$399.00

(AUD inc. GST)
210

4.8 based on 210 customer reviews

174
29
4
2
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony xb43 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker Review

SRS-XB43 13 January 2021 by Music Buff (USA)

The xb43 is a great speaker! Buy one! or two! First I'll tell you why I'm writing this. I originally bought the xb33 and after using it daily for a couple of months, I feel it is excellent for its size, design and features. It's the perfect speaker for taking to the beach, to the pool or on a hike. It's light, under 2 1/2 pounds, waterproof/dustproof (ip67), USB C, Bluetooth 5, LDAC (more on that later), lasts quite a while on a charge and provides plenty of good sound. For my tastes, it's a lot better sound than my Charge 3, which is now collecting dust. The volume on the xb33 goes up higher than you'd think for a small devise; too high for me to listen to at full blast, that, by the way did not distort even at full volume (not a plug, it's true). But at all volumes the sound is not a stereo sound, even with LIVE activated (which gave it a little more depth). It is a stereo speaker it just doesn’t sound full. So I ordered the xb43 to use with the xb33 as a stereo pair. Alas, I did not read enough about them. My bad, because to hear stereo from two Sony xb speakers, Sony requires two EXACTLY the same speakers. So two xb33's or two xb43's. You can however use a xb33 and xb43 together in Party Connect mode, which sounds pretty good, but still lacks the separation that you get from true stereo. By the way the xb43 sounds a lot better than the xb33, really, a lot better. But, even though the xb43 has a good sound stage, the stereo separation still runs short due to the close proximity of the speakers in this type of portable speaker. I'm sure that's true with all portable Bluetooth speakers. I would like to add that I’m writing this after I got my second xb43. Choosing the xb43 as the second speaker was a decision made easy when both speakers went on sale and the difference in price was only $30. If they weren't on sale, I probably would have gotten another xb33 to complete the stereo pair. The xb33 is so much lighter and smaller than it's big brother, which makes it easier to tote to the beach, etc. Now, besides having used these speakers in all combinations outdoors, I also use them daily in the bathroom when I shower, etc. They are quite powerful AND what I like best is that I can put them in STEREO mode, which is quick and easy. I turn them both on, they each tell me the amount of charge left and say "Left" and "Right", then they turn on my Music and then I say "WOW, THAT SOUNDS GREAT, I finally have a full clean sounding nice wide stereo soundstage". Thank you Sony! Now, would I pay $500 for the pair? ???, but I would HIGHLY recommend buying a pair when they are on sale. I still might buy another xb33 if the price ever gets down to a C note, where I think is the sweet spot for this category of portable Bluetooth speaker. If I do get another xb33 I'll write a review about its stereo sound compared to the xb43's. I hear a lot about LDAC, which on paper looks great, but in reality is only useful when there are no other wireless signals around. In my house with Wi-Fi it barely connects, but outside it worked fine. Honestly, I couldn't tell the difference in quality between LDAC and SBC on either speaker, but it's nice to know it's there, even though I can't get LDAC to work on my S20 when I'm in stereo mode. Sadly, Sony doesn't support the Qualcomm codecs. Most of the Music I listen to are CD rips to mp3's at 192 bitrate, while some of my newer rips are 320 bitrate mp3's and a few are FLAC. My Music ranges from Pop, Rock, Reggae, Blues and Country to Classical and a bit of Jazz. All sound great in stereo on the two xb43's. I use them standing upright where they take up little space, and separate them by about 4 feet. PS: The lights are a nice touch and well done, although I rarely use them. Maybe this year when I can party with people again I will turn on the lights to celebrate. Let's dance! (and sing in the shower!)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Dissapointed

SRS-XB43 03 December 2020 by arsyn (Malaysia)

Am very dissapointed with this model. I thought the sound would surpass my old XB41 but its sound tinny/mute to my liking. And i dont know whether its a bug or my unit is defected, everytime i turn up volume up to 50% the speaker will sound distort. Such a pity for a latest model with solid design but low sound quality

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

210 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic Sound

SRS-XB43 09 January 2022 by Karlos67 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a Bluetooth speaker with plenty of 'oomph' and considered the lower-spec XB33 before taking the plunge on the XB43 and I haven't been disappointed. The sound is huge, especially with Extra Bass enabled, and the music comes out crystal clear whatever the environment. I find the light effects a bit gimmicky on the whole, but when my daughter had her little mates round for a party they thought that was the best feature! On a side note, I think the blue colour-scheme is really classy. I'm getting excellent playback battery life (obviously, the lightshow make a difference if you switch it on) and Bluetooth connectivity is rock-solid.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Small Speaker - Don't bother using the App

SRS-XB43 05 January 2022 by Brian537 (United Kingdom)

I got this as Xmas present & for a small speaker the sound is great. The recommended App however is useless, I couldn't even finish one song, let alone an album. Just linked with Bluetooth & it works fine (may have been better with an app that works - who knows?)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

SRS-XB43 03 January 2022 by BOB the Boss (United Kingdom)

I wish it could be controlled by a remote. Other than that it great to listen to my Sony deck and Vinyl

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great gear

SRS-XB43 24 December 2021 by Alex_1961 (United Kingdom)

Compact, powerful, easy to use, Sony never let me down

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY XB43

SRS-XB43/CC SP6 22 December 2021 by Better than BOSE (Singapore)

Bought it to replace Bose with much hesitance in the beginning, not sure if it would perform better.....guess what....it's even better !

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Balanced sound, top battery

SRS-XB43 17 December 2021 by acidcrime (United Kingdom)

Excellent and balanced sound. Bought two of the speakers and use them in stereo pair mode. The battery life is also great. The light effects I do not use and can fortunately be turned off. Five things that I find a pity: Personal EQ settings can not be saved in the app or on the device; in stereo pair mode, no HD LDAC codec is supported (but the sound is good even without LDAC); if the 3.5mm jack input is used as a source, no stereo pair mode is possible; no aptX codecs are supported; the device can almost not be carried with one hand (because of size, weight and shape), there is no carrying handle and no possibility to attach a carrying strap.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great machine !

SRS-XB43 15 December 2021 by liliBerg (United Kingdom)

I bought this machine 1 month ago and i am very happy with it !! Great sound and light performances. Its a bit heavy for transport in your bag but I use it at home. The only thing minus is that its magnetic so you can find some hair on it ....))

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality Sound

SRSXB43/B 05 December 2021 by Phinonnoni (USA)

I received the Sony XB43 Extra Bass Portable wireless speaker and I like the size and RBG lights. The music is awesome and it’s very easy to move around the house. I like that it’s very loud and sounds like a stero sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Sounds Awesome!

SRSXB43/B 05 December 2021 by Janice9487 (USA)

I got the XB43 EXTRA BASS Portable Wireless Speaker for myself and family. First I like that it isn't big and bulky. It's streamlined features make it easy to place in different areas. The set up was so easy to do! It paired up quickly with phones and tablets. The sound is absolutely amazing! We use the speaker all the time. The bonus is the changing colors of lights. Our grandkids love it! I would definitely recommend this product to my family and friends.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Excellent sound!

SRS-XB43 30 November 2021 by MathiasRex (United Kingdom)

I've used it for months, and I am absolutely pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound from such a small speaker

SRS-XB43 30 November 2021 by Woodwizard (United Kingdom)

I use this speaker with my iPad and monitors. To obtain this rich sound quality from such a small device has only recently been achieved, impressive technology. I would have preferred to have no disco lights, I find these gimmicky and a waste of resources, but as a speaker, excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great punchy sound

SRS-XB43 28 November 2021 by Gotho52 (United Kingdom)

Excellent speaker. Great bass with a very good mid and high range sound too. I play mine at full volume most of the time which does drain the battery quite a bit. If played at 50-75% the battery will last ages.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works great!

SRSXB43/B 22 November 2021 by Liisa25 (USA)

The XB43 extra bass portable wireless speaker is so easy to use. The sound is so clear and works great for a party. It’s waterproof, dust proof and rust proof. The battery last up to 24hrs but you can also plug it in. It looks sharp also!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

all i can say is wow

SRSXB43/B 20 November 2021 by julia13 (USA)

I've had so many speakers in my life but this one.. its just amazing the sound quality i love watching it light up it makes me so happy but the volume and the smoothness on it is so incredible.. love love love highly recommenced for yourself or for a gift!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing sound!

SRSXB43/B 20 November 2021 by Tony224 (USA)

We are a family of four, so every weekend we have the “hour of power” where we clean up the house. We use music to make it fun, and we don’t have a big stereo set up. This portable speaker is amazing. The sound that comes out is so clear, and the bass hits like a big system, while still being portable. We move from room to room, and keep the music going! It connects easily with Bluetooth, and it has a party function with lights, which is perfect for when we have friends over. I’m upset I didn’t get this before now, because I can’t see our life without it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Almost excellent

SRS-XB43 18 November 2021 by piblokto (United Kingdom)

This is my third BT speaker and is definitely the best of them but it could be even better. It has very good sound quality, the main requirement as far as I am concerned, with good bass depth and detailed separation of instruments so I am very happy with it. There are 2 drawbacks for me. Firstly the android app is very limited as a player so I use the excellent Musicolet player and only use the Sony app for device management. Secondly the auto shutoff is poor - it only shuts down when bluetooth connection is lost. This means I can't use a sleep timer on the music or radio app properly because the speaker simply stays on all night so I have to switch the speaker off manually, defeating the object of the sleep function. I want an app that turns bluetooth off automatically at a set time daily but cannot find one. Other speakers turn off when there is no signal for a period of time and this would be the simple and ideal solution but Sony do not seem to have spotted that other manufacturers provide this better function.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Portable Speaker!

SRSXB43/B 18 November 2021 by darlingdani7 (USA)

This is our second Sony Extra Bass Bluetooth Speaker! It has the best sound—so clear! And it holds up to its name with great bass. We love being able to connect both speaker wirelessly; it allows us to have music flow throughout the house. We have used the speaker at the beach, outside for parties, and inside. It’s durable and reliable. The design is modern and blends with decor. This speaker makes the perfect gift!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great sound, a couple things could be better

SRSXB43/B 16 November 2021 by jotatooo (USA)

First off, the sound on this thing is great! It really seems like the sound comes from something bigger and more expansive than this. The light show that syncs itself to the music is pretty fun and adds a nice ambience to it. It is super easy and quick to connect to connect your device to the Bluetooth initially. Overall, we really like this speaker. There are just a couple of things that we thought could be better to make it 5 stars. Although it is portable, it is a bit on the heavier side, making us not really want to bring it everywhere we go. We decided to set it up in our kitchen, in a somewhat inconvenient location to reach, so it'd be nice if we could turn it to standby from the app (rather than off) - because in order to turn it back on again, you have to actually press the power button on the unit itself. There's no way (that we know of) to turn the speaker back on using only the app. With it being inconvenient to reach in our setup, that means we leave the speaker on all the time. There's also no way (that we know of) to disconnect from the speaker's Bluetooth through the app - we have to go through our phone's Bluetooth settings vs the app. It just makes it a little confusing when we're trying to connect to a different Bluetooth speaker located in another room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

movie music & gaming

SRS-XB43/BC SP6 14 November 2021 by Ahping (Singapore)

Finally bought from 28 August 2021 so happy to meet new model xb43 can party mode to my friends

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use!

SRSXB43/B 09 November 2021 by Jsal785 (USA)

I got this for my classroom, to use when we were outside. It's great! It's easy to transport, it's easy to operate, and durable! The kids love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

My go to speaker

SRSXB43/B 09 November 2021 by smbunny (USA)

I'm going to start off with my only complaint - in the name it says "extra bass" but to me, it doesn't seem very extra. That being said, the bass was still great.. just not "extra". I have a soundbar and another portable speaker (both were not cheap) and I prefer to listen to my music on this Sony speaker. I did not knock it a star for this because I 100% believe this is a great speaker but if you are looking for a deep bass, maybe you wouldn't be completely happy with this one. The clarity is just, awesome. I can probably say this is easily one of the best speakers i've ever had. My fiancé uses it when he does his side work, which requires him to get on roofs and he absolutely love it. He leaves it in his trailer and hears it clear and perfect, even when he's up two stories high. I've had 0 issues connecting my phone (and other phones) via blue tooth, it's super easy and fast to do. I've had issues with other speakers where it's a little frustrating to connect to, but I'm happy to report that this speaker is very user friendly! Battery life is also.... greaaat! I've fully charged it and have been listening to it on and off now for over a week and still have yet to charge it again, even with the lights kept on. Speaking of the lights, wow! Super cool, bright and makes it such a fun speaker. My kids love it especially! You can turn them off but I leave them on, they light up to the music and i just think it's pretty cool. Also, they don't drain the battery in my opinion so why not. The speaker has a little weight to it but nothing crazy. I think it's just more proof that this a solid speaker. Sound is awesome, seems very well made, nice design, and user friendly. Not much more you can look for in a speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Durable and sleek

SRSXB43/B 07 November 2021 by Rajk (USA)

To be honest I don’t think there is anything to dislike this speaker. This portable bluetooth speaker is made with really great quality material and its sound quality is unbeatable. I loved that it is waterproof and dust proof which means you can use it whenever and wherever you want. This speaker is so easy to operate and bluetooth connectivity is so simple and easy. You can use this by connecting bluetooth on devices and also you can use the app which is easy to nevigate and you can add your favorite playlist to the app which is convenient. The sound quality is so good and i have never experienced this before it has options for party sound and live sound which makes your music experience much better. It has a sleek look and it changes different colors when it is playing. This is good in size and you can carry it with you while on the go and for your information it is little heavy. This speaker has changed my music listening completely.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Quality - Sound & Vibe

SRS-XB43/BC SP6 07 November 2021 by Stacex (Singapore)

Got this after previously owning the XBR41 & 31. Although it doesn't have the sleek lights like the previous, it's still able to amplify the vibe with the current design. And the added speakers to the sides, makes an even better sound for the extra bass. Worth the upgrade, worth the buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great speaker

SRSXB43/B 06 November 2021 by LH1013 (USA)

This speaker is easy to use. It is a bit heavier then others i have purchased but its sturdy and not going to be knocked over easily. My kids enjoy the light show it includes. Easy to use and great sony product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0