FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

$949.00

(AUD inc. GST)
39

4.7 based on 39 customer reviews

34
3
0
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

39 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 01 November 2018 by DJB609 (USA)

This is my first prime lens and after reading many reviews and watching countless videos I took the plunge. Amazing quality, tack sharp focus, quick in low light and the detail is sharp even at 6400 ISO. Not disappointed in this lens selection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Jury is Still Out

SEL85F18 28 October 2018  (USA)

Not long after purchase, I noticed the iris rapidly opening and closing while my A7RII was in aperture priority mode, AF-C mode and with the aperture set between 9 and 22. It was like the camera was rapidly zooming in and out even though it is a prime lens. With direction of a Sony representative during a chat session, sent lens and camera in for service at a service center in Connecticut. Both returned "cleaned" and "set to factory standards", but the aperture pulsating continues. I am unable to use this lens between f9 and f22 in A mode and AF-C mode. VERY UNHAPPY since it cost me $111.00 to send it in. Very possibly, it could be the camera, but I don't know since that is the only lens I have currently.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great Value

SEL85F18 29 September 2018  (USA)

I own many FE prime lenses and wanted to add this one as a lightweight option to my bag. It's sharp, has good bokeh and I actually like that it's not as creamy as other FE lenses though it can be a little soft on the edges. I love it for natural light and editorial, street or travel photography and reminds me a lot of the 50mm APS-C 1.8 which made me fall in love with Sony cameras and lenses. It's not a G master but if you're starting out and want a great portrait lens I highly recommend it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony FE 85mm 1.8

SEL85F18 03 September 2018 by Del1970 (United Kingdom)

Since this is the first lens i have purchased since the purchase of my A7r 111 this lens has been tested in depth over the last few weeks. The build quality is solid and feels like a very good quality lens, having come from Canon where i only used L lens this lens has the same feel although it is not weather sealed. So far i have had good results with this lens from portrait to Landscape. I bought this from an online retailer and paid what i concider a reasonible price for the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing.

SEL85F18 29 August 2018 by EddysEng (USA)

All the superlatives are true. This is an outstanding lens. Small. Light. F1.8! Great optics. Awesome bokeh. What more could you ask for -- especially at this price!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp !

SEL85F18 27 August 2018 by Crerand (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and am extremely pleased with the results. Minimal weight, great sharpness, colour and contrast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant Lens

SEL85F18 23 August 2018 by conguerrero (Australia)

Purchased two weeks ago to accompany a new A7. It's an amazing lens! Fast autofocus. Great low-light results. Impressively sharp. Great build quality.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Slow focus as well as front focus issues.

SEL85F18 21 August 2018 by Rich1968 (USA)

Bought this lens based on reviews...big mistake! Fortunately, I kept the receipt to return it minus re-stock fee. If you are a professional photographer of any kind and rely on images being sharp focus...avoid this lens at all cost. Spend the extra $$ and get the Sigma Art variant. First time I've ever been disappointed in a Sony product. The A7iii is AMAZING, and I use it all the time.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

12

0

Fast and light portrait lens

SEL85F18 08 August 2018 by Chris I (USA)

I bought it a few months ago and really happy with the fast focusing and easy handling. Great for portraits and even as a travel lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great low light performer

SEL85F18 01 August 2018 by jlozano281 (USA)

Bought this along with my A7R III. It is a solid lens and excellent Bokeh. I get great pictures even from fast moving toddlers and dogs. Even performs great on continuous shooting mode. The price point on this lens is the icing on the cake. Sure the GM is amazing, but this lens is 95% as good for less than half the price. You will not regret it. Get this lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing Image Quality

SEL85F18 23 July 2018 by bheist (USA)

This is my first native Sony lens and I am using it with an A7III. The focus speed is incredibly fast and accurate. The image quality is truly stunning. If you are looking for an 85 that wont break the bank but don't want to sacrifice image quality, this is the lens for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love it

SEL85F18 03 July 2018 by dougalrose (United Kingdom)

Have used it for two photoshoots - a school show and a for dance academy. So far I absolutely love it. Lovely pinpoint accurate focusing and depth of field. This is quickly becoming my go to lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Absolutely fantastic!

SEL85F18 22 June 2018 by Marcus51 (United Kingdom)

I am an amateur photographer and I was looking for a good portrait lens that was also compact enough to suit the A7iii camera body as well as being reasonably priced. I can only say that my expectations have been hugely exceeded, this lens is fantastic, it is super sharp, fast focusing especially with Eye AF, has terrific bokeh and is a perfect size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing

SEL85F18 21 June 2018 by Trumpeter01 (United Kingdom)

Beautiful Bokeh. Amazing sharp pictures. Very happy I decided to go for this lens..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic lens all around!

SEL85F18 31 May 2018 by EyePlumber (USA)

Lighweight, extremely sharp, quick and accurate focus. My only criticism is that it really can't focus very close at all, but it is pretty normal for an 85mm portrait lens. This is a great value and I love the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great, multi use lens.

SEL85F18 08 May 2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom)

Perfect for family portraits but also a great mid tele for landscapes. Bokah is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome Bokeh

SEL85F18 19 April 2018 by feelit (USA)

Bought this yesterday (4/17/2018) and received today (4/18/2018). Had the chance to test at home , but definitely putting it to the test this up coming weekend. The BOKEH is phenomenal! Awesome clarity and compression. Definitely looks like this will be my BUTTER lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Much better results than zoom lens.

SEL85F18 17 April 2018 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom)

Although really happy with the 24-70mm Sony zoom I wanted more optical isolation of my subject matter from the backgrounds and it really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Lens, Great Price!

SEL85F18 15 April 2018 by See Yee (USA)

If you have not own a prime portrait lens yet or looking to get one, this 85MM 1.8 is a must have for your setup. If you want nice BOKEH images and such this is a must have! Nicely build, feels good in the hand, small, sharp, and super quiet Auto focusing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Hands down my absolute favorite lens

SEL85F18 28 March 2018 by LenaNycPhoto (USA)

I purchased my 85 1.8 back in February it is now almost April and I carry it around with me constantly. My first Sony lens purchase was the G master 24-70 which I love but I do practice a lot of street photography and the 85 is easy to carry around. I was going to purchase the 85 1.4 G Master but I'm happy I went with a 1.8 because it's so much lighter and it's over half the cost. The bokeh is exquisite and the photos come out very sharp. Perfect portrait lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

8

0

0

As sharp as the Zeiss 55mm f1.8

SEL85F18 23 March 2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant. Get one. Lens hood is cheap tat but the lens is way better than the asking price. Good enough for pro work all day long.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp as a tack

SEL85F18 26 February 2018 by Taid (United Kingdom)

This is the perfect portrait lens. No need for the faster and more expensive version.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome sharpness and Beautiful Bokeh

SEL85F18 12 January 2018 by Sebascelis (USA)

I read about this lens in many reviews and everyome said it’s close to perfect, so I decided to buy it and wa not dissapointed at all. This lens is perfect, autofocuses unbelieavably fast and accurate, and the images it produces are breathtaking. I was worried about the lack of OSS (optical stabilization) but with the IBIS in my camera I REALLY don’t need it. I can shoot still objects at 1/8s completely sharp!!! The focus-by-wire is linear and not accelerates which I prefer and manual focus (together with my camera’s magnification focus-aid) is a joy. I strongly recommend this lens, for it’s price, is my best lens so far (lightweight, small, fast...).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Best bang fot the buck!

SEL85F18 20 December 2017 by dmeds (USA)

Very sharp images from this lens. Wonderfully creamy bokeh, fast, accurate, silent focus. Lightweight and a lot of bang for the buck. I recently moved from Nikon to Sony and have no regrets whatsoever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0