$1,599.00

(AUD inc. GST)
38

4.8 based on 38 customer reviews

32
6
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38 Customer Reviews

0

My Go-To Portrait/Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 04 July 2018 by PostMark (USA)

This lens is so flexible. I can shoot the sharpest of macro with the creamy bokeh. I use it on my a6500, A7rii and A7riii I am no professional. But this lens can make you feel like one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

two shot in one stone

SEL90M28G 23 April 2018 by Andy2k79 (USA)

i return my 85F1.8 to purchase this lens , is great for macro and portrait. very happy with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good macro lens, Bokeh could be better.

SEL90M28G 07 April 2018 by Linkmodo (USA)

The Sony 90mm Macro lens is extremely sharp with minimal distortion. The build in OSS works well. The camera body is constructed of mostly metal, including the focusing ring. The push/pull AF/MF switch is convenient to use. This macro uses an electronic focus-by-wire system but with a well implimented physical distance indicator on the lens for those who need it. The focusing speed is average, not too fast but not too slow either. It uses a silent wave motor so focusing is very quiet. One thing I wish the lens would have is some more grip texture, as the lens is constructed of the smooth metal surface it gets slippery when your hand gets sweaty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony's most versatile lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2018 by gwhale_photo (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and I'm very happy with my purchase. I have used this lens for stills and video on a Sony A7RII and it's overall quality and sharpness is incredible. I can use this lens in various situations such as for food, macro or portrait photography with its telephoto focal length a F/2.8 aperture. This lens also has a really creamy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great!

SEL90M28G 11 March 2018 by DCCO (USA)

Got 6 4 moths ago. Superb performance on a6500 and 7sII.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Above my wildest dreams

SEL90M28G 04 March 2018 by James99 (Australia)

So what's with Sony putting a G on G Master for .... possibly the sharpest lens in the world with great Bokeh for portrait work and macro to die for .... this is a dual purpose "must have" no arguments end of story. Thanks Sony for the best glass possible !

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent sharp lens

SEL90M28G 28 February 2018 by AshokNair (USA)

The 90 f 2.8 lens is excellent. I have used for my macro and food photography. I am extremely pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The sharpest lens I have ever touched

SEL90M28G 18 February 2018 by Kmanphotography (USA)

I can't say enough about this lens. The more I use it, the more I fall in love with it. I use it on an a6500 so a 135mm FF equivalent focal length. It's an incredible macro lens and an equally impressive portrait lens. The AF isn't very quick but that's because of obvious reasons. This lens is sharper than anything I have ever used. Sharper than Sony's 85mm f1.4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing close-ups

SEL90M28G 02 February 2018 by joey005 (USA)

I purchased this lens about a month ago and I have been very impressed with the clarity and bokeh when shooting close-ups. Very easy to lock focus compared to other macro lenses and is sharp from the center to the edges of the focal plane. Although it also functions as a very sharp portrait lens, the bokeh when capturing portraits is not nearly as smooth as it is for close-ups. The further you get from your subject the more "swirly" the out of focus area gets. Nevertheless, it functions amazingly for its intended purpose as a macro lens. There is virtually no distortion, color fringing or chromatic aberration. It is an excellent product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very sharp macro prime lens

SEL90M28G 02 February 2018  (United Kingdom)

Have not had this lens very long but it is already a favourite lens for my A7R mk1. It is very sharp and it is great to use a prime lens once again after so many zooms which just make me a lazy photographer. Not over keen on the auto focus as it tends to take too long to hunt the best focus - however the manual focus is excellent and is very easy and quick to use especially for macro work. Not as light as I would like but it does produce excellent results. Rather expensive but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great marco lens

SEL90M28G 30 January 2018 by LG71 (United Kingdom)

Great macro lens, would have loved a 1.8 aperture though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

a beast...

SEL90M28G 13 November 2017 by BatIvko (USA)

Hi there let me just say that this lens is a beast! Honestly if you can not produce a beautiful image with this one there is something wrong with you camera. I'm using this lens with a6000 and the results are great. I can only imagine what full frame will do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12 November 2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL90M28G 09 November 2017 by bbac (United Kingdom)

Have only had a couple of weeks but this is an excellent lens. I have been a Nikon user for some years (previously with Canon) but I am now totally going over to Sony and I am really impressed with the results. Add to that how light the equipment is to carry and this is important these days with reduced in-flight baggage restrictions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT PORTRAIT/MACRO CAMERA

SEL90M28G 18 October 2017 by APG17 (USA)

VERY IMPRESSIVE 90MM MACRO WORK AND PORTRAIT CAPABILITIES. COULD BE BEST IN MY BAG!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

FE 90mm F2.8 - WOW & MUST HAVE

SEL90M28G 07 September 2017 by rodriguesn84 (United Kingdom)

Sony has got 5 different lenses for Full Frame E- mounts Mirrorless Cameras available when it comes to Macro & Close Ups. If you're really looking to have outstanding images, the Sony FE 90MM F2.8 is the BEST one within the Sony line of Lens for Macro. Please note that this lens can be used as a portrait lens as well, and the results are just as great as macro images. Yes it is very expensive to buy this lens, but I've always said this and will always stand by it. I believe in buying expensive gear, because they will last for a very long time, as long as you take care of it. I've got a huge OCD when it comes to taking care of all my gear, be it musical instruments, video gear & camera gear. They're all in a MINT CONDITION. I am also very grateful that this lens was given to me as a payment for a project that I am currently working on, thank you very much - you know who you are. Bottom line: Would I recommend the Sony FE 90MM F2.8 Macro Lens? YES. Buy it & you won't regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Amateur Enthusiast

SEL90M28G 13 August 2017 by Zach11 (USA)

Currently shooting with A6500, and just thrilled with overall performance. Mainly using for Macro and it doesn't disappoint. Love the manual focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Promising item

SEL90M28G 28 July 2017 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom)

Pleased with the macro image quality, once the focus is established. In low light the MF collar is useful. Yet to be 100% proficient with the lens but will be an ideal replacement for a Zeiss Makro-Planar 60mm f2.8 used with a E-mount to C/Y adaptor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

An Excellent Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 22 July 2017 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom)

A good sharp macro lens with useful features, MF and focus freeze, OSS is a real help when slow shutter speeds are needed. A bit pricey, but overall it`s worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The perfect lens for Macro Photography.

SEL90M28G 14 June 2017 by TheFerdinand (USA)

I bought the a6300 a few weeks ago. I wasn't happy with the kit lens' image quality, so I decided to make an investment on a high-end lens and bought this one. After a few days of playing with the settings in my camera, I managed to get some amazing shots. I am not a professional, just an amateur. I don't know much about photography, but with this babe I feel like one. I am still learning how to shoot in manual. But using the auto mode still produces beautiful images especially when shooting in natural daylight. I am attaching a few photos. Hopefully they can be uploaded in high resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

The FE90 Macro does it all

SEL90M28G 13 June 2017 by Dave W (USA)

This is the macro lens that I have been waiting for for years. It has 1 to 1 magnification without an extension tube and internal focusing. Imaging quality is equal to the best competition and ease of use in fantastic. It also will double as an excellent portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sharp results

SEL90M28G 01 June 2017 by Swanney (United Kingdom)

This lens was a replacemnt for a larger 105mm macro which I had used with my previous alpha series cameras. Having moved to the E mount system I needed a suitable lens. This had excellent reviews and has performed bery well so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic lens

SEL90M28G 02 May 2017 by jl328 (USA)

I really love this lens. The build is solid, easy to use. The optics produce clear sharp excellent photos. I also have the 50mm macro. The 90 mm is my preference by far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

High quality construction & precise focusing

SEL90M28G 02 April 2017 by Deepfield (United Kingdom)

I bought this from a camera store in Euston London and was given some pretty convincing advise why I should have it. I have used it to take about 150 or so shots and notice that a great deal of precision is required in setting up the scene to get near perfect results which slowly I am getting now. I use a Sony Alfa 7RMII which is quite a new purchase. It is large compared to my go to lens Sony Zeiss 55mm 1.8 but walking around London for a day with it wasn't too much hardship it is quite long but but balanced with the camera. The images from the top of the Tate Modern over London and inside the museum were very interesting as were the ones of family. It focuses very quickly and silently but be sure to set the focus limiter on the left side correctly otherwise the lens hunts to focus to much. The manual focus is an excellent benefit and really allows you to focus right in deep by magnifying your subject then fire your shot for very precise results.The steady-shot switch is a help when the wind was blowing although the focus hold I have not used much at this stage. I am still getting used to it but I am pleased with the purchase and I know it will lift my game further. Try it and you might get hooked.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2