$499.00

(AUD inc. GST)
218

4.2 based on 218 customer reviews

137
31
19
12
19
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Absolutely Bonkers Headphones

WH-1000XM4 26 September 2020 by Chat123 (United Kingdom)

Hi everyone, I am going to attempt to make a review of these absolutely bonkers headphones. Well that's just given my opinion away! Too be serious, let's stop messing around and get on with it. The packaging is superb, typical Sony. Class. The inner packaging slides out gracefully. Lift the flap and there's the carrying case. Unzip the case and inside there's all the gear. It's all nicely laid out, the headphones are carefully twisted and flattened, well not actually that twisted and flattened, but carefully laid out, displayed in all their glory. Headphones plus cables. One usb and another for hard wiring them. Finally there is a connection block for use in airplanes. The usb cable is far too short. I don't really want to be charging expensive headphones on a hard floor. You could I suppose, cosset them on a gold coloured cushion so as not to scratch them. Let's be serious. Quite simply, the correct solution is for Sony to include a longer cable. Come on Sony, don't skimp on the cheap stuff after all they are a premium product. I had also sent for and received a separate mains power adapter. Something else that Sony should have included. I am pleased to say that this fits inside the case, keeping everything together. The headphones themselves are nice and light and when straightened out and fitted over your head and sitting on your ears, you start to feel right away how comfortable they are. Please don't do what I did and started playing on them without updating them first. It created all sorts of problems, like not being able to pair and use two devices simultaneously. One device wouldn't stay connected, it was like a Jack in the box, connecting and disconnecting on and off. Finally updated they were working as they should have been. Included in the pack is a code for 90 days, free trial to Tidals top tier. Connect to this and that's when the magic begins. The 360 Reality Audio is without a doubt incredible. I've got to admit that I can't hear all this about instruments here there and everywhere. But the sound coming into your ears is definitely a real pleasure to listen to. Battery life looks like that stated. They were 70 per cent out of the box add several severe listening sessions and when it had dropped to 20 per cent I fully charged them. They are feature packed, when you start talking they stop playing so that you can hear replies. The down side to this is the time that they take to restart playing is far too long. 15 secs is the shortest, which needs to be 5 secs max. You can restart them yourself by double tapping on the centre of the right ear cup after going into the systems settings and altering it to manual mode. Also when you start to sing along with the song, yeah you've guessed it, they stop playing. Quite annoying for all those budding stars out there. I have now discovered that this can also be altered to manual mode. We live and learn. The noise cancelling worked very well for me, with no complaints. Telephone calls are a feature that is really good well according to the person who I was speaking to. They said that it was crystal clear and to be true, it was. Please bear in mind that while you are listening to your music, it can be heard by people who are near to you. Pairing with another device is flawless. I also connected them to my PS4 controller with the cable provided. The sound that a horses hooves made while walking in a river, just made me smile with pleasure. The right pad takes care of most of the controls. Volume, skipping tracks etc. It is easy to control. The left pad is for turning on and off, pairing, noise cancelling etc. At the end of the day it's down to sound, usability and to a lot of people price. The first two hit the spot, the bulls eye without a doubt. The last one is a very different kettle of fish, personally I'd like to see them cheaper. Finally..... They are ago to set of Premium Headphones. Well done Sony. Give yourselves a big pat on the back. They are a thoroughly enjoyable to listen to and use. Thoroughly recommended. Enjoy..........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Device switching does not work properly.

WH-1000XM4 12 January 2021 by TSeattle (USA)

While the headphones sound great, the device switching feature does not work properly. While it will connect to both devices, there is no way to choose which device you want the headphones to connect to. Instead, the headphones try to figure out which device your listening on based on whether music/audio is playing on the device---this process does not work consistently and routinely results in the headphones not connecting to the device you want to be listening to. This is particularly an issue if you are using them for calls on your computer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

220 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound and smart features

WH-1000XM4 17 January 2021 by enamarak (USA)

A smarter version of the previous model. Great sound and improved noise cancellation are complemented by upgraded features. 'Speak to chat' feature is especially handy, it automatically recognizes your voice and pauses noise cancellation and music whenever you speak. Also, it is great to be able to connect my headphones to two devices simultaneously. Battery life is impressive as ever. Great experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Some annoying things but overall good headphones

WH-1000XM4 16 January 2021 by camman12 (USA)

First the good stuff: the audio quality is excellent. Further, more than any other headset I have ever purchased, these are incredibly durable. For someone who overuses headphones (even falling asleep in them, etc.), this is very important. Compared to something like Beats Studio3, which I used to own, these have lasted far longer. One thing that really bothers me is the voice notification system. Specifically, every time you connect or disconnect to the headphones, there is a beep and a loud robot voice interrupts to tell you about the connection or disconnection. It takes like 10 seconds during which the headphones are unusable. Ex: you are connected to your phone and your laptop, but you decide to go for a run, leaving your laptop at home. Once you get away from your house, the robot voice interrupts your podcast/song/audiobook to notify you that your second device was disconnected. Ex: you connect to your laptop to listen to a YouTube video. You start watching the video but the voice interrupts and you miss the beginning of the video, so you have to rewind. It is extremely annoying and unnecessary. And there is no way to turn this off in settings, I have tried. I know it seems very small but it is actually very frustrating, and for a product that is this expensive they should’ve removed such an obnoxious feature. I hope this is fixed in an update or in the next model, otherwise I will have to look around for other headphone options. If I’m paying 400 for headphones they should be devoid of poorly designed features like this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

replacement purchase

WH-1000XM4 16 January 2021 by Ashyboy (United Kingdom)

recent purchase, initial looks are very pleasing the proof of the pudding will only come with time as to sound quality and other features.i cant wait to get started.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not enough customization for the price

WH-1000XM4 16 January 2021 by ruboveiga (USA)

Sound and noise canceling is great. However, the software experience makes it confusing and annoying. You cannot customize the multifunction or the power button. You just can choose one of two configurations. Neither of them is useful. I would like to customize the use of every action (e.g. 1 click to switch noise cancelation, 2 clicks to change source, log press to activate google assistant). No way of manually changing the audio source with one of the buttons (sometimes does not work very well the automatic change). Please, le me customize the power off time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Beats Chiltern Railways infernal screeching tannoy

WH-1000XM4 14 January 2021 by Sturg666 (United Kingdom)

Anyone who commutes on Chiltern Railways needs the new Sony 1000XM4 headphones. The diabolical screeching tannoy announcements every few seconds on what could be a peaceful commute needs something extra ordinary to block out. I have used all the top headphone brands but Chiltern rail work tirelessly in turning the volume and frequency up, no headphones before have been able to truly cancel this diabolical experience. Now, with the new Sony headphones I stream music and watch netflix in true peace. I'm sure Chiltern will examine Sony's new hardware and find fixes to scupper my commute again but until then it is bliss. It is an expensive cure but well worth it. The controls take a bit of getting used to but are actually geniusly simple. Best purchase of 2020

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Device switching does not work properly.

WH-1000XM4 12 January 2021 by TSeattle (USA)

While the headphones sound great, the device switching feature does not work properly. While it will connect to both devices, there is no way to choose which device you want the headphones to connect to. Instead, the headphones try to figure out which device your listening on based on whether music/audio is playing on the device---this process does not work consistently and routinely results in the headphones not connecting to the device you want to be listening to. This is particularly an issue if you are using them for calls on your computer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excelent

WH-1000XM4 12 January 2021 by DLaboy (United Kingdom)

Great Product, easy to use and friendly to handle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still a Killer choice

WH-1000XM4 12 January 2021 by Micboy (USA)

These are still the king of headphones, the noise cancelling is the best, sound is great, and fit and comfort are top notch. Design is basically the same as the Xm3 but the feel has improved, kinda hope the design changes and improves, would like to see the ear cups slimmer, and Love an easy quick design for swappable ear-pads. Appreciate the ability to connect to two devices at once now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features, not the best functioning

WH-1000XM4 10 January 2021 by tavoargento (United Kingdom)

It offers awesome features, I'm very happy with it. Onbly a small issue detected when connecting to my Samsumg TV, sometimes, for some reason, the sounds starts to desynchronise with the images.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Amazed that it works with Linux' bluetooth!

WH1000XM4/B 10 January 2021 by NicolasR (USA)

My son recommended me this headset because one can hear speak when using social connectivity software like Slack, MS Teams, Skype, etc... Since my computer runs linux, I was a bit apprehensive about how well this would work. Although it is a bit tricky to configure properly. On the other hand, the dual connection feature is really helpful to configure the headset from the mobile app so that the 2nd connection from linux' bluetooth works properly. For example, conference calls w/ Slack require turning off "Speak to Chat" and leaving on "Ambient Sound Control" to hear oneself in the headset. I was most pleasantly surprised that the headset's touchpad for music control (stop, forward, backward) works with music software on Linux -- e.g., Spotify! If only there were support for 360 reality audio on linux; this would be the perfect headset. The noise cancelling capability of this headset is fantastic. While listening to music at a moderate volume, I couldn't hear a person talking to me less than 3 feet away! I had to put my right hand to the headset to listen to ambient sounds to hear this person talk!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Warning! not wireless with laptop and not compatib

WH-1000XM4 09 January 2021 by Disgruntled Canada (USA)

I bought this and was so excited to have a high quality headphone specifically so I could be wireless with my laptop and use this with spotify. I told the staff (manager) at London Drugs I was using these for video meetings on my laptop and spotify was the platform I use for music streaming he said that would be fantastic. Now I have opened them (rendering them inelgible for return) and when I tried to pair them I can't switch them to be the primary audio source. I can use a JBL external speaker but not these specific Headphones. They say they are pairder but I am not given the option to use them wirelessly. I can plug in the cord...Really? A cord? I just bought a $500.00 (canada) pair of wireless headphones. I then tried to listen to Spotify and when I pull up the headphone options, there are only 5. Sony is not one of them. BOSE is. This is now a useless purchase for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Light and comfortable

WH-1000XM4 09 January 2021 by Faymous (United Kingdom)

Wonderful sound! Aesthetically good-looking. But I found it easily slipped off my head if I bent over. I now have on the end of a lanyard when I go to the beach!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

For Autistic People & Sensory Processing Issues

WH-1000XM4 09 January 2021 by MagdalenaS (USA)

As a diagnosed Autistic Person (Aspergers) I gave these headphones a 5 Star review because even though they have some faults I do think they serve their purpose. These headphones are great for basic use like travel and at home / at work use. I personally use them to drown out the noise from a very noisy daycare I live next door to, or if i've had a long day of Sensory Processing and I'm drained and can't cope with background noises or volume control of other people's voices any more. I definitely recommend them for people who are ASD or with Sensory Processing issues. I enjoy wearing them when i'm working too as they help me concentrate on my tasks without having my attention diverted by auditory distractions. The things that aren't the greatest about them - * I do not recommend them for exercise such as Running. They are very sensitive and even when i go outside I turn down all noise canceling sensors on the app, just to stay quiet at the lowest level. * The Speak to Chat function is cool, but can be annoying when you just clear your throat and it activates. The headphones are so sensitive that sometimes when I try to return back to Noise Canceling it switches off the function all together. * Volume adjustment is not the greatest either. Having to slide your finger up and down one little bit at a time makes the whole function extremely slow. The skip or go back swipe function is cool but again, it's so sensitive that if you swipe accidentally or a little off angle it feels that. * I also don't really like the material they are made of. Be sure to give them a wipe every day as the material easily gathers natural occurring oils form your skin and hair. * It has this cool all surrounding music function, but you can't get that unless you purchase a specific music app for it. Spotify doesn't support that sadly. * It's great that it can pair with 2 devices at a time, but sometimes that causes one device's volume to not work and I have to switch off the other device and start all over again with pairing. * For some reason it constantly switches on itunes every time i connect it to my computer. But as I said, I do love to wear them a lot and they help me out immensely, especially around the house, everyday tasks and with concentration. I hope that with future products these things will be adjusted, but for now we're so lucky to have such cool technology.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best headphones I ever used

WH-1000XM4 08 January 2021 by Jj1999 (USA)

I bought these 3 months ago CASE FEELS PREMIUM headphones FEEL like cheap plastic but these handle extremely well I used these for GAMING if you want to chat you can just buy a aux with mic on it because these aren't gaming headphones but once you hook up a adapter you get all the amazing features these headphones have to offer plus you can game and chat with friends I watched movies listened to music and I have to say after trying premium limited edition crushers from skull candy beats solo 3s pros studios this is the best headphones I have ever used battery literally last forever and highs and lows are seriously forgiving especially once you hook up the sony headphones app I literally have no complaints A 1UP would be if it had water resistant or sweat resistant capabilities but you can have TOO MUCH PREMIUM but have it be sensitive I love these

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great ASN

WH1000XM4/B 08 January 2021 by GrumpyDaddy (USA)

I received this as a gift for Christmas. I wasn't sold on it initially, but that quickly changed after I had it setup and began using it. Granted, I haven't owned a pair of noise cancelling headphone or earbuds before, but I was pretty impressed with what I experienced. I have had a couple of issues with the connectivity to my tablet however. Sometimes, the headphones are out of sync with the Youtube video I'm watching (i.e., the lip movement doesn't match the sound from the headphones). This has happened multiple times. On one occasion, the headphone froze and wouldn't connect to the my phone or tablet. Thankfully, this was an isolated incident, and I've not experienced it since. Overall, I would recommend these headphones (though they are a little pricey).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible

WH-1000XM4 07 January 2021 by NjAj (USA)

After using them for two weeks the color and silver faded I open a ticket and they said is it working I said yes, but the color faded they said sorry cosmetic is not covered under warranty - dumb I spend $300 on it, and less than two weeks the colors faded. Sound-wise zoom calls people to keep here a lot of static noise - works great on phone apps but MAC, Windows lot of issues. does not have the option to mute the call silly I say

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent Noise Cancelling

WH-1000XM4 06 January 2021 by Mirage123456 (United Kingdom)

Excellent Noise Cancelling, highest sound quality I have ever seen. 360 Audio experience is unique. Really good product, very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the best noise cancellation in the world

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by Harsh Jhunjhunwala (United Kingdom)

Its too good ! Xm4 is successor Just go for it ! Its the best noise cancellation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by Simon (United Kingdom)

Fantastic headphones with great features. Noise cancelling much improvements. Great sound.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic sound and build quality

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by Thunderhoof (United Kingdom)

Sound quality is amazing, nice highs and good punch bass without being overpowering, EQ can be personalized in the app. Best headphones I've tried so far

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not Disappointed

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by Edwart (United Kingdom)

Bought these for the noise cancelling function and am not disappointed. However, the comfort levels when worn over long periods, the sound quality and all the amazing built in features have super impressed me. Very pleased I made the decision to purchase these, worth every penny in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound and noise cancelling

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by GHANI (United Kingdom)

An amazing product, did read the reviews on previous models and they weren't wrong, very comfortable, and sound is epic, pauses when I want to talk to then use mics to hear conversation, meaning don't have to take of the headphones.. Win win

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The best

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by Faz (United Kingdom)

Probably one of the best headphones I've used in a long time. Highly recommended.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great headphones with a major drawback.

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by ilya yatsyshyn (USA)

These headphones provide excellent sound quality and comfortability level. Everybody knows that this product is great, therefore, I am going to tell you about a couple of points preventing me from calling these headphones "ideal". It is hard to use this product for online conferences and impossible for gaming. As far as I know, the Bluetooth bandwidth does not allow receive high-quality sound and use the microphone simultaneously. It means you can not talk to your friend and play the game with the sound turned on. I understand that this is a connectivity type limitation. However, I do not see any reasons why not to use a wired connection in order to use both stereo sound and a built-in microphone. However, a 3.5 mini-jack cable from the complect only has 3 pins. That means only sound can be delivered through this cable. I bought an additional 4-pin cable, but it seems headphones do not support this as well. This is a major inconvenience for my use case. I will need to buy an additional headset or an external microphone for my laptop. Also, the assembly quality does not seem to be good enough. After a couple of months with this headset, a creaking sound appeared in plastic parts of the band and cups. This issue is not so critical, however, this is not expected after paying $300+ for headphones. Moreover, sometimes the sound gets interrupted for a moment with a 20-30 seconds interval. It only happens when playing sound from my laptops (several ones to make sure the problem is not caused by the laptop itself). It usually happens when only one device is connected to headphones. I use the following steps to overcome this issue: - choose "Headset" as a playback device on my Windows laptop. - play any sound at least for a moment - choose "Headphones" as a playback device again. I tried playing with the "Priority on sound quality/stable connection" option in the application, but it does not help. Please let me know if you have other ways to get rid of this problem. Finally, I must say it is hard to change the playback device when using multiple connection feature. It is totally fine when somebody calls on your phone (the connection is changed instantly). However, audio-messages/videos from your phone need to be played for 10-20 seconds before headphones understand that the playback device must be changed. It implies that the audio on the previous device is paused (as the instruction says). I hope you will consider these points (especially the first one) in your following model. Looking forward to seeing wh-1000xm5. Regards

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1