80

4.7 based on 80 customer reviews

67
10
0
0
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 22 December 2015  (United Kingdom)

Very impressed with this radio, the sound is superb, makes our other two DAB radios of similar dimensions sound pathetic. The Sony was easy to set up,have recommended this product to others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A good product made bad by poorly designed switch

XDR-P1DBP 09 May 2018 by Markx (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound and reception for a small radio. Built in rechargeable battery is very good.It is let down by an on/off switch that is not durable enough. This is the second of these radios I have purchased and the switch has broken on both. The design is clearly flawed, and I am not the only customer to have experienced this. Sony continue to insist all is well....it is a pity as I would certainly have bought another one if this was not the case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

80 Customer Reviews

0

A good product made bad by poorly designed switch

XDR-P1DBP 09 May 2018 by Markx (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound and reception for a small radio. Built in rechargeable battery is very good.It is let down by an on/off switch that is not durable enough. This is the second of these radios I have purchased and the switch has broken on both. The design is clearly flawed, and I am not the only customer to have experienced this. Sony continue to insist all is well....it is a pity as I would certainly have bought another one if this was not the case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice pocket digital/FM radio

XDR-P1DBP 03 May 2018 by MrHat (Australia)

This is a sensitive and great sounding radio. More sensitive than the Sangean pocket radio and less digital hash background noise. The preset station buttons are handy as is the sleep timer.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Don’t be put off by the size

XDR-P1DBP 21 April 2018 by Mo7777 (United Kingdom)

A brilliant little radio with good quality sound and pleasing to the eye and touch.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent portable DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 23 March 2018 by Dabbler998 (United Kingdom)

Very happy and got a good price at John Lewis although still quite expensive. Surprised DAB hasn’t been more popular so much more reliable sound quality. I hear FM has been given a reprieve?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great portable DAB radio

XDR-P1DBP 22 January 2018 by Captain Bob (United Kingdom)

Had this as a Christmas present and really pleased with it. Very compact with excellent sound quality. Perfect for listening to the Test Matches whilst on the move

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Radio

XDR-P1DBP 18 January 2018 by meldab (United Kingdom)

This Sony radio is great on features and handy to take with you. Has FM DAB and DAB+ . It’s as I expected from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

As close to a perfect small radio as you can get

XDR-P1DBP 07 January 2018 by PaulTheOnlyOne (United Kingdom)

Had the radio a few weeks now. It picks up DAB in parts of my house where no other radio has worked. Volume is amazing for such a small speaker. Perfect for me to keep in touch with my favourite BBC Radio 4. For the next version Sony please add streaming then it will be completely perfect!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very useful radio

XDR-P1DBP 12 October 2017 by JJS50 (United Kingdom)

Excellent radio which I have been using for a year now. Only disappointment is low volume when used with (Sonly) in-ear phones whereas volume from speaker is very good..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Output

XDR-P1DBP 08 May 2017 by Clim (Australia)

Absolutely Fabulous. My car stereo has packed up. I did not want to mess around with the wiring system of my vintage car. This fabulous transistor radio replaces my car stereo and more! Surprisingly great sounds from classical channel!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best small DAB Radio

XDR-P1DBP 16 April 2017 by How silly (United Kingdom)

Have had this Radio a couple of months now and can confirm other reviewers remarks. Excellent.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Tiny radio - massive sound!

XDR-P1DBP 02 April 2017  (United Kingdom)

Brilliant bit of kit. Fits in the palm of your hand but sounds like a machine much bigger in size. Quickly populates a large rang of DAB channels and is really easy to use. Can't wait for the start of the cricket season!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Amazing pocket radio

XDR-P1DBP 13 February 2017 by Anthony g (United Kingdom)

I can't believe the quality of the sound from such a compact device. It's robust, with a long life battery, DAB & FM. Three stations on each band. I just wish it would accept a memory card, to play my music. Really good value for money, and amazing quality. It attracts comments from everyone who hears it. Big speaker sound from such a compact device. I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Flimsy, awful power button simply doesn't work !

XDR-P1DBP 12 February 2017  (United Kingdom)

I have purchased 2 (two) of these digital radios and neither of them work due to the flimsy start button which is very poor quality

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

10

0

Superb Quality

XDR-P1DBP 29 January 2017 by John C (United Kingdom)

Had bought a cheapo brand of similar size four days earlier. It lacked sensitivity and then froze completely within 2 days. I returned it and bought the Sony. Definitely get what you pay for. This radio picks up DAB signals where others fail. It has really good sound quality - not the tinny sound one would expect from a radio this. The design is excellent as is the build quality. Controls are intuitive and I find having the '3 favourites' buttons on top of the radio, in addition to the presets, very useful. Really pleased with this radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Small but Perfectly Formed

XDR-P1DBP 11 January 2017 by Pooh1 (United Kingdom)

This a tiny radio with astonishingly good sound and good sensitivity. Included is a high quality charging cable but no plug. Personally I would have liked the aerial to emerge a bit further so that it could be upright when the radio is lying on it's back. I am so glad to have found this lovely little radio when my old travelling Sony had nearly died after nearly 50 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Predominantly good.

XDR-P1DBP 10 January 2017 by Doddski (United Kingdom)

this is basically an extremely good pocket DAB radio, the only disappointment for me is that the earphone volume is somewhat low for those with less than perfect hearing. Sound quality is very good considering the size of the device, build quality is what one would hope for from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Brilliant

XDR-P1DBP 10 January 2017 by McF1 (Australia)

Very impressed with it's ability especially considering how small it is. The DAB pick up is brilliant (Perth, Australia). It has a sleep timer. The display is great; able to flick through the radio stations. Has a rechargeable battery, and seems to have a good life. The construction is excellent. Has a flip down bracket at the back to help with it standing up. The speaker is surprisingly good for a compact radio. Very happy that I have bought this radio.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Amazing tiny radio

XDR-P1DBP 09 January 2017 by CasperDel (United Kingdom)

I brought this radio to use when traveling in the UK. It has very good reception and works well on the train (as good as FM but with more stations)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great buy

XDR-P1DBP 05 January 2017 by Captain94 (United Kingdom)

Received this as a Christmas gift and am very pleased with it. It is compact, easy to operate and has very good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great!!!

XDR-P1DBP 05 January 2017 by June30 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely thrilled with this radio, can't believe the sound quality that comes from such a tiny device!!! Wonderful

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great little radio

XDR-P1DBP 26 November 2016 by Waterfall (United Kingdom)

The radio is well built and very powerful. It managed a return journey from Yorkshire to London by train with almost no loss of reception. Good sound quality from speaker at home and in hotel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Radio

XDR-P1DBP 24 October 2016 by JohnXRadiofan (United Kingdom)

It is a powepacked little DAB radio....I love it. Small yet a very good sound...easy to use with simple buttons for the varous actions required.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best Pocket Radio in 2016

XDR-P1DBP 08 October 2016 by Wazza16 (Australia)

I bought two of these radios (one as a gift and one for myself ) I was impressed it feels and sounds like a quality product should be.. well done SONY !

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Sooooooo neat!

XDR-P1DBP 07 August 2016 by vjbr (United Kingdom)

I've had this about 6 weeks. It's small, simple and it works. I'm using it at home and camping, where FM is poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1