$999.00

(AUD inc. GST)
28

4.3 based on 28 customer reviews

17
5
4
1
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

A New Listening Experience

SRS-X99 28 January 2016 by PixAl (United Kingdom)

I needed to de-clutter my work room at home but still wanted a high quality source of music. This speaker seemed to fit the job, being much smaller than my current "second system" stacked on top of a cupboard. I had planned to use it in conjunction with my recently-purchased NW-ZX100 High Res Walkman via a Bluetooth connection. Upon receipt of the speaker, l was struck by its physical weight. It feels like a serious piece of kit. Once plugged in, l made the Bluetooth connection to my Walkman in seconds and off l went. It was so easy to set up. I left the speaker playing music for an hour or two before l started listening seriously. (All hi-fi needs a warm-up period) I was impressed immediately with its detailed and punchy sound. Having lived with the speaker now for a couple of weeks l can only say that l am very content. All my High Res Audio files sound amazing - rich, full of life and very tuneful. Perhaps even more impressive is the way it handles CD-quality files. It can upscale the sound and the results are rather good. The old adage applies, "garbage in, garbage out", but, given the best recordings, this speaker can deliver the goods. It can go really loud - too loud for my work space - but does not distort in any way. Treble highs really sparkle while bass remains taut and musical. I am yet to use the USB-B socket but all other links, wireless or otherwise, are working perfectly. This is a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Problems with Wi-Fi and internet connection.

SRS-X99 29 December 2015  (United Kingdom)

Sounds great, but drops Wi-Fi and internet connections after 2 - 60 minutes. Still trying to solve this after 2 weeks. These connections are essential for multiroom operation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

28 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent, Superb --- Just go for it

SRS-X99 17 May 2018 by fensha80 (Australia)

I purchased this device around year back, excellent voice quality, multiple connectivity options, great impact. I love my X99 :)

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best sound quality

SRS-X99 20 March 2018 by Mickey84 (Australia)

The sony srs-x99 has the best sound quality ever thanks to the hi resolution audio. It's looks the best very stylish. The price is a little bit expensive but worth it for the sound and look of it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone to buy it.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

No HDMI arc

SRS-X99 11 December 2017 by Neo_1 (USA)

Why does such a big speaker not have an HDMI port while its lower models do!?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

9

0

the perfect Bluetooth speaker

SRS-X99 23 November 2017 by Benjamin369 (USA)

I’ve had this speaker for a few months, and have not been disappointed in any way! The battery life is phenomenal and the sound quality is honestly the best I’ve heard from a wireless speaker. It’s big but not so big that it’s inconvenient to carry around. It’s kind of expensive for sure, but it pays off! This speaker is super durable and has not shown any signs of breaking or slowing down. It’s loud enough to be heard in pretty much any environment. I would recommend to any of my friends or family!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

average

SRS-X99 24 September 2017 by jcoltatg (United Kingdom)

I bought this speaker 15 days ago and the sound is not bad I listen hi-res music and i expect more powerfull speaker than this speaker

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great sound, many features and design

SRS-X99 05 September 2017  (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago. I already have the SRS X88, which is excellent but less powerful. I wanted a rounder sound with multi room capability, but not all the wiring. It also links easily with both Sony and other devices including Android, Apple and Amazon.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Product

srsx99 02 February 2017 by Hanz327 (USA)

I researched all bluetooth / wifi speakers before I purchased this. For my situation I felt this was the best product. It has excellent sound, great bass and really fills the room. Not to mention Sony is a company that is know to produce top of the line products at great prices. Very good value product. I read some reviews about people not happy with the bass response. Bass response is very good, but as an alternative solution you could purchase the Sony SA-CS9, which is a 10" 115W powered subwoofer. It's not wireless, but you could purchase a Google Chromecast Audio device and hook it up to the RCA plugs on the subwoofer. Sony Songpal app is compatible with Google Chromecast, so you could stream audio to both devices and I guarantee your ears will ring with the subs frequency response of 28–200 Hz. While the frequency response of the SRS-X99 is only 45–40,000, 20 being the lowest frequency the human ear can detect, it is still very good considering the size and purpose of this speaker system. The overall form factor is much smaller than I anticipated. I ran some subwoofer bass tests on youtube and am blown away by the volume and frequency response of this compact system. Product was shipped with the wrong power cord and the installation documentation is not in English. Now days most electronic products are designed for international use since it's cheaper than having multiple models for different markets. More specifically, most products have automatic power switching between 110v and 220v, so you don't need a converter, just an outlet adapter. While the product was shipped with a cord for 220v use, when I read the label on the bottom of the speaker it indicates it only operates at 220v. So I called Sony support and when they looked up the serial number, they indicated the label on the device was wrong. I borrowed a power cord from someone, and voila, the device powered up with no problem. I requested a credit from sell so I can purchase the correct cord. Connecting via Bluetooth was very easy, but to connect speaker to your wireless router with an iOS device is proving to be a little more difficult since they aren't NFC compliant. This is regarding the step in the instructions where you tap your phone to the "N" on the top of the speaker. This will transfer wireless router SSID and PW to the speaker automatically. However, without an NFC compliant wireless device, you will need to connect to the speaker with a computer via network cable to manually enter your wireless router SSID and password.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Awesome power and clarity

SRS-X99 01 November 2016 by Ubberhead (United Kingdom)

I bought this to work with my sony Soundbar as a multi room system and it doesn't fail to deliver excellent system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound.

SRS-X99 13 October 2016 by Tricky56 (United Kingdom)

I listened to various small units but this larger model packs a bigger punch - though positioning close to a wall is needed to bring out the solid bass. The X99 delivers a clean, crisp sound. Easy to use with the SongPal app.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Everything that you expect from a speaker

SRS-X99 08 October 2016 by Sumit (Australia)

It's just been 2 days since I got it, and I've already thrown away all 3 of my previous speakers. This is the mother of all, a combination of the best in sound and features. Unmatched in our generation so far!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Fantastic sound for such a small device

SRS-X99 13 September 2016 by ScottyAU (Australia)

Whilst this is by no means a tiny portable speaker, the sound it produces for the size is superb. Unlike some Sony products which focus more on room-filling bass than actual music quality, this unit sounds fantastic and yet is still capable of cranking up without distortion when you do want the extra volume. Very expensive, but if you want a compact unit with plenty of connectivity options it's hard to go past this one. The only design negative for me is the glossy upper attracts and shows dust very easily.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Amazing! I love the X99!

SRS-X99 01 September 2016 by Jackie Wang (Australia)

I used this speaker at a family party of about 100 people and it filled the room with great clarity and bass. I highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a premium and well built speaker. The price is slightly high but in terms of value for money, I think it's worth every penny.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Speakers of the House

SRS-X99 24 August 2016 by meno45 (United Kingdom)

I already owned an SRS-X77 Sony speaker (which I also highly recommend), and was looking for another wireless Sony speaker to place in my lounge. I finally convinced myself to buy the SRS-X99, and I am so glad I did. I work from home and like to listen to music while working, and now have the same music playing from my PC, X77, X99, and my Sony AV receiver throughout the house via Airplay. Using the SongPal app, I grouped the X77 and X99 together to allow me to use Spotify (via wifi) simultaneously through both speakers at the same time. The sound quality of the speaker itself is superb - crystal clear without an over powering bass note. The build quality is also superb, the speaker has a reassuring heft to it along with a sturdy casing. The user buttons light up when your hand is close to the top surface, you don't need to touch it to activate the lights - a nice touch by Sony. Setting up the speaker was straightforward. I used the SongPal app and followed the setup instructions to add the speaker to my wifi network, it was very simple. I ran a test of music via Bluetooth versus wifi and wifi wins easily, so if you do buy a wireless speaker, make sure to get one that can be accessed via your wifi network for better sound reproduction. I haven't tested the USB A & B connectivity or HiRes playback, I'm sure other reviews will have some feedback for those subjects. Overall, highly recommended by me. I fully expect to be enjoying music via this speaker for a long long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

need more bass

SRS-X99 23 August 2016 by elvis presley (United Kingdom)

good audio need little more bass lovely looking audio

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Beautiful design , exellent sound

SRS-X99 09 July 2016 by Ribot (United Kingdom)

Clear dynamic sound esp for classical music Variety of options for streaming google cast,airplay,bluetooth. Already have naim muso,difference ? Muso louder great sound Sony crisp clear sound Both good and different.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Sony SRS X99.

SRS-X99 22 May 2016 by Wrightro (United Kingdom)

Beautiful quality. Fantastic Sound!! Lovely design!! Sound much better than Sonos and most other streaming speakers. Not very straightforward to set up each time!! Bluetooth and Wi-fi have a tendency to drop out!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

0

A superb quality sound system

SRS-X99 01 May 2016 by Toddler (United Kingdom)

I bought this along with another x99 and an x77 to provide music in our living areas. First of all the multi room system is fantastic and easy to use. Having tried all the multi room speakers in the shop we decided that the x99 had the best mix of sound and aesthetics. The sound is fantastic with a deep bass and consistent sound even at high volumes. The speaker looks great also especially with the front cover off so that you can see the speakers pounding when you pump the volume up. Altogether a great product whether using the multi room or connecting to a single speaker via Nfc. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony speaker

SRS-X99 27 March 2016 by Malty1 (United Kingdom)

Not happy with this item wish I hadn't purchased it

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

39

0

Amazing sound quality!

SRS-X99 26 February 2016 by Shezzy (United Kingdom)

Sound is so much better than hoped for. Really impressed with the smooth detailed audio. Well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sony - Wireless Speaker

SRS-X99 06 February 2016 by PJCosta (United Kingdom)

I bought this product one month ago and we are loving it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

A New Listening Experience

SRS-X99 28 January 2016 by PixAl (United Kingdom)

I needed to de-clutter my work room at home but still wanted a high quality source of music. This speaker seemed to fit the job, being much smaller than my current "second system" stacked on top of a cupboard. I had planned to use it in conjunction with my recently-purchased NW-ZX100 High Res Walkman via a Bluetooth connection. Upon receipt of the speaker, l was struck by its physical weight. It feels like a serious piece of kit. Once plugged in, l made the Bluetooth connection to my Walkman in seconds and off l went. It was so easy to set up. I left the speaker playing music for an hour or two before l started listening seriously. (All hi-fi needs a warm-up period) I was impressed immediately with its detailed and punchy sound. Having lived with the speaker now for a couple of weeks l can only say that l am very content. All my High Res Audio files sound amazing - rich, full of life and very tuneful. Perhaps even more impressive is the way it handles CD-quality files. It can upscale the sound and the results are rather good. The old adage applies, "garbage in, garbage out", but, given the best recordings, this speaker can deliver the goods. It can go really loud - too loud for my work space - but does not distort in any way. Treble highs really sparkle while bass remains taut and musical. I am yet to use the USB-B socket but all other links, wireless or otherwise, are working perfectly. This is a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Could be so much better.

SRS-X99 05 January 2016 by Very unhappy (United Kingdom)

I brought this speaker 1st then the Sony HT-NT3 and was planning to buy additional speaker for other room's. Both the Speakers have impressive sound and could not be happier with the sound or the Bluetooth conectivity, but the moment I tried to connect to Wi-Fi the hole experience changed would not accept Wi-Fi code. Managed to connect via IPad but the Songpal app has been a complete nightmare and very glitchy and music play back stops frequently. If you want a multy room system DO NOT BUY, as individual units they are very good. Overall very disappointed, I have wasted far too much of my life trying to get this to work properly. It should not take an hour to get both speakers playing the same music. These are not cheap and expected better for the cost and from SONY. May only req a better app to control devices ???. and woul like to hear from SONY

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

7

0

Problems with Wi-Fi and internet connection.

SRS-X99 29 December 2015  (United Kingdom)

Sounds great, but drops Wi-Fi and internet connections after 2 - 60 minutes. Still trying to solve this after 2 weeks. These connections are essential for multiroom operation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

srs-x99

SRS-X99 22 December 2015 by warwickk (United Kingdom)

It could have used an optical input and an audio output for wireless earphones. Unless of course there is some configuration of adaptors currently unknown to me that will satisfy this?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

9