$495.00

(AUD inc. GST)
73

4.3 based on 73 customer reviews

47
11
6
5
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic Headphones

WH-1000XM4 03 September 2020 by Fifibelle (United Kingdom)

So glad I waited for this model to be released. Sony did not disappoint. These headphones are amazing!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Bring Back VPT!

WH-1000XM4 13 September 2020 by ElectroJunkie77 (USA)

Don’t take away the custom EQ, but please bring back VPT as an added feature set. Nothing more to say...if VPT returns with a software update these will be hands down the BEST HEADPHONES WORLD WIDE, and the sells will flourish. For now I’m keeping mine. Purchased Silver but I won’t change my 3 STAR review to 5 Stars until the VPT is brought back with a software update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

79 Customer Reviews

0

Great headphones but...

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by BGHNY (USA)

I've been wearing these for a few weeks and there is an annoying clicking sound that developed in the left headphone. When I move my face or turn my head... click, click, click. It is driving me crazy and not what I would expect after doing my research and buying what I thought would be the best bluetooth noise cancelling headphones on the market.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic headphones great sound

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by Colin (United Kingdom)

Have been using these headphones for two weeks now I have had quite a few different types of head phones over the years but these Sony noise canceling headphones are quite simply the best headphones I have ever used Sony app is fantastic and easy to use lots of great features. The lovely tones and the bass sound is brilliant the best headphones I have ever used the design is stunning so comfortable to wear no Bluetooth drop off while using them. Headphones com3 in a great carry case charge lead and airplane adapter. The 360 reality sound is brilliant changes the sound complete for the better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Awesome Headphones

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by Rio 44 (United Kingdom)

These are the best headphones on the market in my opinion,super quality,first class noise cancelling,excellent sound quality and very comfortable to wear for long periods of time.The battery life is really good charge them up for a couple of hours and easily last all day.I would recommend downloading the Sony headphones app and install the latest firmware and use the app to customise to your liking.I would have no problem recommending these headphones to anyone,they deserve this Five Star review.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Sensational Sound - Listen In Comfort

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by GeorgeL (United Kingdom)

From the moment you put these headphones on you relaise how comfortable they are! Using the headphone App helps to configure the headphones for hi fi sound using TIDAL. A very dynamic sound performance. From a band to an orchestra the music plays so sweetly in your head. Connectivity is excellent via Bluetooth; quality sound from my iPod or iPad or IMac with streamed music. The comfort is so good that I am able to wear them for as long as I want. But overall it is the sound quality from them that makes them so good. I have other SONY headphones but the lates take the prize for being first rate. I love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Good, potentially great with firmware improvements

WH-1000XM4 17 September 2020 by paul9991 (USA)

I upgraded from wired Bose QC25 headphones. Thus far I have found the microphones to be not quite as good as Bose, but the audio quality is exceptional. My main issue right now is that the dual bluetooth is causing problems. For example, I am often on a video conference and then I get a phone call. The headphone switches to the call before I even answer it. And then it completely drops the bluetooth on my computer. I have to power the headphones off and then back on to rejoin my conference. This needs to be fixed. So far the ambient control and speed to chat are more distracting than helpful so I turned them off. Pausing when I take off the headphones is nice, as are the touch controls on the headphones. My only other complaint is that the headband pushed down a bit too hard on my bald head. The Bose were more comfortable because of that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice headphones

WH-1000XM4 17 September 2020 by Prime41 (USA)

The Good: Sound quality is fantastic Noise canceling is fantastic Connection to iphone is fantastic The not so good: The touch controls are okay. I had a little trouble with them picking up what I was trying to do. The "speak to hear outside noise" feature often picks up a cough. The comfort is so-so. I don't think I would use these for very long sessions. The bad: These headphones are completely unusable on Windows 10 with a bluetooth connection. My drivers are up to date but I get constant stuttering and skips made me resort to using the cord which defeats the wireless purpose. Overall: They're a good pair of headphones and would be 5/5 if not for the Windows 10 issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous headphones

WH1000XM4/B 14 September 2020 by TrrkMol (USA)

The WM-1000XM4 is replacing my Nokia headset. The unit is very comfortable to wear for long periods. Controls are easy to manipulate. The Headphones Connect app (iOS & Android) customizes the listening experience. It can take into account ambient background noise, switching to chat mode simply by speaking, and even switching listening modes depending on where you are located! All these features can be turned off. The noise canceling feature is one of the best I’ve experienced. You still get that “air pressure” feeling, but it is not as prevalent as many other units. The ability to connect to 2 devices is a great plus! I usually have my phone with me so I use the app to easily switch between my iPhone and laptop. I haven’t used the headset making calls so not sure how I sound on the phone. Overall a fabulous purchase. Warning to those purchasing on Amazon, I purchased a new unit but what I received was a returned unit. It was like-new so didn’t have any real issues, but not happy with Amazon.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bring Back VPT!

WH-1000XM4 13 September 2020 by ElectroJunkie77 (USA)

Don’t take away the custom EQ, but please bring back VPT as an added feature set. Nothing more to say...if VPT returns with a software update these will be hands down the BEST HEADPHONES WORLD WIDE, and the sells will flourish. For now I’m keeping mine. Purchased Silver but I won’t change my 3 STAR review to 5 Stars until the VPT is brought back with a software update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Awesome !!!

WH1000XM4/B 13 September 2020 by Mrmoemoe (USA)

I brought these headphones a week ago I'm liking them each time I listen to them as I compared them to my klipsch headphones. Listening to Tidal MQA is amazing. Although the head band should be wider for a 349.00 headphone feels kinda cheap.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Overall really nice

WH-1000XM4 12 September 2020 by Vlad96690 (USA)

There are better detailed reviews than what I could compose above. Still I am curious... This is my first Sony "premium" product, and i became very curious in what VPT modes would sound like now. Is this a feature that can be added back to the app?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing and disappointing

WH-1000XM4 12 September 2020 by Nashville (USA)

I purchased these headphones for the office. If I’m listening to music they are fantastic, best headphones I have used. The sound quality and noise canceling on the audio to your ear is top notch. However, the microphone noise canceling is near worthless. I need to have my office door closed or people on the phone can hear my co-workers from down the hall. Even after spending time fine tuning the headset with the app, the microphone problem didn’t improve. This did enhance the quality of the music I listen to however. If you like only listening to music, buy these. If you take phone calls in a noisy environment, get something different.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent headphones

WH-1000XM4 09 September 2020 by Dave (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up and link to a device. Noise cancelling and sound quality excellent. These were a considered purchase and a great buy.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

WH-1000XM4 09 September 2020 by Luckyowl (United Kingdom)

Build quality is great, sound is amazing

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Best wireless headphones ever!

WH-1000XM4 09 September 2020 by John Christendom (USA)

This past week I was looking for some headphones at my local retail store and saw a pair of these on the shelf. The second I put them on the noise canceling brought me into another world, that's the thing that originally and truly sold me on these headphones. Honestly, these are the best wireless anc headphones, and over the best wireless headphones I have ever used. Whether you are experienced in audio or just starting these are perfect for all. If you want base, you can have as much base as you could need in the extensive app, if you would like to listen to audio from more of a professional standpoint, they are completely perfect for that too. At the price point, and at the quality, and every feature packed into these headphones, they are completely worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

best of the best

WH-1000XM4 08 September 2020 by Anon (United Kingdom)

they are the best headphones for a reason

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The head phones are so amazing

WH-1000XM4 08 September 2020 by Meg (United Kingdom)

These are amazing sound is perfect and so is the bass.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Disappointed.

WH-1000XM4 08 September 2020 by ORBIKOX (USA)

I wait several months for this headphones, I had QC25, QC35I AND II, decided to get SONY beacuse sound quality, but unfortunately after using this headphones for 2 hours it hurts my ears. Inside can space it's too small, my ears were touching inside components. Hope Sony fix this in the future. At this moment I'm sadly returning my headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

8

0

My Favourite Headphones. My Problems With Them.

WH-1000XM4 06 September 2020 by Eclectic Sound Consumer (United Kingdom)

I bought the WH-1000MX4 model a month ago and I'm glad I did. The noise cancelling is fantastic, it will not silence a fighter jet taking off from 200m away, but what it will do is make day to day travel more peaceful. The noise cancelling coupled with a low volume of music (around a quarter volume) will immerse you into a land of tranquillity, privacy and give you the focus to really concentrate on what it is your doing or listening to. The coffee on the go and the line at the station with this product what you hear is now fully in your control. Also the noise cancelling is great without sound being played, but it does still let some noise through. But, to get complete silence anywhere on earth is impossible, and these make a really good go at it. The battery life is great and the fit is comfortable. I have gone full day with high volumes and noise cancelling and the battery lasts with some to spare. And after long listening periods I am not left with aching ears, which I have had from other products. I highly recommend these headphones to anyone who travels a lot. Or anyone who likes have wireless headphones with great audio performance and also some clever features. The features I like are the Pause/Play that you can customise for when you take your headphones Off/On. It isn’t noticeable at first, but the time I will save over the years from not having to press pause and play and fussing with wires when leaving a room, answering a call or even if you just want to have a scratch without missing a paragraph of a new audiobook. I also like the slider option for if you do want to let ambient noise in. Scenario: You’re in a busy city centre and you are dodging and weaving traffic and people running late for your next engagement. You can have the headphones set to let ambient noise in. Meaning safer passing on dangerous roads. However, the touch gestures on the earphones are unresponsive, especially to someone who is used to handling a modern smart phone. And when you turn the volume up or down, the content your listening to is rudely interrupted by the intrusion of a confirmation of the action you just performed. There isn’t an option available in the accompanying smartphone software to change this. I find this both annoying and useless. I have turned the touch features off. Unless an update is released where you can decide what touch features actually do and have this done silently it will stay that way. Speaking off software and updates. If you don’t own a smartphone you can’t customise the headphones at all. I can’t find a version of the application for Computer Desktops. Also, the Bluetooth quality is sometimes poor. It will connect to the hands-free channel and this will reduce sound quality and turns whatever your listening to into what sounds like a remix of the old internet dial-up connection sound and whatever soundbites your trying to listen to. Overall, this is a Premium product and its worth the money it’s priced at. I’m a happy customer. But if there was a version with a better touch function and better recognition of when you are connected to a phone call instead of a music platform or video streaming site. It would get 5 Stars. For me I give it 4 ½.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

2

0

I've got 2 pairs

WH-1000XM4 06 September 2020 by Jacksondore (USA)

Bought a pair of these for my wife for her birthday and I loved him so much I bought a pair too and everybody that I speak to I refer them. Excellent battery life awesome sound quality we wear ours outside during yard work we also wear them while mowing on our ZTR the noise cancellation works great! I wish I could turn the volume up louder on the ambient aware would be the only thing I would change

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Sound Quality

WH-1000XM4 05 September 2020 by Kenny Bear (United Kingdom)

I’m have the Air buds , but decided to treat myself to the WH10004, and was not disappointed. As the sound quality is second to none , I found it a bit strange , when it wanted photographs of my ears , but after having the experienced the 360 degree sound , I now know why. Even better sound quality, and so many different functions . Expensive but you pay for quality, and that’s what you get with these earphones .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Missing Surround (VPT)) settings

WH-1000XM4 05 September 2020 by Scott14 (USA)

Without the VPT surrounds settings, in specific the concert hall setting, these headphones sound terrible for classical music. Had the WX-1000MX2 and the VPT settings made classical music sound great. Just recently upgraded to the MX4 and was very disappointed to see that setting removed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Way better than my old BOSE

WH-1000XM4 05 September 2020 by David Bobo (USA)

I purchased this when released and could not be happier. Comfortable, sound great, and don't hear the Tasmanian devil (dog) that lives above me in an apartment. Great for wireless gaming and watching TV..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Upgrade from 1000x M2

WH-1000XM4 04 September 2020 by KeishaB580 (USA)

I love these headphones, they were a necessary upgrade from my M2's which have a cracked headband on both sides. I'm not an audiophile so you can take this with a grain of salt, but listening to my music using these headphones was incredible. I use a custom EQ with the bass turned up to the max with my Tidal HIFI subscription and my music sounds amazing. It was definitely a better sound experience than my M2's which could tend to get a little muddy when the bass is turned up to high levels. I like the fit and overall design of these headphones. They are definitely lighter than the M2's, I could feel the difference immediately, and they are very comfortable on my head. I wore them for a straight 12 hours with no pain/irritation to my ears. The material feels like it will be more sturdy than the M2's, but I'll have to wait and see about that. This was a nice upgrade in features. I've used the speak to chat, and it works as it says it does. I'll be listening to my music and when my son comes over to talk, as soon as I say the first word out of my mouth the ambient sound is activated and then maybe 10-15 seconds after the conversation is over, the music or whatever I'm listening to automatically starts playing again. This feature will be clutch when I'm back in the office for work. The Noise cancelling is amazing, no surprise there. I can now connect to two devices at the same time, but switching between them isn't always as seamless as I would like it to be. I'm not sure if this has anything to do with the devices I'm connected to, but this feature can be a little buggy at times. There is one feature in the app that Sony took away with this upgrade in headphones, and that is the Surround VPT. I loved using this feature with my M2's. I was a little disappointed when I realized this was no longer available in the app. I hope SONY can put this feature back with an upgrade in the near future. I don't love the call quality. Of course it's an upgrade for me, but it's still not there yet, but It's not a deal breaker for me. Overall, these headphones are almost perfect for me. SONY just keeps knocking it out of the park with these 1000x headphones. If they can give us the Surround VPT back, make some improvements to the call quality, and these will be the perfect earphones. I'm very happy with my purchase (which i made with my own money) and I would enthusiastically recommend these to anyone!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Prefer the Sony wh1000xm3 to the new ones

WH-1000XM4 04 September 2020 by Sonyxm34 (USA)

I bought the xm4 a few days after the release , I expected better quality than the xm3 but I was disappointed. The feature for surround sound vpt setting was removed and that was one of the best feature in my opinion. If they release an update in which they can be used again I would rate these headphones the best yet. Hopefully they’ll be an update soon. Design was also not as good compared to the xm3 it has more a matte finishing and not as comfortable feel as the previous generation. Overall I would have stuck with the xm3

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

3