$479.00

(AUD inc. GST)
35

4.8 based on 35 customer reviews

29
5
0
1
0
Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

35 Customer Reviews

0

Superb sound TBH

SRS-XG300 12 August 2022 by Andyspeaker1 (United Kingdom)

Had a Sonos Roam, Sony Xg 300 beats this hands down.

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Full rich sound

SRS-XG300 05 August 2022 by simonerrey (United Kingdom)

I had to wait a while before doing this review as i wanted to really test this speaker out, and what better time than a neighbours rooftop party. I mean this solidly built speaker easily fills a room with crystal clear sound, even at low levels, but to sound good outside, with a party of 40 loud guests it still sounds amazing. A full, rich sound with excellent bass, and added flashing lights what's not to like? And the ease of connecting is a joy. A solid, sturdy, class act of a speaker with amazing battery life... Whats not to love about this class act from Sony?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

The Outstanding STS-XG300 Bluetooth Speaker

SRS-XG300 03 August 2022 by Rickydomain (United Kingdom)

I have been wondering if SRS-XG300 Bluetooth speaker was any good, but unboxing the unit it was apparent that the quality was there from the start. Rightly or wrongly, I’m one of those people that sometimes bypass instructions and eagerly dive right into operating the unit. Charging takes around five hours but the unit only took just under three hours as the battery already had enough delivery charge. Pairing the unit was quick and very easy, and once the dedicated music app was downloaded it was a snip to navigate through the settings to control different aspects of the sound through the equaliser settings. Playing my favourite music from my iPhone 13 was very surprising indeed! The sound of the highs and midrange were clear and the base punchy but I did find,all depending where you positioned the unit, you could get a lot more base. For example I just placed it on the floor instead of on my table and this dramatically improved an already outstanding quality output from its speakers. I was greatly impressed by the lack of distortion on very high volume settings, distortion is my pet hate on some bluetooth speakers I’ve come across. What’s the SRS-XG300 like at a family gathering? All I can say is absolutely outstanding! I used it at our barbecue and guests arriving were looking for the source of the loud music (The large old fashioned music centre and its big speakers) and were amazed at the small Sony tucked away in the corner, flashing away with its end to end built in sound to light,units flashing away to the music beat. I would highly recommend this Bluetooth speaker, due to it quality, sound and size for you Music needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Lazy days in the garden.

SRS-XG300 01 August 2022 by Frandango (United Kingdom)

Having no wifi in a nice secluded spot at the bottom of the garden in the hot tub we hook up our phones to our XG300 X series portable speaker through the sony app. Its a good size and its weight adds to the deep bass it generates. I like that there is a little button at the back of the speaker that tells you the percentage power level of the battery. The changing colours behind the bass speakers are a nice touch as well especially in the evenings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great portable Bluetooth speaker from Sony

SRS-XG300 31 July 2022 by Kieron (United Kingdom)

Straight out of the box, connected to my iPhone in seconds. Love the simplicity of set up. Was impressed with the build quality. Reassuringly heavy, with a easy to use slide out handle. Evenly balanced when carrying. The SRS-XG300 replaces my Ultimate Ears Bluetooth speaker. This Song speaker is amazing in comparison. The sound fills my large lounge really well. Ideal for a indoor or outdoor party. Loved the way the side speakers light up. There a app to help explore the colour options called Fiestable. Which younger buyers will enjoy. It’s great that I can connect two Bluetooth enabled devices at the same time, effortlessly. For the price it’s a excellent portable speaker with good battery life. Would strongly recommend this speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Big portable sound, great for a day out!

SRS-XG300 31 July 2022 by DoctorSimon31 (United Kingdom)

This high-quality Bluetooth portable speaker is seriously impressive. It is not the lightest, at just over 3KG, but with the smart retractable handle it's easy to carry about. The two "feet" make it sit great on a flat surface and allow access to the controls at the front and the rear compartment. It has a durable look, rugged with a hard mesh outer that really shouts quality. And then the sound... deep base coming out the sides with the Mega Bass activated, higher frequencies sharply defining the detail from the front. It is the best portable speaker I have experienced to date, helped nicely with LDAC better the CD quality Bluetooth connection. Straight out of the box, I turned the speaker on and immediately was offered a connection on my phone via Bluetooth (with Google connect). Having installed the Sony Music Centre app I was able to realise various settings that can be applied to the speaker. They are extensive but worth browsing through, including Custom Equaliser, DJ Effect and power options to extend the battery life as well as auto standby. The app has direct links to to steaming apps on your phone, and you can set up a start-up preference. The water resistance rating is one of the highest I've seen, stating that even sea water won't be a problem, although I found myself reluctant to take this close to the sea! The woofer side speakers are very effective, and the party lights are a nice feature, but only come into effect at night. Try the Sony Fiestable app to change the lighting options for the extra party feel. A great feature that I found useful was being able to connect a second Bluetooth device at the same time: I use it occasionally as a speaker for a TV, but can quickly change to playing music from my phone. There are some useful buttons within the rear compartment: battery life, which when pressed tells you the power level, and lights off for when you might want to turn them off quickly. A USB C charging port for charging the speaker and even a USB port to charge you phone from, if while on the beach the 25 hours of play on the speaker surpasses your phone's battery! I still had plenty of power after many hours and had topped up my phone too. I had let it run down once, but after just 10 mins charge it was able to give me at least another hour of fun. I would highly recommend this product, with both the durable design and battery care, it's a speaker that I would hope would last many years and easily justify the not so quality price it holds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great Speaker

SRS-XG300 30 July 2022 by Sparkly (United Kingdom)

Got the speaker and l really happy with it it’s easy to pair to your device great sound and punchy bass it’s gets very loud and you gave up to 25 hours of play time from fully charged

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amaxing sound and build quality

SRS-XG300 28 July 2022 by Duncan (United Kingdom)

Have been using this for a couple of weeks now. It is SUPERB. Firstly download the Sony music centre app which will help setting the different sounds. The mega bass is incredible especially with dance music. Play Insomnia by Faithless full blast and you will think you are in a nightclub! Set up is very simple and the blutooth connection is great. Handle is well designed and makes it easy to carry. Rear section for charging is well hidden. Quality of materials used is top notch with everything feeling very expensive. Graphic equaliser on the Sony music app allows you to set up your own sound but i prefer the mega bass or the clear which are both preset. Volume control is from your phones volume control which is great. I haven't tried connecting more than one but I am sure the sound would be brilliant. Battery life is very good and I have had it running for a good 10 hours. Charging from dead took me about 3 hours which is impressive. Have took a couple of phone calls through the speaker and both the caller and I had no probmems with the volume or quality of the call. I have used it inside and outdoors and it fillls a large hall well but understandably is a little less effective outdoors. I only have two issues the frst being the weight. At 3kg I am not sure it can be classed as portable . The second is the lights at each end. They have presets via the app so I put it on rave in a pitch black room. The lights are the only real disappointment. I know they would run down the battery but either make them brighteror remove them all together. I would highly recommend this to anybody, my brother in law has already bought one after seeing mine. Yes it isn't the cheapest on the market but you get what you pay for as I have found with the numerous Sony products I have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

A balanced speaker

SRS-XG300 28 July 2022 by cd01 (United Kingdom)

This is a very aesthetically pleasing speaker. The product design is great, it’s sleek and it looks in place anywhere you put it. The label it has as a balanced speaker is a very fitting description of the sound. It’s very balanced and for a Bluetooth speaker it has very distinct clarity between varying frequency sounds. Little details are heard easily. I listen to many genres of music (mostly EDM) for which this was great for most. It was best however for dance pop and pop music and also some Hiphop. It struggled a little bit with really full music like orchestral tracks. It also lacked some bass for techno which was a little underwhelming given the mega bass feature. It is a big speaker and it is very loud. The handle is a good feature especially the mechanism for sliding it back into the speaker after use. The handle is definitely required due to the weight and size. The lighting could be a little brighter but that is not the main evaluation point of the speaker.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Boom Boom, Shake the Room!

SRS-XG300 27 July 2022 by MarkyMark (United Kingdom)

The nice recyclable packaging and box from Sony says it all- "Live Life Loud". This is one heavy portable speaker. It measured 3kg on my scales, so do not drop this on your foot! Measured 32cm long x 13.5cm depth and 13cm tall with the flush mounted handle flat. When the handle pulls out for carrying, it is about 18cm tall. The AC adaptor with a USB-C charge end is 1.5m long which is nice. This speaker has the typical high quality Sony finish. Solid! The speaker is covered in a nice cloth covered mesh with the 6.1cm x 6.8cm woofers paced at either end of its cylindrical form.It sits on 2 flat rubber feet which prevent it from moving or rolling away! 2 small sections for the clearly marked buttons placed just below each side of the carry handle. Easy to turn on/off and adjust the volume. Can also turn on the "Mega Bass" function and turn on Bluetooth for pairing etc from here. It is worth knowing that this speaker is IP67 waterproof and dust proof so perfect to withstand party spills in the home and splash back by the swimming pool or a heavy shower if outside.Suitable for BBQ's or beaches! Impressive. Makes this speaker much more versatile and care free. Another nice touch are the adjustable lights at either end of the speaker which encircle the woofers. Can be set up to pulse in time with the music, continually change colours or if you want have no colour lighting at all. All controlled from the easy to use Sony "Music Centre" app. The inbuilt battery provides an incredible 25 hours of continuous music play. And just 10 minutes of charge can provide 70 minutes of music play! Very impressive again. Pairing by Bluetooth by pressing the button on the speaker takes just seconds and can pair to multiple devices at the same time, so you can change from one device to another without having to re-pair. It will only play music from one device at a time of course. It has a 30m bluetooth range. The app will allow you to connect up to 100 similar or future Sony BT speakers-"Party Connect" At the back of the device you have a sealed socket port with stiff rubber waterproof flap which hides a USB-A socket so you can charge another device, stereo mini in-jack,USB-C charge port and a small button to manually control the speaker lights. Now for the sound: LOUD! This speaker deserves the Mega Bass function. This speaker will really make the room shake. Very clear overall and has the typical Sony "warm sound". My only criticism is that the mid tones can get a little "muddy" and lost in the bass heavy sound, but that is not a problem for a "party"speaker. I did not think it would play well with classical music but I was rather impressed.Great clarity and enough width to give good separation. Being portable, you can easily move the speaker around a room and in different places of a room to get the sound just right, if needed. A definite benefit of a portable Bluetooth speaker over conventional book shelf or floor standers. The app is fully featured, allowing you to wirelessly plug in to your music library, in my case, on my iPhone, create playlists, choose albums or you can ignore the app and just control everything from the iPhone Music app. All in all, another superb Sony speaker.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Big Sound

SRS-XG300 27 July 2022 by Youbear (United Kingdom)

This is s great speaker and it's a very nice compact design. What can I say, it's a Sony, the look and feel are that of a premium product. It has a carry handle that lies flat on top when not in use. Setting up is very easy, as soon as I switched it on my phone prompted me to connect to the speaker( Sony Xperia 5). Then just hit play on whatever music you want to hear. There is a Sony Music Centre app thst you can download for free from the app the Play Store. it allows you to access several different controls from EQ to light settings. The music sounds clear and handles bass very well. If you need more there is a mega bass setting that gives you even more deep sounding bass. It has it's limitations given the size, but I think it really handles itself with control and never sounds messy. Love the lights in either end of the speaker, as mentioned there are different settings to suit the music. Charging is simple with a small port on the rear. There is a small cover that seals the ports to aid the water resistance and keeps the dust out. The battery seems to have a good reserve of power. All in all a great package. Using in the kitchen at the moment and will take it on camping trips through the summer and the beach to make full use of its portability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great sounding speaker, deep, rich bass

SRS-XG300 27 July 2022 by astronut101 (United Kingdom)

First thing I noticed upon receiving the box was the weight, coming in at just under 4kg, this thing is a beast! In the box was the speaker, a USB C charger (the complete charger, not just a a cable like a lot of phones nowadays) and some documentation. There are limited controls on the speaker, on on/off button, a blue tooth button, a mega bass button, play/pause and volume up and down. Connecting to the speaker was seamless. I have an android phone and as soon as I turned on the speaker it auto-connected, a voice telling you so. My wife has an android phone also and that auto-connected too, the voice telling also that a second device is attached. There's a carrying strap at the top and a rubber flap at the back, beneath which is the charging port, a line in audio connection, buttons for battery life and switching the lights on and off, and a USB A connection for charging your other devices from the speakers battery. It goes without saying that the flap need to be closed to maintain the IP 67 rating. The sound from this thing is phenomenal. Deep, rich bass. Downloading the Sony Music Centre app allows further controls like adjusting the bass, the lighting and even allows to group with other similar speakers. I did try this and it did work, however after a while the speakers lost a bit of synch. In conclusive, i really rate this speaker and would recommend. Dues to its weight, probably a bit too heavy to take in your hand baggage on a plane but perfect for use at the local beach.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

My SONY XG300 Wireless Speaker

SRS-XG300 27 July 2022 by GeePaa (United Kingdom)

My XG300 wireless speaker is fabulous, with mega bass and batter life of 25 hours, what more can you ask for a portable powerful sound device. I am over the moon with this latest acquisition, Thank Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

SRS-XG300. Deep bass an clarity

SRS-XG300 26 July 2022 by Garye301261 (United Kingdom)

Design: The speaker is very compact considering the powerful sound and deep base it delivers, and when you hit the MEGA BASE button it blows you away. It is wrapped in Gray/black fabric and weighs in at around 3 kilograms, so not really ideal for carrying on your holidays abroad., but great for your garden and beach parties. It is waterproof to IP67 just in case it rains. The carry handle fits flush into the body of the speaker and flips out to be carried. Along the top of the speaker there are the usual Play/Pause, Volume up and down, On/Off, Blu tooth pairing and MEGA base button to switch on the bass-heavy sound. On the rear is a door that reveals an analogue input, USB-C charging and USB-A for charging your phone. Hiding behind the bass speakers at each end is a ring of subtle colour, which changes to the beat of the music. It can also be controlled through Sony’s Fiestable apps. Sound Quality: I really enjoyed using an listening to the this speaker because the sound is so impressive. Playing tracks with plenty of bass really delivers a very clear sound with plenty of bass. Turn on the MEGA BASS and you will soon have the neighbours complaining. The sound is also customisable through Sony’s Music Centre app, with loads of control over the speaker and the sound. You can see the battery level as a percentage, and there’s also a 3-band equaliser to adjust the bass, mid-range and treble or you can choose one of the preset modes which include Mega Bass and Live Sound - I largely kept the Mega Bass switched on because it made songs sound a lot more punchy. Battery Life: Sony claim the SRS-XG300 has a 25 hour battery life, although our party did not last 25 hours, the speaker played all day, and some of the night (at a lower volume). I probably estimate we got around 21 hours before needing a recharge. The MEGA BASE and LED lights were turned on and the volumed was turned up and down during the day (Mostly up).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Nice well made unit.

SRS-XG300 25 July 2022 by Iceman (United Kingdom)

When I got the speaker out of the box felt nice and solid and well made did not feel cheap had a good look around the speaker and looks well made also like the handle on top that slides back down easy to carry around. The charger has both three pin and two pin plugs also the charging lead is also nice and long also like the charge output on back can charge phone as well and up to 25 hours play time is very good had unit on for many hours and have not yet had to charge unit again. This unit is very easy to connect via Bluetooth and connections range is good when to top of garden no problem. The sound quality is very good had bass on also when you put the volume up sound did not distort could not put volume up very high as think others might object but very impressed by this unit. This would be great for party's as you can connect other unit to speaker easy overall very easy to use sounds good and very well made also water proof so when using out side. At this point have not been able to find any problems with this unit it looks nice and simple to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

A very clear leap forward.

SRS-XG300 25 July 2022 by Miked (United Kingdom)

Compared to other (older) Bluetooth speakers this one is a very clear leap forward. The range of sound from it is impressive as is the quality. It plays quiet pieces of music quietly without loss of precision or distortion, which makes listening to classical pieces a real pleasure. Changes in the music being listened to from quiet to dramatic is very good e.g. no distortion or loss: just a clear appreciated sound. Tchaikovsky's 1812 overture is handled very well. The same applies to other forms of music: Yazoo's Alison Moyet's vocals are handled superbly. I could give more examples but I think you get the picture. Listening to Audible books outside under a shade shelter is a real joy with the speakers sounding out tr ue realism. The speaker links, via Bluetooth, with my tablet (Samsung) or iphone very quickly and easily with no link loss. I usually use Spotify and Audible via Sony's Music Centre app. But it can link directly with other apps as well. Battery life is long, around 24-25 hours and charging is quick and easy to do. All in all a delightful piece of equipment, solidly built with a useful carrying handle. This is a quality speaker unit in both build and sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Another Excellent Bluetooth Speaker from Sony

SRS-XG300 25 July 2022 by GrenA (United Kingdom)

The Sony SRS-XG300 is an excellent portable party speaker that is ideal for home parties, inside and in the garden and, if you are that way inclined, for taking out to picnic in the park. Firstly, the design. The speaker looks smart and therefore is not something you are afraid to leave on display, with a modern sleek look that fits in with modern decor. It measures 318 x 138 x136mm and only weighs 3kg, therefore it not huge and easily portable, with a handy carry strap, but still packs quite a punch beyond the capabilities of other portable Bluetooth speakers I have had. It is apparently water and dust resistant but I have not dared test this, although it is reassuring to know that if you get caught in the rain it should be fine. It is easy to connect to a mobile phone via Bluetooth with the Sony Music Center app providing controls including graphic equaliser adjustments, volume, lighting and sound mode controls. The system produces clear, crisp sound to fill a room or garden area and the mega bass option gives music the additional oomph most people will want for a party. My benchmark for testing a speaker is playing Loaded by Primal Screen, and the XG-300 gives clear sound for all the various instruments in this track, supported by strong bass which is excellent for a product of its relatively small size. The battery apparently lasts for 25 hours, which is more than enough for me and it also charges very quickly if you get caught short, with 10 minutes of charge giving 7 hours of battery life, which is pretty impressive. The product has variable coloured flashing lights that in theory add a bit of atmosphere at night but, in reality, are a bit of a gimmick as they are not the brightest. The XG-300 can be paired with another XG-300 to provide stereo sound, or to link up with other Sony speakers in Fiesta mode, to allow the same music to be played in different rooms/areas for an all round party house. The drawback with this is that this is only compatible with a limited number of specified Sony speakers, so check this in advance if this is important to you. I found out, for example, that it would not pair with my Sony MHC-V72D speaker, which was a little disappointing. This is the only criticism I have of the product. All in all, it is an excellent product and one that I am hoping will get plenty of use in the garden this summer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Wow! Superb!

SRS-XG300 24 July 2022 by MoggieP (United Kingdom)

Opening the box reveals a heavyweight speaker with very few controls, great for a 69 year old user. The provided information includes a getting started guide, but to be honest the controls are intuitive and easy to grasp. The controls consist of on/off, Bluetooth connect, mega bass boost, pause/next and volume controls. Behind the cover on the rear are the usb connection and output ports (you can charge other devices from the energy in the speaker) a battery saver switch, a line in port and a light on/off switch. Switching on is indicated by a pleasant set of tones and Bluetooth connection by spoken confirmation as is battery level. In use the speaker is impressive, crystal clear at all levels of volume with no distortion noted at high levels. The apps available increase control and allow further control of the lighting at the ends of the speaker in varying patterns. Build quality is impressive, solid and heavy but manageable, the exterior of the speaker is cloth covered and is waterproof and can be wiped clean, the rear cover for the USB ports is rubber and stays shut to protect the ports. I have found the speaker to be reliable and a pleasure to use. Other Bluetooth speakers I have tried have had some sort of shortcomings but Sony have obviously researched this design very well. I am using the speaker on a daily basis with no issues in use. Highly recommended for people of all ages who want quality output from a quality product

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Wow! Superb!

SRS-XG300 24 July 2022 by Moggie_P (United Kingdom)

Opening the box reveals a heavyweight speaker with very few controls, great for a 69 year old user. The provided information includes a getting started guide, but to be honest the controls are intuitive and easy to grasp. The controls consist of on/off, Bluetooth connect, mega bass boost, pause/next and volume controls. Behind the cover on the rear are the usb connection and output ports (you can charge other devices from the energy in the speaker) a battery saver switch, a line in port and a light on/off switch. Switching on is indicated by a pleasant set of tones and Bluetooth connection by spoken confirmation as is battery level. In use the speaker is impressive, crystal clear at all levels of volume with no distortion noted at high levels. The apps available increase control and allow further control of the lighting at the ends of the speaker in varying patterns. Build quality is impressive, solid and heavy but manageable, the exterior of the speaker is cloth covered and is waterproof and can be wiped clean, the rear cover for the USB ports is rubber and stays shut to protect the ports. I have found the speaker to be reliable and a pleasure to use. Other Bluetooth speakers I have tried have had some sort of shortcomings but Sony have obviously researched this design very well. I am using the speaker on a daily basis with no issues in use. Highly recommended for people of all ages who want quality output from a quality product.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An excellent powerful speaker... love the bass !

SRS-XG300 24 July 2022 by SoundmanLensman (United Kingdom)

The Sony SRS-XG300 speaker comes in a recycled cardboard box and firstly contains the speaker itself. Secondly there is a power supply with a lead permanently attached, the end of which has a USB-C plug that plugs into the speaker, there is a choice of either a UK 3-pin or European 2-pin plug 'adaptors' which snap into the head of the power supply. Finally there is various literature including the manual in European languages, including English of course. The speaker measures 318mm (12.52") wide x 138mm (5.43") high and 136mm (5.35") deep and weighs in at 3Kg (6lbs 10oz), so it is quite heavy. It does have feet on the bottom to stop it rolling away, because it is perfectly round in shape. It is rated at IP67, one of the highest ratings you can get and offers total protection against the ingress of dust and airborne particles, it a4so offers protection against water and liquids - up to and including immersion in up to one metre (39") of water. On the top of the speaker is a pull-out rubberised handle with 'SONY' printed on it (see my first picture), it is easy to pull it out as there is a little 'recess' to enable you to do that and it is very comfortable in use, when you have finished, it just neatly slots back into it's original position, which is flat with the body. Underneath the handle there are 'two sets of 3' rubberised buttons (once again, please see Picture 1). On the lefthand side set you have the "ON/OFF" button, the "Bluetooth" button, and the "MegaBass" button. On the righthand side set are the "Play/Pause/Phone" button and the Volume Down "-" and Volume Up "+" buttons. Sony claim a 4-25 hour battery life depending on what settings you are using on a full charge. Personally I was getting about 17 hours of playing time, but that is because there are so many factors that affect the playing time... even so 17 hours is really impressive. There is also the option of giving it a 10 minute charge to get around a 7 hours of use, providing the volume level is set to 24, Mega Bass is on and the lights are disabled. Another useful feature is the ability to limit the charge to 90%, which should increase the life of the battery overall, rather than charging it to 100%, which is supposedly bad for overall battery life. On the other side (Back) of the speaker there is a small rubber flap, and when you pull it open there are 3 sockets and 2 buttons (please see picture 2). From left to right these are : 'CHARGE OUTPUT : This is a USB-C 5v, 1.5A max. output socket and will allow you to charge your phone etc, so you are effectively using the speaker as a Power Bank. 'AUDIO IN' : This is an auxiliary (Aux.) connection is a standard 3.5mm mini jack socket for connecting to and playing music from say your phone or laptop etc. but there is no cable supplied for this. 'DC IN 5V' : This is a USB-C socket for charging the speaker up via a "USB-A to USB-C" lead. 'BATTERY / - BATTERY CARE' : With the speaker turned on, pressing this button and holding it down for about 2 seconds will turn the battery care mode on and the speaker will announce "Battery Care Mode ON". Repeating that will turn the battery care mode off and you will hear "Battery Care Mode OFF". 'LIGHT' : This button is for turning the lights on the end speakers 'on' and 'off', you can also control them via the Sony Music Center app also. The first thing you need to do is pair the speaker to your phone or tablet via Bluetooth, my Android phone recognised the speaker straight away and just follow what it says to pair it. Then you need to install the Sony Music Center app, which will give you more control and you can apply different 'preset modes' such as my favourite 'Mega Bass' but this is on by default anyway. I am a massive bass fan, and I think this function was made for me but if you aren't you can turn it down or select other options to suit your taste. There is also a 3-slider equaliser to adjust the bass, middle and treble for fine tuning the sound. There are lots of things within the app, and it is really a case of experimenting until you find the settings that you personally like. Also the app it actually shows that state of charge of the battery as a percentage, you can also change the lights on the speakers to your particular taste as well, but unfortunately flashing lights give me a migraine, so I personally won't be playing with those, but I am sure lots of people will want to adjust them, and I am no 'kill joy', so please have fun with them ! I would definitely advise that you read the instructions/manual, that way you will get the very best fron this speaker Along with all that there is the ability, with its' built-in microphone, to take and make phone calls and it also offers compatibility with both Google and Siri. Conclusion : This is a great speaker and it has a great clear sound, the only thing that puzzles me is why hasn't Sony published the power output of the speaker (in watts) as it normally does, but all I will say is "it's loud" ! It is no lightweight but it is really, really well built and built to last too. Once set up in the app you can control it just from the speaker really, but of course the option to tweak the settings is always at hand, and is a must if you listen to a lot if different genres, such as punk, classical etc, one setting won't do for all those. For me personally this is a great piece of kit, it does what it was designed to do and is certainly deserving of the Sony name, It is a good compromise of sound volume and weight, more than loud enough and although heavy isn't as heavy as some other speakers, all at a very reasonable price too. Another winner in my books.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Sony XG300 Portable speaker

SRS-XG300 23 July 2022 by Gabarda (United Kingdom)

Wow ! What a brilliant addition to my stereo system, the quality and sound when listening to my music collection is brilliant. We took it camping and used it with my tablet to listen to music. Excellent product and not too expensive. Far better than the old boombox of my younger days.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Sony XG300

SRS-XG300 22 July 2022 by N Brown (United Kingdom)

In a nutshell this product is beyond incredible it's as simple as that. So here we go. As always Sony are adhering to their recycled packaging policy which is so good to see. The XG300 comes very well packaged. Unboxing is quick and you first thoughts are this looks to be a great well thought out product. The XG300 is wrapped in a charcoal grey nylon type material and the whole thing is very aesthetically pleasing to the eye, it also comes in a grey(ish) colour. It looks to have a touch of class about it and does not look out of place on a unit of furniture in a living room, in an office, the beach, a party, BBQ, by the poolside or anywhere else as with the carry handle it goes everywhere you could think of. You can also link up to a hundred compatible speakers to the XG300, yes you read it right a hundred other speakers! Bluetooth® range is given as 30 metres from the XG300 but you could leave your mobile by the unit and walk a hundred metres from it and still hear the unit clearly. The XG300 is IP67 water resistant, salt water resistant and dust proof with no parts to rust. The speaker comes with a universal plug where you slip in the UK or Euro plug adaptor, charging took no time whatsoever and the speaker is still going several days after I charged it. Bluetooth® pairing with android is a breeze and literally took seconds to sync with my mobile. The actual speakers then; Sony states this is an 'X-Balanced Speaker Unit'. Conventional speakers have a circular diaphragm these speakers don’t as such they create more sound pressure for a high-quality sound through the 2 woofers, 2 tweeters and passive radiators, they are extremely well balanced, the bass has lots of punch, if that's to your taste, and you can turn the Mega Bass on and off. The XG300 allows the sound to just wash over you. I played music from my mobile and the sound actually made me sit up and taken notice of tracks I'd previously heard and loved but had begun to perhaps listen to as just background music? This unit makes you rediscover these songs with new ears, the sound is par excellence no matter what genre of music you're listening to. There are three listening modes of Clear Audio+, Mega Bass & Live Sound. the latter mode is available via The Sony Music Center app. At each end of the unit are circular pulsating lights which change colour as the music changes in tempo, this is a particularly nice feature especially when listening to music in darkness you can of course also turn this on and off. When you see the item in store turn it on and press and hold the left button on the right hand side for a sound demo it takes about 5 seconds to come and samples two tracks. As I said the XG300 is the business I think you’ll be hard pushed to find a fault I couldn’t. Enjoy yours when you buy it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Better than good but could be better.

SRS-XG300 22 July 2022 by Martiewill (United Kingdom)

This speaker is a robust and well designed product. The sound is clear however even at full volume I feel like the XG300 is holding something back. There is no wow sound factor. The sound does get lifted when paired with an appropriate Sony app. Due to it's weight, (whilst not overly burdening) and its handy carry strap, the XG300 can be carried from place to place. Just not carried continuously. Its ability to pair other relatable speakers gives the XG300 a party feel. Its phone functionality is useful but just remember not to use this function if you having a party. Overall I would suggest Sony have added another capable speaker to the market but feel as if there was a few tricks missed with the XG300

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Sony XG300 X-Series speaker

SRS-XG300 21 July 2022 by zmonia (United Kingdom)

What an amazing speaker! wireless, waterproof and what a sound! when I turned it on for the first time I couldn't believe how clean and loud it sounds, plus my favorite mega bass option which I like a lot! Ambient Illumination look great, especially when it gets dark, overall that speaker looks very cool, I go to the beach a lot and it will be a permanent match that I will take with me that’s for sure. Very impressed and I recommend 100%!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0