$5,299.00

(AUD inc. GST)
33

4.7 based on 33 customer reviews

25
7
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

An esoteric classic

DSC-RX1RM2 05 December 2016 by MNB1 (United Kingdom)

I had the original RX1 and although it could be difficult to use sometimes, the images it was capable of 'painting' were just outstanding. The RX1R II builds on the original, improving the image quality, but also improving practically everything else at the same time. As a result, the RX1R II is just so enjoyable to use, with faster auto focus and in much lower light than before, face detection AF (this is amazing) and that lovely built in viewfinder. The build is the same as the original – it feels like a solid chunk of metal. It is such a neat and clever little package - it just wants to be picked up and used! And because it is so small, it isn't intimidating, so has the potential of taking far more natural shots of people. A lot of work was put into this camera (and the originals) by its designers, and it shows. I thank Sony for having the foresight and the vision to create these RX1 cameras in the first place. They are true classics, and very, very special.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

great cameras but expect much better quality price

DSC-RX1RM2 19 January 2019 by mogolter (USA)

i have had a bunch of sony cameras, from the NEX series to the RX100 to the A7 and now the RX1R ii. None of the cheaper models i had lasted too long but they were much cheaper with this camera i expect better, "professional" quality as sony calls it. the image quality is very nice no doubt but some of the controls feel subpar for this price. Flimsy control wheels etc. now the EVF simply stopped working for now particular reason. For this price a three year lifespan is just embarrassing .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

33 Customer Reviews

0

Still the best!

DSC-RX1RM2 03 September 2019  (USA)

Had the RX1 now owning the RX1R II which makes life a lot easier because of the faster AF and the build-in EVF. The Megapixels are a welcome addition. Best thing though: they kept the ZEISS Sonnar 35/2 which still is one of my alltime favorites. I use it mostly always wide open. The Bokeh transition is unbelievable. I shoot the RX alongside my Nikon Z7 but the 35 and Its compact form factor makes it the perfect reportage camera. People are just reacting differently to it. Was thinking about the Q2 but 28mm is just not my cup of tea. One more thing: had my cameras through really bad weather, beaches and hot kitchens and never had a problem. Who needs Weather sealing, if you not drain your cameras?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Legendary Camera - please update to RX1R III now!

DSC-RX1RM2 24 July 2019 by johp (USA)

I have the Sony RX1, the RX1R m1 and m2 but this camera needs two things to make it the best compact full frame ever made: 1) better AF (use the latest A7 or A9 tech) and 2) better battery (use the Sony Z battery if possible). Sony can leave the sensor and lens alone because they are exceptionally good. Just those two changes, Sony, and you will have a legendary full frame compact that will be better than the Leica Q2.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

A Great Walking Around Camera

DSC-RX1RM2 12 July 2019 by LBrook (USA)

This is my go to camera. When traveling I always take my RX1RII. On major trips, it's in the bag with my a7RII. Although you're stuck with a fixed 35mm lens, it is a fabulous point & shot camera and much easier to carry around than my a7. I love the low light capability and the image quality of this little camera. One photographer called it a great street camera....I couldn't agree more. It is expensive, but in my opinion, if you can afford it...get it! You will fall in love with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Impressive resolution

DSC-RX1RM2 21 June 2019 by apGwallter (United Kingdom)

Impressed by reviews, I sold 2 Panasonic cameras and lenses to purchase this one. I actually like a fixed focal length, and 35mm is my preferred choice. I am also an admirer of Zeiss optics. Image resolution is excellent. I find, however, that there are too many features and an over complicated menu system. I prefer the Leica approach to features and menus, but the Q is not for me. However, one can reduce the need to access the main menu but assigning functions to various keys - excellent. The EVF is a delight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Awesome cam

DSC-RX1RM2 22 May 2019 by JacquesAP (United Kingdom)

Bought this for aerial photography use and it’s a game changer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Small Wonder

DSC-RX1RM2 27 April 2019 by WJAtk (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to go along side my A7R3 and haven't been disappointed, image quality is excellent, on par with my A7R3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

great cameras but expect much better quality price

DSC-RX1RM2 19 January 2019 by mogolter (USA)

i have had a bunch of sony cameras, from the NEX series to the RX100 to the A7 and now the RX1R ii. None of the cheaper models i had lasted too long but they were much cheaper with this camera i expect better, "professional" quality as sony calls it. the image quality is very nice no doubt but some of the controls feel subpar for this price. Flimsy control wheels etc. now the EVF simply stopped working for now particular reason. For this price a three year lifespan is just embarrassing .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Profesional

DSC-RX1RM2 13 August 2018 by triglav341 (United Kingdom)

This is a very expensive, top of the range, professional camera, which gives outstanding results every time. It is a pleasure to use, and exactly what I was looking for. Well done Sony! My only complaint is "The instruction manual" It is written on paper so thin you can see the text on the other side, moisture from your fingers wrinkles the pages, and is just stapled together. At a price of £3000 I would expect, not one, but two good quality manuals, one basic, and the other in-depth so I can get the most out of this superb camera. It is just not the same referring the computer all the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Absolutely Stunning Image Quality

DSC-RX1RM2 07 July 2018 by HermanL (USA)

I bought this camera for my trip to Japan. I was amazed on the crispness and quality. It has a very small footprint which makes it easy for traveling with a shoulder strap. Controls are easy to make quick adjustments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

0

Great Features Small Package

DSCRX1RM2/B 05 July 2018 by SqrlLrd (USA)

Got Tired Of Luging Around a full size DSLR on my vacations. This camera is great, fits in a shoulder bag with plenty of room for guide book, sunscreen, and snacks. takes great pictures and can download them to my smartphone so I can send them to family and friends. Really happy with this camera. Only drawbacks are 1: its a bit of a power hog so a spare battery is a must. 2: have found the 35mm only lens a bit frustrating at times. (I've learned to do more editing as a result, but being able to zoom from 24mm- 80mm would just make this camera perfect)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

An amazing camera

DSC-RX1RM2 04 July 2018 by phillipsr (USA)

Truely a wonderful camera. It is great as a travel camera, has the play memories application software, can really be the only camera you need. The 35F2 lens is spectacular.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Miniaturization at its technical best.

DSC-RX1RM2 14 May 2018 by Reglin (United Kingdom)

I am at an age when carrying around 2 + kilos of cameras, lenses and associated equipment has become a real problem for me. I have been using Canon DSLR bodies and "L" lenses for quite a few years and have always been very impressed with the quality of image etc. Making up my mind to cut way down on equipment has been a very trying time, however, I was fortunate enough to be in a position to test a few quality CSC's and Compacts, some were interesting and others very poor. The camera that kept jumping out at me was the Sony RXIR II, I was intrigued by some of the comments I read and heard and finally decided to take the plunge and buy one. I relunctantly part exchanged the majority of my equipment and ordered the Sony, a difficult day I can tell you, turns out to be the best move I could have made, I am, quite honestly, besotted with this little gem. The quality of image in whatever mode I decide to use can be outstanding, even the odd macro picture proves to be quite a revelation at times. I will no doubt miss some of my Canon gear, I don't, however, miss lugging around all the weight though! A perfect Camera to ease me through my old age and be still able to take a quality picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

19

4

0

Pocket Powerhouse

DSC-RX1RM2 05 May 2018 by Taid (United Kingdom)

I use only prime lenses and favour 35mm. The fact that I cannot change the lens on this small camera does not worry me. I found the slightly larger Leica Q (at 28mm) just too wide (though it is a great camera) and so bought the RX1R MkII. It is excellent. The menu is extensive and can be reduced to easily accessible "favourites" using the Fn button. Images are brilliant and sharp. This is a Full-Frame small camera that will happily live alongside my Leica CL that I use when I need changeable prime lenses. The RX1R MkII will be my travelling companion (but I do take a lot of (cheap) batteries as they are quite small).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Outstanding compact full frame

DSC-RX1RM2 08 April 2018 by Tommy10 (United Kingdom)

Travelling light is important so Sony impressed me with what could be packed into a small, robust body. Full frame images are outstanding. The menu set is demanding but worth the effort to access such great customization and flexibility. As expected the quality of the sensor creates superb images. As always learning this camera well brings great dividends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Amazing Camera

DSCRX1RM2/B 14 March 2018 by DrKP (USA)

I purchased RX1, 4 years ago and was so satisfied that I decided to buy and gift this to my son in law on arrival of their new baby girl, This is am amazing compact light DRL camera one of its kind with simple shoot features as well as most advanced features, so easy to use. This new model is RX1 II , with a built in view finder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Fantastic image quality

DSC-RX1RM2 03 March 2018 by RLJA (United Kingdom)

I had an RX100 camera first and moving on to this RX1R II was really easy, all the controls and menus are in logical places. Don't listen to the reviews that say it is complicated, it isn't. It took a while to remember that the focus mode is now a switch, not a menu, but that was all the learning required of me. Image quality is incredibly good, even with the lens wide open. Single click lens correction is available in photoshop too which means vignetting is gone in seconds. Focussing is quite fast, nothing like as quick as the RX100, but as it's accurate you get a good hit rate. An often stated negative is battery life, but if you're spending this much on a camera just buy two more batteries. Three batteries means I can shoot all day without worry and they are small enough not to be an effort to carry. I'm pleased Sony prioritised camera size over battery life. Build quality is very good. All the controls feel solid and positive. Weather sealing would have been nice. The only negative is lack of 4k video recording, as this is often the only camera I carry and occasionally it's nice to grab a decent video of a scene. That said, I bought it for stills and it is incredibly good at taking those.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

My RX1RM11 is Simply a Joy to shoot with!

DSC-RX1RM2 11 February 2018 by Mr Simon (United Kingdom)

Owned the RX1R11 for two weeks now, a camera has never been so much fun! The menus are a pleasure and, for me, intuitive. Switching between auto through screen, to manual is simple and solid. Switching up to the RX1R11 from a DSC R100 m3 has been a GOOD MOVE! I would love to share some photos but they are too large to post here, sad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

The smallest professional camera in the world!

DSC-RX1RM2 30 December 2017 by sereshka60 (USA)

This is my third camera from RX1 series.This particular camera I bought over two years ago and still it amazed and please me every time I go out to take a pictures. Two thumbs up,Sony and of course waiting for the model from RX1 legacy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

It was the RX1R I bought and not the RX1R II.

DSC-RX1RM2 09 December 2017 by LPS1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a mouth ago and I am still happy with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

7

0

Great carry everywhere camera

DSC-RX1RM2 05 October 2017 by SteveA50 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a compact camera that was not only a great take everywhere point and shoot but also a serious image making device. Having owned the camera for 9 months I am not disappointed in any respect. The lens is superb the full frame sensor produces a very satisfactory image. The only downside is the cost hence 4 stars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Simply Phenomenal!

DSC-RX1RM2 11 July 2017 by EdoTera (United Kingdom)

I've been shooting professional and personal work for a few weeks now on the RX1RM2 and I keep being amazed by this tiny camera. Amazing image quality and very user friendly. Batteries only last around 200 shots, so definitely recommend a few spare batteries. I also bought the thumb grip which makes shooting much more comfortable. Highly recommended!! See my Instagram @terakopian for some examples shot on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Extraordinary potentials in the arts

DSC-RX1RM2 23 June 2017 by syates (USA)

Working with several of various RX100s in recent years, replacing Nikons after decades of work as an artist and scholar worldwide, acquired the finer RX1R II professional after announced to be on the market by Sony after reading specs. Never looked back. Continually surprised by newfound qualities in color, resolution and other digitally captured features when fine printing into large scale (4x6'+) prints with the Epson 9900 professional printer in the studio for site-specific installations globally. Trained in painting and printmaking in formative university years, there are qualities realized here thanks to the RX1R II never experienced to any great degree in photography. Yet with hands-on visual potentials unfolding especially with color to contribute photographically in extraordinary ways beyond other mediums and media. Now acquired by museum collections internationally, the work to expand newer directions thanks to the remarkable digital camera system is hardly limited by the imagination.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

my camera

DSC-RX1RM2 09 June 2017 by to much (United Kingdom)

the camera is the right size,with the right features that I need. meaning small and compact with a 35mm sensor giving great picture quality and the one feature that the previous camera did not have a built in an EVF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Performance and weight

DSC-RX1RM2 09 April 2017 by bj80 (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera for 10 days and know that I have made the right decision. Being an active members of a Camera Club and an Audio Visual Group I needed quality and this I have without excessive weight. Eureka!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0