Starting at

$1,895.00

for 126 cm (50") model

(AUD inc. GST)
54

4.1 based on 54 customer reviews

35
5
4
6
4
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superior Quality as Expected

50" class (49.5" diag) 10 May 2021 by AzDesertDawg (USA)

I just installed my new X90J over the weekend. It is replacing my 2014 X850B 4k television set. I will now rotate my 2006 SXRD A2000 set out of the primary bedroom and donate it to a senior center. Both my 2006 SXRD and 2014 X850B both operate at the same high level as the day I brought them both home. I still have a 2006 Sony KDL32S200 LCD 720p television set in our guest bedroom that works like new. Sony televisions never die, you have to retire them! I have not experienced any green tint issue as is mentioned in other reviews. Nor do my wife and I find the preset modes to be as bad as some think. Standard was a bit bright for us so we switched to iMax mode and have never had to tweak anything again. We did find it a bit different that when installed on the supplied stands the set tilts slightly back. In researching this, I discovered this is by design to meet ergonomic standards. The remote on this has been uncluttered compared to our X850B's remote. This has made the operation of the set much easier to learn. I especially appreciate the new user interface improvements. As a long time Playstation fan, I found it a breeze to adapt to. As has been our experience with every Sony television set we've purchased in our lifetime, it worked flawlessly out of the box. My experience with Sony products and support has been nothing short of superior my entire life. This new X90J will not disappoint you!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

bottlenecked by local dimming

X90J Series 18 April 2021 by gentek (USA)

x90j 65inch -This tv had a rough start when i first received it. the x90j had input lag terrible judder and frame skipping but thanks to sony its was fixed within two days and now the motion is rlly good. setup was easy and google tv makes accessing your favorite content a breeze. 4k 120 hz works out of the box. with vrr on the way so for gaming this tv is great . movies on the other hand... can be hard to enjoy no matter what setting you use. black levels are mediocre even compared to cheaper tv brands that i own this affects movie viewing especially in a dark room. blackletterbox bars when watching widescreen movies have noticeable clouding and backlight bleed. leaving local dimming at the default setting is unwatchable i had to turn it to high and it still is not good enough for a tv this price image quality can be amazing at times especially with bravia core and 4k bluray but the tv is really held back from being great due to clouding ,backlight bleed and lackluster local dimming. If this issue can be fixed via firmware update within my return window i would highly recommend this tv to everyone. Really good tv it just has a major flaw for movie watchers.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

59 Customer Reviews

Models

0

All the features I want

126 cm (50") 14 June 2021 by Sand303 (United Kingdom)

Standard def like bbc1 Pick Film4 the picture is soft.. not up scaled like its mentioned. But better than other brands. HD content is amazing vibrant colourful and pin sharp. Sound is ok with this vibrating screen. Apps aplenty. Really happy with this tv.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loads to learn; amazing extras

139 cm (55") 14 June 2021 by Wong MW (Singapore)

Wasn’t very sure what I was buying into - but it was my fourth (and largest) Bravia TV. Did not expect to be able to utilise so many internet / streaming features.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 14 June 2021 by Jake (USA)

The Sony Bravia X90J 4K Ultra HD TV is a great TV. It is super easy to set up once you connect it to the internet. This is the first smart tv I have owned and it does not disappoint. Most of the setup was done through my phone which made it super convenient. It literally only took about 10 minutes to set up and download the apps that we use. It comes with a set of legs that are simple to attach and remove. The picture is quality is fantastic. The audio is ok, but really I got this TV for the picture and not the sound. Overall great TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

The worst TV and supper expensive

65" class (64.5" diag) 12 June 2021 by Ned07 (USA)

This year I decided to invest in a good tv. I love watching movies and use almost all streaming services. I did the research and looked all the reviews on this TV. A little bit more than a moth I bought this TV and it’s the worst one I have ever had. Google TV operating system or built in as they say is so clunky the tv freezes very often. You click on your home button it takes 4 seconds for the TV to react and when you land on your Home Screen it freezes. You have to restart your tv and even then it takes a long time for the tv to come up and the second is up you get a message could not load your Home Screen. Features such as airplay where not working had to call Sony and guess what I had to update my system even though I had it set to auto update but some things will not. I have spent 1700 dollars on this tv and I find myself maintaining it most of the time then enjoying it. A lot of reviews where about its xr1 processor I thought it’s going to perform fast and smooth but my TCL has a better response and performance. When it comes to picture and sound quality it’s great. Conclusion I still can’t get over the fact how screwed I got buying this TV it’s not worth the money for that amount you can buy much better performing TVs

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Android TV

50" class (49.5" diag) 11 June 2021  (USA)

I'm a Samsung tv person and have been for 10 years. I always thought of sony as high quality and tried them but they didn't suit my needs. This year I was so disappointed with Samsung that I tried sony again. I'm very fussy and return 9 out of 10 TV's I buy. The X90J 50" was very close to being returned because of the lack of bass that my previous Samsung delivered. But picture quality and brightness was good. I run my TV's 24/7. After about a week or two the tv started sounding better. I guess the speakers needed breaking in. I do notice a little blooming but It depends on the source so I think some tweaks to settings can correct it. Input lag seems good. I've been getting more deathmatch wins than usual. I also like that the TV runs on Android. I think I'm going to keep this TV. Maybe add a subwoofer. I hate waisting my time on reviews so I hope sony sends me a prize for doing so.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Spectacular Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 11 June 2021 by Dree (USA)

The Bravia XR Smart TV has greatly exceeded my expectations. First the picture quality is excellent the colors are incredible with the different modes to pick from for your liking. You don't need a sound system for this television as the sound is excellent. I am very happy with all the apps that are available just connect to the internet and set up a Google account to see all the features on this TV. The remote is user friendly and makes switching to streaming apps a breeze. Setup is simple and it has no lag on gaming. The HDMI 2.1 is essential for upcoming gaming The Bravia is a high quality TV and I would recommend it to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Awesome tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 11 June 2021 by Jess443 (USA)

The second I turned this tv on, I was impressed by how clear and impressive the picture is. It literally can seem like you are there sometimes. This tv has superior sound clarity. During set up, the program asks if tv will sit tabletop or hung on the wall to improve quality and reduce any echoing. Tv comes with apps installed and pretty easy to search for another app. It needs a Google account for set up. It pairs up with Google tv app also. Tv comes with Google assistant that can accessed from the remote. It can tell jokes or anything else you ask it to do. My child told assistant it was his birthday and it sand happy birthday to him. This tv can be used as an alarm clock. It has 8 pre installed games on it. Pairs well with antenna and wifi. It also comes with the biggest tv remote I've ever seen. I've been using the tv roughly a month and have had no issues with any of the functions. I'm still very impressed with this tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great TV with Beautiful Color & Clarity

55" class (54.6" diag) 11 June 2021 by Lclare77 (USA)

The X90J is a great 4K TV with beautiful, vibrant colors and clarity. It very lightweight for the size and the legs were easy to install. The design is sleek and appealing. Once turned on, the prompts quickly work through all you need to get the TV set up, connected to your cable box and Internet and get access to your apps. I also love the features of Google TV and Google Assistant and ability to use voice commands. The sound is great. During the set-up process there is a calibration feature to optimize sound for where your TV is placed and where you sit. I highly recommend this TV!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Wow amazing picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 10 June 2021 by Ellyn m (USA)

Recieved this product few days ago .I cant say enough good things about this tv.picture is so clear .and the functions on this are amazing . Very easy to hook up even for me .very sturdy bass so no worries about it tipping over..its a beautiful tv. Remote is easy to use .I cant reccomend this enough to family friends and everyone. Great product for the cost .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Beautiful Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 10 June 2021 by 66rip (USA)

I was really terrified of the TV, electronic phobia, I was afraid that the set up was going to be difficult. Not so. I was super easy with less to plug into the back and an easy process to go through the startup on screen. Thank you from someone who doesn't have a lot of experience with electronics. We are truly enjoying the quality of this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

impressive picture & sound

55" class (54.6" diag) 10 June 2021 by heathermthomas (USA)

Gotta say we’re very impressed right out of the box with the Sony X90J 55” LED 4K Ultra HD Smart Google TV with Dolby Vision HDR and Alexa … it’s sleek and well packaged, even having the cardboard over the display. The picture is incredibly clear, very sharp and the colors are super vivid. It’s a far superior TV. We are stoked with this TV. It's fun to watch movies and we can stream or watch any of our DVDs that are 4K Ultra HD and get the benefit of the picture quality. It has XR contrast booster & Sony’s full array LED which control brightness, and control contrast and deep blacks, which brings out real-life detail and incredible picture quality, this is key here. The out of the box color calibration is on par, totally clear picture with boosts of color. And it has, the cognitive processor XR which uses powerful real-time processing for a more real life picture. The TV has ambient optimization option which changes your screen based on the ambient lighting in the room, I really like this feature as it helps reduce any strain only our eyes. The optimization controls brightness and tones. The sound is outta this world. Best in-sound we’ve heard. Plays movies like you’re in the theater. When someone is on the left in the show playing, it plays from the left side of the the TV, just like surround sound. We have a sound bar as well, but it’s truly not needed with this TV. The GoogleTV interface seems so much better, and operates more quickly than other interfaces. It combines your cable, satellite media etc and puts all of the different things that you have been watching in one place. Great amount of apps included with the Google TV, including the streaming apps like YouTube TV, Prime Video and Netflix. When we set up the WiFi it was simple. We have Alexa all over our home, it’s awesome that we can integrate this TV. Using voice control is great! Just like with any technology really, there are moments when it doesn’t capture the voice control. We mounted on the wall, with a full motion wall mount, the TV is on the thinner side and definitely lighter than I expected for a 55” TV. And haven’t noticed any glare, so bonus there! 4 HDMI and USB ports are placed in a nice spot on the back of the TV for easy access. It has HDMI 2.1, which is needed for upcoming gaming. Totally prepared for the future due to new ATSC mode, gaming features outputs. The remote is comfortable, thin and longer in size, it also has a listen feature that you can search with which is super convenient but it doesn’t have any backlighting, so a little hard to see at night Overall, we’re stoked with the TV, watching movies with the family just got better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Awesome!

55" class (54.6" diag) 09 June 2021 by TacoAnthony (USA)

This is a great TV. The smart apps like Netflix actually work! The first smart TVs on the market were hit or miss when it came to their smart apps. These work! The TV itself is great, sharp picture especially rich when you have 4K content. Recommended!

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Awesome TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 09 June 2021 by Thecoolmom (USA)

I am so happy with my new Sony TV. I can definitely tell it’s an upgrade from my other TVs. The picture quality is so bright and crisp. The colors are vivid and vibrant. The speed it great and keeps up well with any sporting event. I haven’t tried it with video games yet but I’d expect the same. My TV is in the family room with windows and I haven’t had any problem with glare or too much light like with my old TV. I really like that the Google TV is connected to the TV, it made set up super easy to connect to apps! The remote also has an easy access button to YouTube, Netflix, Disney, and Prime Video. It’s nice not having a second Apple TV/Chromecast to worry about. Less wires the better for me! Set up was a breeze. We mounted it on ours wall with out old mount. Easy! You may need 2 people just in case. It may be a challenge w just one person. Overall I am very impressed with this TV. It is my nicest TV yet! No complaints!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Works Great For PC Gaming

55" class (54.6" diag) 08 June 2021 by Roma Girl (USA)

I got this TV about a month ago and so far it works great! I use it almost 100% for PC gaming, internet and YouTube. When I first got it, I was a little concerned because when this originally came out, I saw some reviews that complained of lag when gaming which later required an update to fix. However, when I went through the initial set up, it included updating the software automatically and in the month I've owned it, I've never had any issues at all. I'm currently playing Assassin's Creed Valhalla on max settings. I use an HDMI 2.1 cable (the port is also 2.1) and it runs really smoothly without any issues. One small downfall is that there is only 1 HDMI port. For me, that doesn't really matter since I have this TV pretty much dedicated to my gaming PC, but for anyone who wants to hook up more than 1 device, you'll have to get a splitter. I've been pretty impressed with the built in "surround sound" as it works really great, considering it all comes out of the TV. While it isn't 100% "true" surround sound, it's pretty darn close and you don't have to buy any external speakers. You calibrate it at set-up and it's really easy to do. You get a lot of options for fine tuning everything depending on what you use the TV most for and what's important to you. Although, I just used the auto set-up feature to do all of the intial set-up/feature programming and it's been perfectly fine. The picture looks really good both in games and when watching YouTube and I haven't experienced any noticeable blooming. Another important thing - the black is black. It's not grayed out at all. I haven't really used it to watch any full feature length movies, yet- only YouTube. There is a built in YouTube tv feature, but I prefer to use it through the PC, since I do everything else that way anyway. There's also "hot keys" on the remote for Netflix, Disney Plus, and Amazon Watch, as well, if you have any of those accounts. You can also use it with Google TV. Included is a free trial of Sony's Bravia Core, which is a streaming movie service that uses IMAX enhanced, if you're into that sort of thing. So far, I've been extremely happy with TV and it's flawless performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 08 June 2021 by Foulair (USA)

We received a 55 inch tv to replace a 40 inch Sony smart tv in our bedroom. What a difference! This tv has made. The picture is so clear and precise. The color tones are great. The sound it also much better than I expected, even without a sound bar. The controller makes it so easy to go to a number of our streaming services. The fact that it is a blue tooth controller also makes it easier to use. No more trying to get the angle just right to get to our satellite service box. Could not be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Excellent tv!

55" class (54.6" diag) 08 June 2021 by heart38beat (USA)

I can't say enough good things about this smart tv. This is the perfect size for our living room, the picture is amazing and the sound is spot on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Extremely Excellent Features

55" class (54.6" diag) 08 June 2021 by CaliR (USA)

The X90J Bravia XR Full Array LED 4K Ultra HD High Dynamic Range (HDR) Smart TV (Google TV) is extremely everything and more. This Sony Bravia XR Full Array 4K Ultra HD High Dynamic Range HDR Smart TV Google TV High Quality picture screen is so clean and clear and so big that it reminds of actually being in a movie theater. The High Quality sound is also very clear. What I like alot about the Sony Bravia Smart TV is that it recognizes when my Sony Playstation 4 is being connected to it. I can also use the Sony Bravia Smart TV's remote to work on my PlayStation 4 that's really cool. The remote also has multiple app buttons installed on it for example it has YouTube, Disney, Netflix, and Amazon Prime Video and there is another button installed on the remote for extra apps that are not listed on the remote but are listed on the TV. The remote is very long and thin which makes it more comfortable to me when I'm using it. The Sony Bravia XR Full Array LED 4K Ultra HD High Dynamic Range HDR Smart TV Google TV has extremely Excellent Features and has the most beautiful picture screen then any TV that I have ever owned. I absolutely love the Sony Bravia XR Full Array LED 4K Ultra HD High Dynamic Range HDR Smart TV Google TV is so wonderful it has everything I need and more in a TV. I give it an A+++++ a rating of 5 stars they really did an excellent job creating this TV it is extremely amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing value for the price

55" class (54.6" diag) 07 June 2021 by YellowZ06 (USA)

It's been a week since I got the Sony X90J and I am just impressed with the quality of he picture. Watching our favorite shows on 4K has never been this good. Also it comes we great features like steaming Airplay 2 from your phone or iPad and connecting to our Alexa. We also noticed the it has great viewing angle along with loud and crisp audio. Can't believe how far technology has gone. Would highly recommend the X90J.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Awesome

55" class (54.6" diag) 07 June 2021 by Moore36 (USA)

I love this tv, easy to set up, but not o lay that, the volume is so clear and loud even on a low setting. The picture quality is even better. The fact I did not have to log in to any of my accounts netflix etc, was amazing in itself.. It automatically gave me options of which account to choose, then boom no signing in.. Love it..Great Tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Fantastic tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 07 June 2021 by Jrlrod54 (USA)

Sony bravia X90J has amazing picture quality. Also fantastic surround sound. Comes with different apps. Its internet ready. There's so much amazing things about this tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Smooth UI experience

164 cm (65") 06 June 2021 by FongXiii (Singapore)

The 2021 gen is really good as it’s much smoother than the previous gen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV with tons of apps

55" class (54.6" diag) 06 June 2021 by cleargaming (USA)

This TV has a great picture the colors are true and the blacks are dark with no light spots or bleeding. The TV is easy to setup and the remote is easy to program to control all the connected devices. The TV works great for gaming with a sharp clear picture and well defined shadows with no noticeable lag or shuddering. The TV has a guide that has movies and shows on different apps all on the home screen. The remote is great I replaced 4 remotes with just the one that came with the tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great picture quality

55" class (54.6" diag) 06 June 2021 by Journey9125 (USA)

I absolutely love this tv! It was easy to set up and it’s easy to use. The picture quality is amazing as the colors are very vibrant and rich. The sound is very impressive. I feel like I’m in my own personal theater. The smart features are very easy to use and I love that it comes with Google Assistant and Apple AirPlay. Overall I feel that this television is very well made and provides excellent color, sound and picture. I highly recommend it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Awesome

55" class (54.6" diag) 06 June 2021 by Vileigh (USA)

This Bravia XR full array LED ultra HD dynamic range HDR Smart TV (Google TV) is just beyond words. The directions for setting it up are easy to follow and doesn't really take that long to set up. You do not really need a surround sound system added to this because the volume on the TV already makes it seem like you are in a movie theater especially in a smaller room. The color and picture is just amazing with crisp and clear viewing of anything that you may want to watch. The TV does not really need anything extra to stabilize itself because it is pretty sturdy all on its own. The remote is the right size and you will not be losing it or having to search for it. You can add your favorite TV apps right to the TV and some apps are already on the remote which makes finding them easier and quicker to turn on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0