Article ID : 00144927 / Last Modified : 02/09/2019

What is the difference between Reset Default / Camera Settings Reset and Factory Reset / Initialize?

    NOTE: The functions that can be selected differ depending on the camera.

    • Reset Default / Camera Settings Reset function

      Only reset the shooting settings of the camera to their default settings.

    • Initialize function

      Reset the settings that the Reset Default / Camera Settings Reset function does, as well as other functions like Date/Time Setup and Wi-Fi Settings. In addition, the Initialize function also deletes information stored in the camera such as registered faces, registered AF micro adjustments, file numbers, and downloaded applications.

    • Factory Reset function

      Reset all the settings that the Initialize function does, as well as AF Micro Adj..

    NOTE:
    • Do not turn the camera off while resetting.
    • The camera may show a blank screen for approximately 10 seconds after performing a reset. This is a normal operation and not a malfunction on the camera.