setup properly on both this Z9F and iPhone or Android device, but this thing is just dead and doesn’t connect. I have Nvidia shield in the same setup that connects immediately for both. The BT sound from my phone with 320kbs quality is extremely disappointing. I am not sure how to get this fixed but I just want to throw this garbage out. Restarts, resets, changing network was tried and nothing works.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Sounds great when it works

HTZ9F 19 April 2020 by Cjnords (USA)

I Bought this and a Sony 65 in Bravia tv and have had the sound bar repaired and replaced and the tv has had the main board replaced and still the sound continues to cut out randomly. Seems like it’s a known issue. I Won’t buy a Sony product again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

Love this... but

HT-Z9F 16 April 2020 by Rjensen (USA)

Great sound and love with bluray and 4k dvd’s!! Since I started more streaming though, the sound drops except for sub.? I then have to switch sound mode to get the sound back. Its very random, sometimes only once and sometimes alot. Recently added a fiber optic connection but that didn’t seem to help.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Sounded great in store only to hear about flaws .

HTZ9F 14 April 2020 by PaBigmo (USA)

Purchased a few weeks ago sounded great in store but during installation,Geek Squad said there was problems with using the hdmi cable because of issues so they used an optic cable.said Sony needs firmware update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

Full 4K HDR capabilities

HT-Z9F 13 April 2020 by Aeurelius2020 (USA)

I've own my XBR900F for some time now. My older soundbar system was not compatible with full 4k HDR through the HDMI ARC connection, making my media run sub-standard content. Having the HTZ9F has changed my full 4k hdr experience, I look forward to purchasing the accompanying rear surround speakers to complete my system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Great sound

HTZ9F 06 April 2020 by N2scbaff (USA)

Got this a month ago and would highly recommend it with the rear speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Sony Has Outdone Themselves Again!

HTZ9F 01 April 2020 by Lainiie (USA)

I am so impressed with the Sony HT-Z9F 3.1 Ch. Dolby Atmos® DTS:X™ Wireless Soundbar. Sony has always been a brand I trust when it comes to quality products and they have once again shown me why I always go back to them for electronic purchases. This soundbar is better than what I imagined. The setup was very easy and took hardly anytime at all. Just a few plug ins here and there and I was ready to go. I only needed to review the manual once or twice, because I have a 8K Smart tv and needed to do a few extra settings to make sure everything synched correctly. My tv is a 75 inch and I needed a really good soundbar that would provide amazing sound quality for such a large television. This soundbar definitely made that happen. The look is the soundbar is simple and sleep and looks great against my full entertainment system. I do have to use two remotes to control the tv and soundbar separately, but that really isn’t an issue. In the beginning I did gave problems with the subwoofer cutting out just during movies. It would happen 2-3 times and for only a few seconds. I even moved the subwoofer to the back of the room to provide a larger space for sound, but it still continued with the cutting out. After a little research and digging I found that this was a common issue with a simple reset fix. After resetting the soundbar I have not noticed it cutting out anymore. Everything is perfect and I couldn’t have asked for a better sound quality! I would definitely recommend it!

1

6

0

Good sound but poor connections

HT-Z9F 19 March 2020 by David in Illinois (USA)

The sound is very good and I like this bar more than any I have had previously. The main problem I, and others, have found is the connection to rear speakers and the subwoofer. Unfortunately, the system drops connection to the wireless speakers a lot and it makes enjoyment difficult. The only remedy is to daily turn the RF signal off and then back on. It's pretty silly and should be remedied. However, tech support from Sony has been frustrating and unhelpful. Other than this problem, I would get the system - just know that according to your environment, you may have to deal with this issue. There are sound system websites that have discussions on this issue and can provide you some information if it occurs with you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

8

0

Seamless Sound

HTZ9F 16 March 2020 by jcgoyanes (USA)

My new Sony HT-Z9F system was a breeze to setup, especially with my Sony TV. The setup was seamless and the design is very minimalistic. The sound quality is superb for my game room and the kids enjoyed the sound effects from Lion King on it. All in all great design and not bulky.

0

7

0

Sony HT-Z9F

HTZ9F 10 March 2020 by rws2285 (USA)

The Sony HT-Z9F was incredibly simple to setup and get running. It took me longer to pull out my old receiver and 5.1 speaker setup than it did to unbox the Sony and start watching a movie. The sound was pretty impressive for a soundbar, and even slightly better than my previous 3 year old, mid-range 5.1 speaker setup with a dedicated Dolby Atmos receiver.

0

7

0

Good but I expected better

HT-Z9F 09 March 2020 by Disappointed Sony Fan (USA)

I've had the HT-Z9F and the SA-Z9R rear surrounds about 6 months now and bought it to replace a HT-NT3 that was beginning to have problems when changing input from streaming Netflix back to the cable box. For the price of the sound bar with the rear surrounds, which should be included with the Z9F since its the only bar they can be paired with, I don't believe Sony gave me what I paid for. It has the latest technology with eARC, 4K HDR, the newer Dolby formats, Hi Res Audio, the ability to fine tune for each speaker distance and control the volume of the main bar, sub and surrounds independently and so on. I would give it 5 stars for all of this but the actual sound just isn't worthy of 5 stars, not to mention the Dolby Atmos reproduction leaves a lot to be desired. I read reviews, researched and listened to the in-store demo's prior to purchasing so I had a decent idea of what I was getting but I've been left disappointed with the end result of the sound that I hear in my home. I'm a Sony fan and have bought Sony products for the last 20 years and will continue to do so even though the Z9F hasn't met my expectations. I have the Z9F paired with a XBR830C TV but intend to move it to the bedroom and purchase the XBR950H when it becomes available in the near future and honestly, I was hoping Sony would introduce an upgrade to the Z9F for 2020 but it appears they will not. The older NT3 provided a fuller, richer overall sound than the Z9F. The slightly larger mid's with independent tweeters provide a cleaner, sharper sound then the single 2" cones used in the Z9F. I really believe this sound bar could make a significant step forward if it had 3 of the 2 way speakers used in the NT3 and the ST5000. Bottom line, if Sony had put the attention into the speakers they used for this bar as they did making sure it had the current, up to date technology and the latest set of features, they may have produced a top of the line sound bar whose sound actually matched the feature set that they built into the unit. Unfortunately, I don't believe the sound produced matches all the features this unit has.....especially when the rear surrounds have to be purchased separately. It has a premium price tag for a little above average sound quality. Sony, please take the Z9F package and upgrade the speakers used in the main bar and you may just hit the mark for the audience the unit is intended for.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Good but bad

HTZ9F 06 March 2020 by svenergy (USA)

The speaker when it works is a top notch speaker, but the bluethooth cuts out a lot and have to always go in and switch from auto to manual it is very annoying. Wish there was a way to fix that. It works for a day or so then it starts to cut out again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

great sound

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by Edward55 (USA)

This product was easy to install and sounds great. Glad we decided to purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Love the Sound!!

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by alicia124 (USA)

I recently purchased this soundbar and I must say it is outstanding. The sound quality coming out directly in front of the tv versus having separate speakers and a receiver makes it simple and the sound so clear. We also enjoyed karaoke and having the sound coming out with separate karaoke speakers improves the fun and quality using it. The movie sound is just like being in a theater, I am quite pleased with this soundbar. We look forward to movie nights with the family, experiencing the effects of actually being in a theater, but enjoying in the comfort of your home.

0

3

0

Excellent Soundbar

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by Jlm80 (USA)

This soundbar puts out great sound and looks wonderful on our mantle. Setup up was easy as we followed the simple instructions to connect the soundbar to our TV. The sound is clear and the surround speakers add a great theater like quality. We watch TV and listen to music pretty much every day, this soundbar makes our experience outstanding.

0

1