Starting at

$2,595.00

for 139 cm (55") model

(AUD inc. GST)
461

4.4 based on 461 customer reviews

310
72
39
18
22
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

outstanding OLED TV display

164 cm (65") 30 June 2021  (Singapore)

This Sony BRAVIA XR Series A80J has an outstanding OLED display that is HDR10, HLG, and Dolby Vision compatibility which offers a wide color gamut. This is my 4th OLED screen and it is the biggest among my devices. For details review you can easily search them in the web but right now, I just want to share my personal option after owning it for 2 weeks. The OLED display delivers intense contrast with pure blacks and natural colors at its best, no question about it, but the screen brightness can better even though the spec says it is higher than its predecessor. Not sure about the all new Cognitive Processor XR but it seems to be on par with other brand’s processor. The TV comes with BRAVIA XR HDMI 2.1-enabled 4K / 120 Hz ports which is great but only 2 out of 4 HDMI ports are capable of delivering it and one of it is the ARC/eARC which to me is a huge let down. It comes with total 3 USB ports and even a button to switch on/off the mic for google search. With Acoustic Surface Audio+, the screen is the speaker and it is outstanding. I can’t imagine how it sounds from the TV panel that produce sound from the entire screen until I personally experience it. I must say it has more realistic sound and exceptionally clear dialog than my old TV and I don’t really miss my sound bar. The remote has an average placing of buttons and shortcuts but how I wish it is back-lit just like the Sony higher model. I tried to wall-mount the TV and due to the placement of the “VESA” port, it will be higher and that leave a big space between the TV and the console table. It can be bad or good, depending on how big your sound bar is. Overall it is a good Sony OLED TV and I have no regrets getting it. Due to this COVID-19 and WFH status, I found myself consuming more contents from A80J than my old TV and so do my family members for many years to come. Cheers

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please do not buy this TV not what you think.

139 cm (55") 30 September 2021 by Dan3168 (United Kingdom)

I was persuaded to buy this TV when I went in for the Samsung. I specifically told the salesman that it needed to have catch up services as I have no aerial connection. Got it home and discovered it does not. In this day and age it is dishonest to launch a TV that cannot access freeview and basic stuff like that. I have purchased amazon firestick etc but it's not the same. Curry's assure me that freeview will be available at some point but when?? Why can't it download the app. Instead it comes with a load of junk apps that are useless. My 10 year old Samsung flatscreen is lighter and flatter. Yes the screen is thinner but what's the point if there is a huge bulk behind it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

13

0

461 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Great picture and deep colours

139 cm (55") 22 October 2021 by Paul0987654321 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic picture with true black and deep colours. The stand is poor though and it tilts backwards slightly. Apart from that very happy after the first week

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

OLED won me over

139 cm (55") 22 October 2021 by dcll (Hong Kong)

I liked the A80J at the Sony showroom but it really shined when I set the OLED for my home. After some minor calibration, the picture quality even on SDR was amazing. I watch 20% OTA broadcast, 30% PS5 games, and 50% streaming app or YouTube. This OLED had more clarity in skin tone and deeper blacks to project image depth than my other QLED. Whether it’s Netflix or PrimeVideo the XR processor was capable in matching a theater movie experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Overall meet expectations.

164 cm (65") 22 October 2021 by KG in JU (Singapore)

Everything is good except the apps in the system and in goggle is lousy. The TV cannot mirror cast from handphone. If can mirror cast at least can use some apps in my handphone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Best TV purchase

55" class (54.6" diag) 21 October 2021 by marhid2000 (USA)

I bought this about one month ago, best TV purchase, so so clear , the resolution is awesome, especially the 4K shows and movies!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Freaking amazing!!!

65" class (64.5" diag) 21 October 2021 by Dsweet (USA)

I had a little trouble parting with the extra money but I’m so glad I did! The picture quality is beyond amazing and it’s easier to use than any tv I’ve ever owned. At 58 that’s more than just a few. I’d buy another today if I had a place to put it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture and Sound Quality so far

55" class (54.6" diag) 19 October 2021 by arkhan (USA)

so far its working great .it has great picture an sound quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality picture, sound and controls!

65" class (64.5" diag) 19 October 2021 by Stormy70 (USA)

I researched many brands before choosing this TV. I'm very happy with my choice. I have now had it for a month. The sound, picture, and controls are quality in every area. I needed accessibility options and having a Google tv, streamlined my setup and needs. My hesitation about "burn in" was taken away the first day. The tv will go into a Screensaver mode and eventually turn off if program watching placed on pause. A sound bar is not needed due to the excellent sound with the speakers in the TV. I am thrilled with this TV!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 19 October 2021 by Soozo (United Kingdom)

I love my new Tv the pciture is amazing, 4 stars because BBC iplayer is not a downloadable app.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

17

0

Great picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 19 October 2021 by SCCMir (USA)

All my TVs are SONY. Always very satisfied. I purchased this TV to replace another SONY that was 10 years old. There was nothing wrong with that tV but it got hit by lightning. Made sure that this one was installed properly. Bought the surge protector from the power company and made sure that everything runs through the surge protector.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture. Inputs could be better.

65" class (64.5" diag) 18 October 2021 by RichiePoo (USA)

Inputs aren’t all HDMI 2.1, so you can only have 2 modern sources. And one of them is using the ARC channel, so effectively you only get 1 HDMI 2.1 input an audio system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fantastic picture

139 cm (55") 18 October 2021 by Kidge (United Kingdom)

Always buy Sony TVs this is the best yet, the picture quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Satellitenempfang problematisch

164 cm (65") 18 October 2021 by Calobra (United Kingdom)

Habe vor wenigen Tagen einen XR-65A80J gekauft und kann das Gerät nicht für den Empfang von Satellitenprogrammen an meiner Antennenanlage konfigurieren. Das entsprechende Menü unter "Einstellungen" des Fernsehers sieht nur drei Möglichkeiten vor: Eine Unikabel Antennenanlage, dCSS (auch eine Einkabellösung) oder eine diSecq fähige Antennenanlage. Habe aber eine fest verbaute Satelittenschüssel mit einem Quattro-LNB und nachgeschaltetem "dummen" Multischalter. Dieser muss eben noch mit den "alten" analogen Kriterien für Polarisation (14/18V DC) und 22kHz Ton für die Bandwahl angesteuert werden. Hierfür finde ich keine Einstellmöglichkeit am Sony. Weiß jemand eine Lösung?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Great picture

77" class (76.7" diag) 17 October 2021 by Jemi83 (USA)

Bought this Sony TV a month ago and it's definitely worth it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best TV I've Ever Invested in

164 cm (65") 17 October 2021 by Thai7Chi (United Kingdom)

I am a huge movie buff and console/pc gamer. This TV is incredible for its picture clarity on films and series. The quality is outstanding with Disney+ and Prime. Amazing with other platforms like Netflix etc. Do may things to do to tweak picture settings and sound. For a gamer it's 120hz is a must when you got a elite graphics card that can push 4K 120hz fps to its limit. Now just need to secure that PS5 since the PS4 a little old now. Really recommend paying the £2k+ I did for this monster of a TV. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Good allround everything

139 cm (55") 17 October 2021 by passey2 (United Kingdom)

One or two niggles Height of tv to allow sound bar under Still finding my way arround it ,but so far pleased !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

8

0

Excellent picture

164 cm (65") 16 October 2021 by wellhard655 (United Kingdom)

Just bought this TV, very easy to set up! software is smooth and the picture is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Best TV for the buck

164 cm (65") 16 October 2021 by KelRo (Singapore)

Bought the TV 3 weeks back and couldn’t be more pleased with it. Finally decided to replace the Pioneer Kuro plasma and the A80J is as good as it gets for the price range. Waited to compare with the X95J, but alas, the A80J OLED still looks so much more brilliant with natural looking picture!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic OLED TV, Highly recommended!

164 cm (65") 16 October 2021 by sonyenjoyer (United Kingdom)

I purchased this TV 2 months ago and it still manages to surprise me every time I turn it on. I've paired it with the Sony UBP-X800M2 4K player and 4K films are just out of this world. Good quality Blu-rays are also upscaled very nicely with this combo, Look very close to 4K! You can play around with the picture profile settings to get the most out of it. I suggest the 'Custom' picture profile for the most colour accurate picture. It might not be bright but go to the brightness section and change the contrast to 100, HDR tone mapping to brightness preferred, peak luminance to high and Adv. Contrast enhancer to high if you need more brightness. The Google TV is superfast and the voice commands are very helpful. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Screen Is AMAZING!

65" class (64.5" diag) 15 October 2021 by TLBR (USA)

Had to buy without much time to really shop and took the chance on going up to the Bravia. So worth the money!! Great picture, user interface is very easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 15 October 2021 by esraab (USA)

The TV is great, however it will not recognize my Sonos speakers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Vertical line on screen and control not working

164 cm (65") 15 October 2021  (Singapore)

I received my Sony A80J two weeks ago and this week it showing a vertical line on screen and the width is big. Sometimes the control also not working in controlling YouTube, always need exit the whole YouTube then go in again. Very bad experience with first Sony TV I bought.

0

0

0

Disappointed

139 cm (55") 14 October 2021 by Disappointed again (United Kingdom)

Bought 2 months ago was so looking forward to using it but it turned to disappointment were the sound is good and the picture was ok I lost some channels and the red button feature on bcc and this to the not so easy of use or to find information maybe not for someone of a older generation . I clearly brought the wrong tv

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

5

0

Fantastic picture

139 cm (55") 14 October 2021 by Fitchkid (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few days ago from Sevenoaks Yeovil up and running to perfection in a couple of hours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Notable functional deficiencies

139 cm (55") 14 October 2021 by xDave (United Kingdom)

Do NOT buy this TV if you need Freeview catch-up or live TV pausing – neither work. Having said this, the design and picture quality are good. I have marked ease of use down due to the functional deficiencies of this TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

12