FE 35MM F1.8

Product Reviews

$1,099.00

(AUD inc. GST)
58

4.8 based on 58 customer reviews

47
10
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great lens with a dreamy feel. What a value!

SEL35F18F 22 January 2021 by Beavermoon (USA)

Looking to fill the 35mm gap in my prime lineup, I contemplated the 35mm 1.4 GM at twice the price but figured at half the price I could test the 1.8 out to see if I liked the size before shelling out so much dough. After a few hundred landscape and portrait shots with this lens, I can't find any reason to upgrade. I love this lens, especially shooting in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very decent lens

SEL35F18F//CSYX 07 July 2020 by jackros (Malaysia)

Very decent optical quality, sharpness, autofcous speed & bokeh. I'm not sure if it's just my lens, but what seems to be the focusing "part" is moving when camera is switched off, and doesn't move when camera is switched on. Focus on-hold button comes handy.

1

0

58 Customer Reviews

0

Best allround Portrait Lens

SEL35F18F 31 December 2021 by PhilipProcter (United Kingdom)

50mm blah blah blah.......35mm is where its at, street portraits, studio etc, full body shots, closeups - all good, especially bokeh in the street, ove got 6 lens in the kit bag, and I use this by far the most.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good

SEL35F18F 16 October 2021 by anaanaana (United Kingdom)

Although I'm not happy with my camera image quality with any of the lens I've tryed, this little lens is actually good for it's price.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for videography.

SEL35F18F 13 October 2021 by DWolk (United Kingdom)

Very good I ma like ! Focus very fast, sharp light weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfectly formed lens!

SEL35F18F 13 October 2021 by Rob06 (United Kingdom)

The lens is sharp, small, extremely light and great at all stops.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Lens

SEL35F18F 26 August 2021 by simmy954 (United Kingdom)

After damaging my 18-55 kit lens, I researched for a long time before deciding to buy this Prime lens. Its realyl fast, silent, small and produces some wonderful images with great Bokeh. I just need to improve my photography skills now to get the best out of it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My Favourite lens ever.

SEL35F18F 21 August 2021 by Bazileous (United Kingdom)

Waited a while for a lens to make me smile, cheap at the price and the results were more than nice. Shoots the best RAW files partnered with the ACR profiles.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pair it an APS-C & you will be rewarded

SEL35F18F//CSYX 14 August 2021 by ROmanzA (Malaysia)

Paired this with my Alpha 6400 and it brought statisfying results (52.5 full frame equivalent). Very good optics for street and travel photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great walk-around lens

SEL35F18F//CSYX 24 July 2021 by Ash176 (Singapore)

Have always been a fan of 35mm field of view as it's balance of compression and perspective is pleasing to my eyes. The lens is very sharp and it's well built although it's a mixture of plastic and metal. Fast aperture allows me to shoot handheld at night without using flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

35mm highly recommend

SEL35F18F 18 July 2021 by Bruno2020 (United Kingdom)

This is my first sony lens and I so happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for portraits

SEL35F18F 29 June 2021 by Gilles (Australia)

Bought about 3 months ago and is very sharp as it's a prime lens

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Review from Ex-Nikon user

SEL35F18F//CSYX 16 June 2021 by Izzat R (Malaysia)

Prior to this lens, i was using Nikon Z6 with Nikkor 35mm f1.8 S lens. It was sharp, crazy sharp even at wide open. My eyes bleed just from viewing the image. JK. When i change the system to Sony, this is the only lens i can put side by side as comparison. Honestly, the sharpness is not as great as Nikon S lens, but given the size difference (and price), it is indeed acceptable. Not to mentioned smaller filter thread too (save some money there). One thing i really dislike, when in "off" position, the lens gives out "clunk2" sound, i thought something was broken internally. Not really a problem tho, totally gone when switched the camera on. Side notes, the metal construction really awesome, premium feel to it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dixon prieto

SEL35F18F 27 April 2021 by Dixon21 (USA)

Very good I like 35mm1.8 sony is the best for short films.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp Wide open

SEL35F18F//CSYX 01 April 2021 by GHong (Malaysia)

Excellent lens! Sharp wide open. Good close focus. Nice bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp, good contrast and fast AF

SEL35F18F//CSYX 31 March 2021 by Hazmee (Singapore)

This is a compact and lightweight lens. Great for an everyday lens. Its AF works flawlessly and the lens centre sharpness is amazing even at wide open apertures. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Results

SEL35F18F//CSYX 21 March 2021 by saac98 (Singapore)

Very satisfied with the results. Tested out in a few shoots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

daily starter lens recommended

SEL35F18F//CSYX 20 February 2021 by RL90 (Singapore)

Simple lens for daily use satisfied with the performance. See the below image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Amazing

SEL35F18F//CSYX 15 February 2021 by kentleejoon (Singapore)

Amazing image quality at a tiny size and price. I love this one so much!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens with a dreamy feel. What a value!

SEL35F18F 22 January 2021 by Beavermoon (USA)

Looking to fill the 35mm gap in my prime lineup, I contemplated the 35mm 1.4 GM at twice the price but figured at half the price I could test the 1.8 out to see if I liked the size before shelling out so much dough. After a few hundred landscape and portrait shots with this lens, I can't find any reason to upgrade. I love this lens, especially shooting in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL35F18F 18 January 2021  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens in December and have been blown away by it since! It’s super sharp and fantastic for film! Due to lockdown restrictions I haven’t been able to film as much as I would like, but looking forward to getting out later in the year and trying it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best value for money Sony 35mm - Easy

SEL35F18F 18 January 2021  (United Kingdom)

This lens is absolutely fantastic. The colours, contrast, and overall image quality is absolutely superb, even whilst at f1.8. I originally sold this lens to get a 35mm compact camera, and almost immediately regretted it. I bought this lens again, and have loved it ever since. Clients love the images it produces, I love the size and functionality of the lens, and what's best? It's a fraction of the price of the 35mm g-master. If you are umming and arring over which one to get, definitely choose this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very Sharp Lens

SEL35F18F//CSYX 15 January 2021 by aezejesus (Singapore)

This lens is perfect for both videography and photography. Very fast lens offering superb sharpness. Light and handy. As always, 35mm is ideal for portrait.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worth the money

SEL35F18F//CSYX 13 January 2021 by randykzc (Malaysia)

Very capable lens and also very affordable. although it is not those f1.4 lens, it really provides enough depth and also very good in terms of quality. able to render high res pic

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lightweight lens

SEL35F18F 09 December 2020 by Aaron Russell Photography (United Kingdom)

I absolutely love this lens. Super lightweight, compact and a joy to use. The sharpness is excellent edge to edge and focusing silent. I shoot weddings, and was missing this focal length as I have the 24mm 1.4 GM and 55mm 1.8 in this focal length area. I found the 24mm a little wide for family formals and the 55mm too to tight. This lens is perfect for the job and many other types of subjects. I’m also getting into video and having done a few test shoots it’s fast becoming the lens I’ll keep on my A7R4 for the job. Fast AF, silent and so lightweight. Love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp, fast focus and great colour

SEL35F18F//CSYX 08 November 2020 by Enjamifu (Singapore)

Awesome lens for street and also portraits with more background.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0