FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

$878.00

(AUD inc. GST)
69

4.7 based on 69 customer reviews

59
7
0
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

70 Customer Reviews

0

Razor sharp

SEL85F18 30 September 2019 by Geotzen (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens after reading various reviews for 85mm category. Did not want to spend a fortune so this lens had the best price/quality ratio for my budget. I'm extremely pleased with image quality. Also AF, build quality, and overall feeling are great. Highly recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing light weight lens.

SEL85F18 14 September 2019 by Dommy the tommy (United Kingdom)

I've had several fast lenses in my time but this lens is a true winner IMHO. Sharp everywhere, super fast focus and light enough to hold and use all day long. My results are astounding and beyond expectations. We'll done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect balance & sharp images

SEL85F18 31 August 2019 by Pauls Studio (United Kingdom)

Having bought the A7R3 with the kit lense 24-105 F4 I wanted a prime with a wider apreture and this F1.4 is such good vaule and had excellant reviews. it balances nicely with the camera and is super sharp and bright

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing quality at budget cost

SEL85F18 29 August 2019 by Sunflower_pics (USA)

This lens is best for portrait photography and outdoor photography. There is no other option available at this prices yet. Loved it's sharpness, bokeh and smoothness. Weight and grip is a good for handling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best image quality

SEL85F18 20 July 2019 by ClydeA (USA)

Ive been using this for almost a year. Its the best on the market in terms of image quality and AF. Just 4 stars because compared to other brands, this is almost twice the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor quality

SEL85F18 18 July 2019 by Alexg8254 (USA)

I purchased this lens 1 year ago and all of a sudden stop working not focusing, wasn’t drop or anything it looks like new for it not to work very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

A perfect portrait lens

SEL85F18 17 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

A truly excellent lens for the price, cannot find any negatives with image or build quality, even shooting wide open at f1.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent !!!!

SEL85F18 08 July 2019 by ljcolina (USA)

I'm very happy with this lens, is excellent I love !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great affordable prime

SEL85F18 28 June 2019 by G4RKO (United Kingdom)

Very happy with lens........ ..... .........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Excellent Portrait lens

SEL85F18 24 June 2019 by helendee1408 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens with super results. Very pleased with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL85F18 08 June 2019 by Ty _dnb (United Kingdom)

I purchased this Lens a month ago when and I’m not dissatisfied. It’s incredibly sharp and works amazing with the eye af system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL85F18 07 June 2019 by PFJ59 (United Kingdom)

Moved to Sony from Nikon I was worried about image quality but blown away by the excellent images from this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens!

SEL85F18 03 June 2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

Superb lens! Very sharp from 1.8 to 8. 1.8 has a very scary narrow depth of field naturally. I usually use it a couple of stops down. Bokeh is great, if thats what you crave. For the size its light and easy to carry. I find it very useful for isolating subjects at 5.6 and above. Little bit pricey for what it is, but far better value than the 1.4 with equal quality. Who needs 1.4 and for that matter, who needs 1.8, 2.8 would have been fine! Great lens! If portraits are your thing, buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best portrait lens!

SEL85F18 21 May 2019 by MayaMo (United Kingdom)

The quality is absolutely amazing! This is the best lens for portrait photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

SEL85F18 12 May 2019 by Cameraman999 (United Kingdom)

I had been using the 24-240 lens and enjoyed it but the 85 f1.8 is much lighter and so sharp with no colour aberration that I have experienced as yet. It is possibly not for vedeographers because the lens 'breathes' as it checks focus - but I bought it for still shots and it's excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus

SEL85F18 11 May 2019 by Edgar25943 (USA)

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus. Fast and quiet, great for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Sharp

SEL85F18 04 May 2019 by Ben Jones (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 3months ago after playing with it at the photography show and what can i say? The lens hasn't left my camera since buying it. it is incredibly sharp and the auto-focus is on point, even in low light situations. I couldn't be happier! Pros: Super sharp even wide open. a nice size on the a7iii focus hold button (i've assigned this to eye auto focus) build is great Cons: None really! minor issue is in the design of the focus hold button, I would like to see it on the lens twice so when using the camera in a vertical position you can still use your thumb. overall: excellent value for money for a fast super sharp prime lens. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great future

SEL85F18 01 May 2019 by Mila7 (USA)

I bougth this lense for portraits and close up photography and happy with result. Reasonable price. Beautiful bokhen. Good for low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good quality lens that delivers.

SEL85F18 07 April 2019 by Doclis (United Kingdom)

I bought the lense for photographing artwork, allowing myself to get behind the two soft boxes when shooting smaller pieces. I'm delighted with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL85F18 01 April 2019 by Redrsr (United Kingdom)

To get the best out of the A7Riii sensor I decided on primes, this one is a cracker, super sharp, lovely bokeh, fast focusing, nothing to fault, looking at the f1.4 it’s a bit of a bargain

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens. Great price.

SEL85F18 31 March 2019 by Mpayne99 (United Kingdom)

I’ve been using this lens for 4 months. It’s great in the studio and out in the field. Super sharp. Lightweight and lovely and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Portrait Perfection

SEL85F18 30 March 2019 by Ajbrickyard (USA)

An excellent piece of glass and is a heavenly match with my a7iii!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It’s so sharp and fast.

SEL85F18 24 March 2019 by Gigshots Peter (United Kingdom)

I wasn’t sure whether to get the 1.4 or the 1.8 but glad I saved the money. So far it’s doing an excellent job at low light music gigs for stills and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

More than worth the cost

SEL85F18 17 March 2019 by Azenturi (USA)

Not to diss Sony's higher-end lenses, but for most people, this is a better idea than the 85mm G Master. It's unbelievably sharp wide open, only gets better as you stop down, it's light, it's small, and it's built solidly out of metal. Focus is super quick in bright light and acceptably fast in low light. Said focus also needs your ear literally pressed against the lens to hear it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0