$499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
119

3.7 based on 119 customer reviews

40
37
21
8
13
Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Device let down by small battery

16GB 13 February 2021 by NukeYourNanny (United Kingdom)

Everything about this device is stellar from the listening experience and having lots of settings to tweak the music at your fingertips. However for some reason shuffle is hidden in the settings? Which makes no sense as its a feature that i find is used more often than loop track. Also the battery life is less than expected from a device that is designed to be able to connect to the internet. When all battery saving modes are turned on it only lasts about 2 days with small amounts of use. A beefier battery would go really far to make it a better product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Lovely device but could be so much better.

16GB 25 May 2021 by CJB Kent (United Kingdom)

I bought this as it was Android based and I was hoping to exploit some of the Android apps. Positives. Nice design and usability, ability to integrate with Amazon Music HD. Sound quality very good, ease of use very good. Negatives. Batter life is very poor, nowhere near the expected levels even with most non-essential functions disables. Does not support Android Auto (very disappointing). This should be addressed so I can use my car's screen to manage music whilst driving and use the device hands free.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

119 Customer Reviews

0

Quality product BUT why so complicated?

16GB 10 January 2022 by Desa2022 (United Kingdom)

Bought for wife at Christmas. Not as simple to fill with music as you would think. It has taken too long to get to grips with the manual and to load the player with songs. Sound quality is (as always with Sony) Brilliant, but the included manual leaves a lot to be desired! Just about got to grips with the functionality of it now. Now to see if the wife can get to play the songs she wants from the menus!! Would have given 5*, and recommended to a friend, but for the lack of ease of use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Too many pre installed apps.

16GB 08 January 2022 by Passat Man (United Kingdom)

Sturdy good quality product,but too much memory space taken up by pre installed apps that cannot be deleted. Advertised as 16Gb, but less than 5Gb available for music storage which is the main purpose of purchasing this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound

16GB 40th Anniversary model 08 January 2022 by Andy 61 (United Kingdom)

I've had this now a few months and I am more than happy with the product great sound quality easy to use and able to exstead the memory so that you can store more music and videos

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good, but not perfect!

16GB 05 January 2022 by Lloydy52 (United Kingdom)

This is a great little device for storing music and playing in the car, which is what I bought it for. Unfortunately it won't link to my VW using the MDI interface and I can only have one Bluetooth device at a time. Whether the issue is with the VW or Sony end I'm not sure but it won't do what I want. As a replacement for my old iPod it is good, compact and easy to use and it certainly offers more features, although you need an SD card to get anywhere near iPod capacity. The Sony Music centre is rudimentary but it works well enough. Would be good f it altered you to duplicate entries on the device... Having now realised that this is essentially an Android phone without a SIM card I could probably have used a basic phone for the same purpose and saved quite a bit of money!

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not for me

16GB 04 January 2022 by Jayne of Suffolk (United Kingdom)

This was a gift. Unfortunately, as an older person I found this music device far too complicated. Why the google? I do not need google maps or google anything on my music player.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent design

32GB with headphone 31 December 2021 by Rogercool (Singapore)

Well design ease of use handy connects well with other media

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best hi-res song player

16GB 15 December 2021 by Janos Szabadi (United Kingdom)

I bought one month ago. The best hi-res sound player

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound

16GB 14 December 2021 by Roger the Pedant (United Kingdom)

Since a bought myself a Sony WF-1000XM4 I'd been pondering adding the ideal partner. I'm glad I took the plunge and bought the A105. It's diminutive - smaller than I expected even though I knew the dimensions. I feel Sony missed a trick here and could have made it the size of Compact Cassette case which would still have made it pocket friendly and enabled a larger battery. The battery has had some criticism from other buyers. I've not had it run flat yet but could see that happening on a long flight for example. The again most of us carry auxiliary power supplies of some sort. Anyway, the sound quality through the earbuds is great. I'm using LDAC direct. The volume for most of my FLAC rips is fine; all depends on the original really. Hi-Res sounds amazing. I like the software player - it's neat and tidy. The cassette tape screen is a lovely novelty. I do wish Sony made an official case for it of some sort.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great MP3.

16GB 05 December 2021 by OCCB (United Kingdom)

Small but with big features. Coupled with Sony WF-1000XM3 Ear Headset gives wonderful clear sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great mp3 that i've ever bought.

16GB 26 November 2021  (Singapore)

A great mp3 with android app that acts like your mini mobile phone. Easy to use and good sound quality. Plus a headphone jack. One drawbacks is that internal storage is limited for a 16gb as most "important" apps used up nearly half the space. Battery life isnt so great either but it can survive for a number of trips. Overall great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY NW-A105 Walkman The One and Only SONY

16 GB 24 November 2021 by Term 7217 (USA)

I bought my Walkman in April, 2021, it's now November. I haven't had one problem. The only issue I have with the Walkman is, I the side buttons would have a more pronounced texture identification. I have eyesight issues and I have a problem telling one button from the others. Other than that I would recommend whole heartedly the SONY Walkman NW-A105. One other thing, like all other electronics, I wish the price wouldn't be so high...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Small and Convenient

32GB with headphone 14 November 2021 by VBlaster_W211 (Singapore)

Great Walkman nostalgia in a email portable package. Convenient and software is easy to use. Hope Sony increases the battery capacity for next iteration. Also, pls bring in special editions like the demon slayer versions from Japan!

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely Walkman

16GB 13 November 2021 by arci90 (United Kingdom)

Love the walkman, It has a nice build quality to it, and the audio is great. My issues with this is that it's Android (thus, limited storage space, making me have to buy a new micro-SD), and that it's battery life is not great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excelent purchase

16GB 28 October 2021 by Haemo_Goblin_456 (United Kingdom)

Advertised as having 16GB of data, but does not make it clear the OS Android 9 uses 10GB of data, however, I have ordered a 128GB microSD card and will put all my downloads on there as it was telling it was full! This is not an issue for me as I will use my MicroSD card as storage space for mp3 and podcasts.I signed up with spotify and use it offline and it works like a dream but some settings need to be switched off or reduced such as the display, NFC and bluetooth as the lithium ion battery only lasts a short length of time which I think is temporary until I have used it let it run flat then recharge the battery a few times usually improves the longevity of Lithium ion batteries. Despite the battery and disk space I am actually quite pleased with it. The Sony Walkman is a nice size with a good weight, easy to use as its running android 9.0, the audio is amazing though it does get very warm if its in a pocket close to your skin. I put in it its case in a waist bag Bluetooth was off to save battery power and it continued to play whilst I was clearing out my loft, but would have been far better with wireless ear olugs instead of wiredmones as the earphone wire was catching on the beams and other items! I purchased the Sony Wallkman to listen to MP3s and podcasts and so far I am very happy with it and consider this to be a good purchase. The Sony walkman A105 is smaller than a Samsung phone and is easy to operate with one hand even if your hands are small like mine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good thumpy sound

16GB 10 October 2021 by ojahat (Singapore)

Enjoying this device. Wanted a better sounding alternative than my phone and this checks the box for the price range. Sounds incredible paired with the XM4. Nice full bass and wider soundstage spectrum. Makes you want to listen more. Also big plus to the physical manual buttons and overall solid build. Now, is it perfect? Nope. Things I wished were better (and hopfully can be developed soon)v: - the residing Sony Music Player is dated and clunky with very little tweaking functionality. Tag reading is also jittery. I switched to MediaMonkey since its an android device.. - by far (far far) the biggest peeve is the battery life. I use BT earbuds and this just sucks the life out of this unit. You can see the battery bar ticking down like a time bomb. So, note that we are talking perhaps 5 hours playing time max from a full charge. In short, it is certainly now a necessity to charge the player regularly throught a single day. No good and l wish this could be addressed and fixed to get at least 12 hour mileage ie for a long flight. SO, its still a nett plus for me for now but admittedly, it is not for everyone.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sound Quality, Build Quality, Ease of Set up and U

16GB 08 October 2021 by Fireblade Pete (United Kingdom)

First off, I have to say that I am extremely pleased with my purchase. It has been given a full road test whilst on holiday last week, paired to either a set of Sony WH1000XM4s in both wired and wireless mode, and a set of ultra revealing wired KZ ZS10 Pro ear buds, listening to Downloaded Amazon Music HD format. Across all the criteria, bass, midrange, treble, volume... top marks. Therefore, pleased. That’s why I bought this. Easy set up and feels like a quality bit of kit. Before purchasing, I had read about the poor battery life, and yes, if you are continuously listening to streamed content, using the wifi and Bluetooth options, the battery will deplete, some may say, unsatisfactorily. I bought this for off line listening, while about the house, garage, in the car or whilst in flight or on the beach, so for me 8 hrs of battery is just fine. For streaming through the domestic hi fi, I’ll stick with a dedicated separate hi fi streamer. Recommended, for sure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Product

16GB 07 October 2021 by Chrisvjoy (United Kingdom)

Great product - does everything I expected. One small complaint - does not hold anywhere near the number of songs claimed. Had to ad a mini SD card which solved the problem (about £20 for 128Gb).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound. Poor battery.

16GB 02 October 2021 by Rog N (United Kingdom)

Bought to go with my new Sony wireless earbuds. Great sound and stable Bluetooth connection. Good Wi Fi connection. Looks and feels solid. Downsides are - incredibly slow to boot up, poor battery life, clunky android. Memory is tiny! At least it's expandable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Poor Battery

16GB 01 October 2021 by Mykle (United Kingdom)

The only problem is that it uses 20% of the battery for a 45 minute walk with the dog using bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great !

32GB with headphone 23 September 2021 by Bean Walking (Singapore)

Suggest also supply a protective rubber/silicon cover to protect from accidental drops.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent DAP, but a bit expensive for what it offers

16GB 21 September 2021 by neilbaner (Singapore)

Pros: Battery life when playing local files is excellent. Very compact and portable. Physical buttons are very convenient. Build quality is outstanding. Display is high quality (though not as good as Xperia phones of course). Cons: No Bluetooth receiver mode or FM Radio like the A55. Moderate amount of hiss when using sensitive IEMs. Hardware not powerful enough to run apps like Spotify smoothly, takes long time to open/search/download etc. Default Music app has trouble with cover artwork and doesn't always display correctly. Powers on whenever connected to charger. Output power is very low and insufficient for demanding headphones.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Just brilliant in every respect I am so glad I did

16GB 20 September 2021 by dabbs (United Kingdom)

so quick to get used to but find that it gets very hot in the hand after a while so place it on a unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top quality music performer

16GB 12 September 2021 by Stephen BP (United Kingdom)

I bought a ‘cheap’ music player and found that it’s Bluetooth simply wouldn’t drive my Bose speaker. I sent it back and got this. The menus are intuitive and I soon got to grips with it. It took me a minute to realise that I needed to download software to copy my music from my PC but once I’d done this it was easy. The keyboard is a little tiny and it’s easy to miss key but I soon got used to it. The other player was determined to shuffle my tracks. This is annoying when you want to play an album. No problem with this. Connection to my Bluetooth speaker was simple and the quality of the reproduction is immaculate. All together worth the extra money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

wanted more memory for music

16GB 09 September 2021 by meoryou (United Kingdom)

i have been really pleased with my 3 previous walkman devices and as previously only bought this because i needed more memory but what do i get....a device with internet+ apps+ radio+ videos+photos+ amything else that is on a smartphone when all i want is music to play all night and in my cr. not onlt that but unlike previous versions it will not access my music and plsaylists on microsoft player so had to download an unwanted sony music centre and transfer music over then wade through my many artists and albums to recreate the playlists i use when all previous walkman devices have done the job in minutes.. as and when or if i ever get finished i might give a review on the performance

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3