52

4.1 based on 52 customer reviews

30
11
2
4
5
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent value for money

XAV-AX1000 14 February 2020 by Jimbobble (United Kingdom)

Cracking little stereo. Easy to use, sounds amazing and love the built in CarPlay.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Wish I Could Give 5 Stars

XAV-AX1000 25 May 2020 by prontologist (USA)

I have this unit, used it for a few months & tried a software download from your website & ended up bricking my head unit. is there a way to fix. very disappointed because it’s unusable now.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

52 Customer Reviews

0

Love the Apple car play and all the other feature

XAVAX1000 27 July 2021 by Donmills (USA)

Sounds so much better than the factory radio,lot more power and bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better than I expected

XAV-AX1000 04 June 2021 by Trevorflt1 (United Kingdom)

Had to get a replacement for my Double DIN Pioneer head unit in the motorhome, which had failed after about 7 years and had cost a fortune when installed and as I was in rush to get a new unit fitted before a trip. I ended up getting this ‘lower end’ Sony unit as it was the only one available. I’m so glad I did, as I discovered the hidden benefits of still having a physical HOME button and also volume control, so no need to tap screens etc for volume and screen changes - excellent when on the move! No problem with the trailing lead to iphone for Apple Play, which I was a little concerned about. Only slight improvement I can suggest at this time would be a higher definition screen for the reverse camera as it does seem a little blurry on the extreme edges of the screen, which I don’t recall having on the Pioneer unit, but the Sony seems to have a wider and deeper rear view, so not a problem! All in all I am delighted with the unit, especially at the price - mapping is very clear and defined even using google earth and although Im not a big music person I do find it has a notably superior sound quality and plenty of choices on the graphic equaliser. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony ax1000

XAV-AX1000 29 May 2021 by Pop64 (United Kingdom)

Easy to install as long as you’re get correct fixing kit for your car I fitted in a vw golf mk6 only disappointed is it doesn’t have dab as standard

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great update for my 2011 Corolla

XAVAX1000 17 April 2021 by ruralbob (USA)

I have a 2011 with only about 64,000 miles on it. I've thought about a new car but am not eager to take on a new car loan. One of the things the Corolla needed was an updated radio so I had the XAX-AX1000 installed and have been very happy with my decision. The unit is responsive and versatile. I can control it with the existing steering wheel controls with no problem whatsoever. Apple CarPlay is a great addition but Bluetooth connection works very well, also. The audio took a bit of time to tweak because, with a 10-band equalizer, there is quite a bit of adjusting that is possible. Having a backup camera has been an excellent safety addition and I'd recommend that option to anyone installing this radio. For me, there is very little to dislike about this unit. It has breathed new life into my 10-year-old car!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very pleased with this product

XAV-AX1000 07 April 2021 by Carl65 (United Kingdom)

Whilst it is one of the cheaper units don’t let that put you off. I’ve found it excellent with loads of features that all work very well. I’ve fitted it to my vw transporter Campervan. Very easy to fit but you’ll need to buy a harness kit for your specific vehicle (about £10) and pick up how to fit it either on a forum for your vehicle or a utube tutorial.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Phenomenal Receiver! with one downside

XAV-AX1000 22 March 2021 by Iceman66 (USA)

Absolutely love this receiver! The built in amplifier is fantastic and plays beautiful clear and loud music. The user interface in this device is the primary reason I purchased it and it runs phenomenally, smooth, quick, and easy to use. Not too many features to where you get lost they keep it simple yet very effective so you can focus on driving. Only downside is that it doesn't have android autoplay although the competitors in this price range do but the volume knob and user interface makes up for that. Also the peak power output and rms is greater than the competitions. Overall its greatly enhances the sound of your music!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for Iphone only

XAV-AX1000 09 February 2021 by BobB18 (USA)

I bought this for my daughter who has an Iphone for her car. Her car is now my car and I have a Galaxy S10 and can't enjoy using this. It is total garbage. Why do companies have to compete at our expense.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

12

0

Works great

XAVAX1000 23 December 2020 by Louisemgouge (USA)

I bought this to go with a backup camera, but I also love the radio and all of its features. I can talk on my cell phone handsfree!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Product

XAVAX1000 27 September 2020 by Ainswopr (USA)

So far this is a nice product but the BlueTooth pairing doesn't seem to work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

XAV-AX1000 26 September 2020 by Windsor1 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a new head unit for my old Volvo that worked with Apple CarPlay but was not expensive, I looked into everything and ended up buying the Sony and I have been really pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

All the features I was looking for

XAV-AX1000 13 September 2020 by Evangelion (USA)

I was looking to replace my single DIN stereo with a double DIN stereo for my Acura RSX, and quickly caught onto the XAV-AX1000. Also, having Apple's CarPlay feature is the best touch.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great Stereo, But...

XAVAX1000 31 August 2020 by FBTJax (USA)

I love the Apple car play features. Works seamlessly with my phone. Great features otherwise with one exception. There’s no way to mute the stereo. The only option to mute the stereo quickly is by turning it off. I contacted Sony, and they confirmed this quirk. Otherwise, it’s a great stereo.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Weak head unit, very glitchy.

XAV-AX1000 15 August 2020  (USA)

My head unit tends to freeze randomly when I’m going down the highway. The usb input in the front is very sensitive, when I drive over a bump and the usb plug slightly moves, car play will disconnect, if my finger slightly grazes the usb when I’m turning the volume knob car play will disconnect. I can’t believe this costed $300. And it’s a Sony, very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

13

1

0

Firmware 1.03 is better then 1.22

XAV-AX1000 11 August 2020 by jd85 (USA)

I wish i can downgrade. Firmware 1.03 is not available at all. 1.22 has problems. Maybe somebody here can help to downgrade.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A nice upgrade to my car.

XAVAX1000 25 July 2020 by Fidelugx (USA)

Bought this a month ago and it has all the features that I wanted, FM Radio, USB, How ever u can’t save your favorite radio channels.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Issues with multiple apps

XAV-AX1000 01 July 2020 by jshhuber (USA)

I love the way this head unit looks but it has an issue when trying to run more than one app at a time. For example, I can't run spotify and Waze without the headunit freezing out one of the two apps and ultimately needing a reboot.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

good but has serious human interface problems

XAV-AX1000 13 June 2020 by jako929 (USA)

It is a good unit but it has serious human interface problems which should be easily solved with software upgrade. this is my list: It supports only one Bluetooth connection at a time , i understand that but every time i connect a new device, the previous one is erased and i have to pair again and again. Today even the most simple units support several phones at once. This unit uses and remembers just one phone. Using the steering wheels, pressing green button does not bring phone screen . So no one step access to missed and last calls directly. You have to touch screen, choose phone, choose recent calls etc. very dangerous while driving. Source button does not bring you the phone screen. The red and blue buttons are virtually useless. The are good only answering and hanging up a call, so they don't save you any step during call (you can also touch the screen, same thing). Last software update also killed the way FM radio works. after few seconds, the station stays but looses the station focus. So pressing next channel will always bring you to your first memorized channel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Wish I Could Give 5 Stars

XAV-AX1000 25 May 2020 by prontologist (USA)

I have this unit, used it for a few months & tried a software download from your website & ended up bricking my head unit. is there a way to fix. very disappointed because it’s unusable now.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Great build

XAV-AX1000 17 May 2020  (USA)

I enjoyed getting this product working for my car! I had one issue with getting the steering. Controls to work but managed to get it to work. Sounds amazing with my speakers too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simple with elegant

XAV-AX1000 12 May 2020 by B1711 (USA)

buy this deck for R3 !! sound is awesome simple feature & nice built . 4 star for the price :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice job Sony!

XAV-AX1000 10 May 2020 by Simommx5 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this about 9 months ago, just fitted it and really pleased, however a day a go it completely stopped working and is now going back to Sony for a warranty repair, fingers crossed Re features it could do with an on off button on the volume for when ignition off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Issues with no back up camera error message

XAV-AX1000 27 April 2020 by Mike 2774 (USA)

This could be really good. Having trouble with the unit thinking there is a back up camera installed when there is not. Keeps defaulting to frozen no video input message That can only be removed by doing a home button reset. Then the same message comes up. Seems like a software issue. The camera is turned off in settings. It’s making the unit unusable. Please help.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent stereo for the price

XAV-AX1000 18 March 2020 by Dunchh150 (United Kingdom)

Bought this stereo from Halfords for £225. It’s the cheapest branded stereo I could find with Apple car play. Everything works great, especially Apple car play. Doesn’t have DAB radio which is the only downside.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

BETTER THAN KENWOOD DMX125BT

XAV-AX1000 17 March 2020 by LEE0694 (USA)

I Bought this sony to replace the KENWOOD DMX125BT I bought a month ago, that will not turn on and off all the time, have to keep pushing buttons over and over to get to turn off or on.I am so glad I got the the sony ,so much better, even though I lost money after replacing the kenwood a month after buying it, but I guess it was well worth it.so sony so much better for the price.I wish I would have got the sony first,I coud have saved 200.00 dollars.I learned the hard way.will likey buy another sony for my other car,no more kenwoods for me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0