295

4.0 based on 295 customer reviews

149
67
33
15
31
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by CD427 (USA)

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

WASTE OF MONEY!! SUBWOOFER CUTS OUT!

HT-Z9F 03 January 2021 by EAchicago (USA)

Three months after I bough the HTZ9F sound bar the subwoofer cuts in and out. According to reviews I have read, I am not the only person who has issues with the subwoofer. I have try everything I have come across online to try to fix this issue but nothing works. It is terrible that this unit was SO EXPENSIVE and it broke on me right away. I expected better reliability from a brand such as Sony. Even more when they are selling a sound bar for $700 that broke right away.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

295 Customer Reviews

0

Cant get rear speakers anywhere for this model

HT-ZF9 21 September 2021 by Brand85 (United Kingdom)

Sound bar and subwoofer have great sound but I bought this thinking I could add rear speakers to it but I cant find them anywhere to buy in the UK

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Good, but not as intense as my hard-wired system

HTZ9F 15 August 2021 by musicalhockey guy (USA)

Easy setup. Good main channel, sub woofer sound. Added the wireless surround speakers. Kind of hit and miss sound quality there. Definitely not the quality of my previous Sony hard wired system (it would shake the glass off my bar), but new floor made the wires go away. Still better than all the other systems I shopped, specifically looking for wireless rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good sound

HT-ZF9 10 August 2021 by Ray Brown (United Kingdom)

To replace a ht-z9000 with excellent sound but very poor vocals gets drowned out by movies music, this sound bar has a centre speaker which makes up for it, better vocally, only had a month still getting to grips with it there is a voice button to make louder but would have liked a feature the same as a amp the option to increase the volume more but then its only a bar I am happy with it any way so is the wife.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Sound - Lousy directions

HTZ9F 03 August 2021 by CliffTheTechGuy (USA)

I bought this from Best Buy - and of course without buying a service contract I'm on my own with figuring out connections. By following the directions and using the Sound Bar as a bridge between an HDMI video/audio device - to the HDMI 1 on the sound bar - HDMI out of the sound bar to eARC on the TV...results: Audio only, no video. Of course if I use a separate HDMI port on the TV it works, but the directions purposely call out using the sound bar as a bridge for the best results. I put a call to Best Buy - sorry but we charge to send someone to you, but feel free to return it. Post a message to Sony community page - hopefully I get some answers and not just sympathy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-ZF9 31 July 2021 by delboy213 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this item at the same time as a 49" XH-80/4 Ultra HD (HDR) Smart TV. The two together, absolute perfection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great furter

HT-ZF9 30 July 2021 by simon1983 (United Kingdom)

Glad I bought this product, serves me well and I am satisfied with its capabilities

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good as bose

equivalentsOf-ht-z9f 30 July 2021 by Jas (United Kingdom)

First Sony sound system I purchased. I am happy with it. It is Alexa and google assistant compatible but you cannot communicate directly with the sound bar, one need a app on your smartphone.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Atmos TV Gaming and Movies, hard to buy satellites

HT-ZF9 27 July 2021  (United Kingdom)

Atmos, eARC, 3 front speakers with 1 woofer in a very competitive price. It is made in Malaysia. Satellites hard to come by. eARC (2ways) solves TV app sound out sync problem. Beside eARC port, there are 2 HDMI inputs. Don't follow the attached quick installation manual if your TV has eARC. Just connect TV eARC to this bar eARC. Reasonable sound quality and control functionalities, not shabby at all. Sony does put some efforts on the virtual sound stage and those sound category buttons on the remote. It is pleasant even for music and vocal. Nite button also useful, so your next door apartment neighbour won't be hit by bass so bad at nite hours. I listened to B&O Sound bar woofer(double the B&O bar price) , and Bose 700 with woofer (optional). Bose 700 with woofer (optional) maybe sounded better stronger and harder but without Atmos and priced at a different level since woofer sell separately.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great sound bar

HT-ZF9 25 July 2021 by Smify (United Kingdom)

Great sound bar, easy to setup and use and certainly sounds better and louder than my previous home cinema system it replaced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing quality

equivalentsOf-ht-z9f 21 July 2021 by Nath (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this soundbar and didn't expect too much for the price however its amazing. I would highly recommend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Theater like

HTZ9F 21 July 2021 by Brookie46 (USA)

Great movie experience. Superb for Amazon unlimited music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought in conjunction with a KD-49X8096

HT-ZF9 21 July 2021 by delboy 213 (United Kingdom)

This item connected to the above television - excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Expensive Soundbar, with sound dropping issues

HT-ZF9 16 July 2021 by Ecxx (United Kingdom)

This Soundbar is expensive, I was very disappointed with the hassle in setting it up. The HDMI ports are in an awkward place. The main issue I've had is with the sound dropping while watching content from various sources. I spent far too much time trawling the internet looking for solutions to this problem. I'm astonished a soundbar at this price has this problem. I always buy Sony, but I will be looking at alternatives in the future! When I did get it problem sorted, I have to say the sound is impressive, but the shine was taken off due to the hassle getting it set up. If you are looking for a soundbar, I would look else where, make sure before you buy to check AV forums for potential problems, not that you should have too when you are spending £600!.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Disappointed.

HT-ZF9 07 July 2021 by 55Charlie (United Kingdom)

I considered this purchase for sometime before I finally went ahead with the purchase. I found the quick setup easy to follow. Unfortunately you really need to go into the advanced settings to improve the sound experience and I found this confusing. I found the vertical sound a disappointment, or perhaps I haven't got the settings right. So I'm left wondering if the problem is me or the system. It left me thinking I should buy the rear speakers, but at £299 and difficult to source that's not really an option. The sound I have is great, but not sure I could describe it as home theater.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great Sound

HT-Z9F//M SP1 06 July 2021 by Ronald RK (Malaysia)

Great sound for the price point. No complaints. The wireless connection to subwoofer does not lag. I am a satisfied customer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Nice design

HTZ9F 01 July 2021  (USA)

Bought this sound bar to go with my new 77” Sony A9G flat screen. Nice design and pretty good sound quality, offers plenty of features and most up-to-date audio signals

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

HT-ZF9 21 June 2021 by Ikram Rehman (United Kingdom)

Good Sound and Excellent Build Quality. Recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Remote Problems

HTZ9F 21 June 2021  (USA)

I have no complaints about the sound of the he system. I have a brand new 85 inch Sony TV, I have constant problems with the tv remote controlling the sound bar. You would assume that both products being Sony they would function easily together. I don’t understand it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

the sound is good

HT-Z9F//M SP1 19 June 2021 by wch83 (Singapore)

the sound is good. and over all all is good. pricing seem good too

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Product has defects and reliability issues

HT-Z9F//M SP1 15 June 2021 by EddieGBS (Singapore)

Sub woofer intermittent problems. Have been monitoring to detect possible causes and also time to ascertain the reliability issues is correct. Will be liaising with Sony after sales support staff soon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Terrible Product! the worst Soundbar!

HTZ9F 09 June 2021 by AngryBeaver83 (USA)

I bought this back in 2019. When I first had it hooked up to a 2017 model Sony X720E TV, I never had a problem with it. But ever since I bought a brand new 2020 model Sony X950H and hooked it up to that , it frequently completely stops working and when I finally do I get to starting again working it's incredibly terrible. Now after four months of owning the Sony X950H TV, the Soundbar has completely stopped and i can't get it getting working. I only bought this because I thought it would work better with a Sony TV seeing as there both Sony. But I should of known better. Because the only quality product Sony makes is their TVs. The rest is garbage!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

good quality

HT-ZF9 06 June 2021 by PJC14 (United Kingdom)

I purchase this unit around a month ago and I am sure I will be pleased with it once I get it set up properly

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sound will not stay on

HTZ9F 05 June 2021 by Jherrera (USA)

I bought this not even 6 months ago and it has been giving problems, sound goes in and out and now will not e en turn on.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great Sound combined with TV

HT-ZF9 04 June 2021 by Hoodyman17 (United Kingdom)

I love this system the sound is amazing for a £500 unit, whover it does have a couple of minor bugs.... the subwoofer can be intermitent and cuts out due to conditions i.e being 2 inches to far from soundbar or interference from surrounding brickwork etc.... my other minor niggles are sometimes when switching from HDMI 1 to 2 it sometimes goes to the home screen and also the base can at times be a tiny bit OTT and havent found a way to adjust this...... but for these minor little niggles it would have been 5stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0