FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

$749.00

(AUD inc. GST)
189

4.8 based on 189 customer reviews

160
23
1
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

189 Customer Reviews

0

A most have lens

SEL85F18 15 October 2021 by Travelman (United Kingdom)

Although this lens has been designed with Full Frame cameras in mind I have been using it with my a6500, and a6400 cameras. It’s a joy to use because of the way the otpics renders colours and detail. On my apps-c cameras it has an effective focal length of 127.5mm which I have found useful for both my photography and when I am filming. Defocused background looks great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Run of the mill - Better out there

SEL85F18 14 October 2021 by BobbyDu (United Kingdom)

Contrary to the more than capable 85mm, I personally prefer JUPITER-9 2/85. Why? Better bokeh, easy manual focusing and stellar results, has character and is superior to the Sony 85mm (my opinion). The Sony 85mm maybe more than capable but the results are 'staid' - in the fact that practcally all modern lenses will produce pretty much the same characteristics (lack of characteristics) and will not elevate your photography. In a word - MEH...

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Brilliant value and high performing lens.

SEL85F18 13 October 2021 by Paul13Walnut5 (United Kingdom)

Although far from inexpensive it is acutally great value, solidly built, lovely bokeh and will push your sensor to the limit in terms of resolving power. Bright but not heavy, fast and accurate to focus. I can't really come up with a downside. Not as flexible as a zoom, but a stop and a half brighter, a no-brainer for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens, very sharp, I really enjoy it

SEL85F18 13 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens about two months ago and I've been using it even for street photography. Is very sharp and I really enjoy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lens with amazing image quality.

SEL85F18 13 October 2021 by Paul1979 (United Kingdom)

This lens is excellent. The focus is fast and the sharpness wide open is really good. Theres no OSS in this lens, with my old A7 I would occasionally get some motion blur but with the IBIS in the A7RII I no longer have an issue. Not a big or heavy lens either, so balances well on the small A7 bodies. Having borrowed a friends 85mm Zeiss Batis to compare, I'm glad I didn't spend the extra money and go for the Batis because theres virtually no difference in the performance of these 2 lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens

SEL85F18 13 October 2021 by ShotsByDaz (United Kingdom)

Absolutely stunning lens. Nice boca, decent compression and surprisingly sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL85F18 13 October 2021 by sony85user (United Kingdom)

Great lens for portraits, gets the most out of the Full Frame system with really shallow depth of field, nice bokeh and excellent sharpness. Must buy if you're after a nice portrait lens but don't have the budget for the Sony F1.4 (it's also quite compact).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Died after 2 years

SEL85F18 01 October 2021 by DaveSiegel01 (USA)

I liked this lens until it simply stopped working during a shoot on location. It was a complete electrical failure, nothing physical. Sony repair said it would cost more to fix than it was worth. I now own a $600 paper weight!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great portrait lens

SEL85F18 01 October 2021 by MeerkoT (United Kingdom)

I have this lens for almost three months now and love it! Photos taken with it are sharp and the bokeh is very nice! In some light conditions I can see a chromatic aberration but otherwise I am very satisfied!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

SEL85F18 SYX 29 September 2021 by Dietergod (Malaysia)

I bought this last month and so happy with the product quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Portraiture

SEL85F18 SYX 08 September 2021 by ROmanzA (Malaysia)

Slapped on this lens onto an APS-C body & it becomes an almost 130mm 35-equivalent (effective 128mm). Renders crisp outline with relatively nice fall-off subject matter. With newer camera bodies, the color is very pleasant. Bokeh is very satisfying. Overall must-have lens in the bag. (Not tested on a FF camera body.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp, fast focus.

SEL85F18 SYX 28 August 2021 by Jhajanx (Indonesia)

I bought this lens its because i like candid..Fast focus is very help full, Sharpness n smooth bokeh is one of point. Good build ..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL85F18 20 August 2021 by Alantq12 (United Kingdom)

Great lens and build quality better than some of the Canon L lenses I have had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp, fast and compact

SEL85F18 19 July 2021 by Maciej Wo (United Kingdom)

F 1.8 makes the difference when you shoot a portrait. Previously I used lenses 2.8 or darker. The lens is sharp, small and light. The only downside is a bit of purple fringing on a very contrasty white - black subjects. Software should help with this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 13 July 2021 by Cesda (Singapore)

No regret to finally decided to buy this lens for its quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Geat Bokeh

SEL85F18 15 June 2021 by Anish (Australia)

This lens has proved to be a good investment. It might not be as good as the G master, but for a fraction of the cost, I get a similar result.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL85F18 SYX 03 April 2021 by Harkiran (Malaysia)

A superb lens for portrait photography. The bokey is fantastic. The picture quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Per cost this might be the best lens Sony sells

SEL85F18 01 April 2021 by F15Todd (USA)

Bought this lens when I was in the middle of switching over to Sony and I was looking for fast glass that would be good to cover poorly light basketball arenas. The f/1.8 lets in a lot of light, the lens is fast focusing and able to handle fast action sports, it also doubles as a wonderful portrait lens. You can't go wrong with this lens and the price can't be beat.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Handles nice

SEL85F18 30 March 2021 by Lucky7234 (USA)

Haven't had it long enough to use it much yet. Time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 26 March 2021 by Ahmed Sedqi (USA)

I exchanged my 85mm GM with this beautiful compact lens to fit with my A7C Note: the GM 85mm is amazing. Thanks sony I am waiting the Version 2 of 85mm GM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent lens with great sharpness

SEL85F18 04 March 2021 by Dp_uk_ (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens a few weeks and been really impressed with it. The lens is a nice weight and easy to use, I really like the af mf switch which I use alot and the programmable lens button which is great because you can change the button to work how you want it to. Mine is set to get focus which is my favorite use for it. The image quality is excellent im seriously impressed with it. For the price I didn't expect the lens to perform as good as it has even wide open at F1.8 the lens is sharp but stopped down to F4 its razor sharp. The bokeh is nice but for me bokeh is really subjective and not something I put huge amounts of stock into. I've used the lens for a lot of video work as well and its sharpness is excellent and it focuses very quickly on the subject and its quiet when in use so a great lens for video. I use this lens on my A7iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Lens

SEL85F18 05 February 2021 by Jet57 (United Kingdom)

This 85mm Sony lens used on my A7Rlll is a great partnership, sharp and fast, definite thumbs up for this Sony-branded lens more than happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the bokeh

SEL85F18 SYX 30 January 2021 by Joseph2020 (Singapore)

The easiest way to created creative photo is to make use of bokeh and this lens is the perfect tool for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

OK, not good, not great. Pronounced CA.

SEL85F18 22 January 2021 by Beavermoon (USA)

I wanted to like this lens as I own several other Sony lenses, but the 85mm 1.8 just fell short of being good on several fronts. First, there were two large dust specs inside the lens that I noticed the first time I mounted the lens (Quality Control?). Second, the Chromatic Aboration was excessive when shooting anything with a silver-tone next to a dark background or any dark item with sharp lines. Third, when shooting F2.8 or below, the sharpness drops heavy just outside the center, and vignetting is heavier than I expected. For these reasons, I returned the lens. The camera store was understanding and took it back without a problem. I put the money toward a different lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0