101

3.1 based on 101 customer reviews

27
19
19
11
25
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14 May 2019 by Tree Bear (USA)

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice clean user interface but has SiriusXM issues

XAV-AX5000 26 May 2018 by jmz15 (USA)

I just installed the AX5000 in my truck. I really like how the user interface is very simple, clean, and responsive. The CarPlay functionality is also very responsive. However, I also have a problem with the sound quality of satellite radio. Using the SiriusXM tuner module I hear a lot of crackling/distortion in the signal, even on simple stuff like the traffic and weather channel. It sounds like the input level is set too high inside the unit and is being clipped/over-driven.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

102 Customer Reviews

0

Do not buy!

XAV-AX5000 19 October 2020 by AlecR15 (USA)

Was happy at first. Sounds great and looks great. Have to plug in phone and unplug over and over to get Apple CarPlay to connect. Sometimes radio just freezes a blank screen. The thing that really ticks me off is the salesman that talked me in to this model told me that Sony just did a firmware that allows you to mirror your phone and put in a custom background. The problem is, the ax5000 was the only unit that didn’t get the update. Sony just put out the ax5500, which is the same model as the ax5000, but with those added features. They updated the other models in this line. I wasted my money!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice design, good audio, weak software

XAV-AX5000 29 September 2020 by MarkC1234 (USA)

I installed this unit a month ago and it looks beautiful in my car and the sound is excellent. I am a bit disappointed by the software though. It takes several steps to switch from, say FM to Sirius. The Sirius and FM interface is quite primitive -- just says channel numbers, not title for Sirius, and doesn't show RDS information. The 8 year old head unit I replaced had all these features, I don't understand why the Sony doesn't. The carplay is a bit wonky but I think this is more Apple than Sony. I do hope that Sony will make the effort to improve the software. This is a beautiful unit at a good price -- it is just hurt a bit by the software.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Looks nice, but that’s it.

XAV-AX5000 17 September 2020 by Tprtuck (USA)

I thought this would’ve been a nice add on to my Toyota 4Runner. The Apple CarPlay features are very nice though By adding this unit I lost a bunch of FM and AM channels. The ones I do get are spotty. XM Sirius satellite does work, but I comes in and out, I regret removing my factory installed unit for this. I would not recommend this to anyone.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolutely HORRIBLE experience with Sony!

XAV-AX5000 30 August 2020 by BarryK2020 (USA)

Tried several different phones, different sized cables and it will NOT hook up to Android Auto!! I called Sony techies and they walked me through an update on the stereo. I also called Samsung to see if it was an issue with my phone and the tech department troubleshot my phone and everything was absolutely fine with it! I "WASTED" $500 on this sorry hunk of junk for the "ONLY" reason that I originally bought it. NEVER, in a hundred years, would I ever recommend it to ANYONE!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Really bad experience

XAVAX5000 06 July 2020 by Memosin (USA)

I bought this unit like 4 weeks ago and I'm really disappointed. The radio design is very nice but overall is a piece of garbage. Nothing but troubles. Never recognize my Ipod touch, phone functions didn't work the way suppose the be. Never have a good conversation over the phone, the sound was terrible playing my mp3 files from the memory stick, well sometimes worked and sometimes well you can guess. I bought this unit because the brand name, and now I loose all my confidence in Sony. Bottom line returning the radio to vendor.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

6

0

Works perfectly

XAVAX5000 03 June 2020 by ethan6969 (USA)

I installed this in my 2006 Honda CR-V in January 2019, and everything on it works fine, including the backup camera. The sound is great, so is the extra bass option. I mainly use this as an Apple CarPlay head unit, and I have no complaints. I’m also grateful that Sony keeps updating the firmware every now and then.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great sound and easy interface!

XAV-AX5000 20 May 2020 by Junior217 (USA)

Very happy with this purchase. The sound is great and it's so much easier to use than my previous radio. I have found that the Android Auto issue is with the cable I was using. Once I spoke with my local Sony dealer and bought the 3' Anker USB cable, Android Auto has been great ever since. Highly recommend Sony products!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Has never worked right

XAV-AX5000 15 May 2020 by Carl34711 (USA)

Lots of issues - doesn't recognize USB device when plugged in, issues with Android Auto and Pixel phones connecting to radio, the list goes on. $$$ spent with a tuner to show for it. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

3

0

Not impressed

XAVAX5000 05 May 2020 by Sonysucksoverthetop (USA)

The last firmware update after 8 months waiting for a unit shutdown fix failed again. Nobody from Cruthfield can figure out this issue either.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Great radio with one shortfall

XAV-AX5000 03 May 2020  (USA)

I installed this in my 2016 Jeep Wrangler and it is a huge upgrade. The sound settings are perfect and it has great sound. The one weak part is the SXM interface. I have had satellite radio in my cars for 15 years; a combination of factory and after market. All of them have been able to store song and artist alerts as well as direct tune capability...these two features do not exist on this radio. 

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Dual USB!!!

XAV-AX5000 23 April 2020  (USA)

Worked great for my 2002 Z28. Glare does suck. But other then that 300$ for a double din with CarPlay! Awesome product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent Head Unit

XAV-AX5000 02 April 2020 by Vincent Hardeman (USA)

This is my second head unit. First one was bought over a year ago. Had issues with Home and Option button not working. Customer service replaced without any issues. However, after professional installation and over the warranty period the issues has begun again. No issues with the touchscreen but no response when pressing the home and option button. Reached out to customer support and basically I was told there was nothing they could do. Since I cannot access the home button there is no way to locate the serial number to research issues online. Was in love with the unit now its just a complete nightmare where I am unable to obtain all the features the unit was actually purchased for. Any help or suggestions would be highly appreciated at this time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Look no further, best brand and best model

XAVAX5000 21 March 2020 by saint42 (USA)

A while ago I installed a AX1000 in a truck. I was actually surprised by the speed and simplicity of the unit. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to upgrade the radio in my old 2008 Volvo XC90 and picked another well known brand. I was so annoyed by the fact that the unit was sluggish and WAY too many options on the screen. Then I remembered about the AX1000 that I installed in the past. So I ordered the AX5000 because of its big screen, and installed it with success in my 2008 XC90. What a BOMB this unit is. First of all, it starts in NO time. Then you have ZERO useless option showing up on the screen (meaning nothing about AppleCarPlay until you plug an iPhone, and nothing about Android until you plug an Android phone): This allow the screen to be simple and clear. Settings, USB1 and 2, XM, and sound options. Frankly what else do you need? The sound is really great and that's a reminder for me that if someone ask me to install an upgraded unit in their Volvo, I will only work with SONY. No reason to try anything else and be disappointed. Just go to the best right away. For $350, it is absolutely worth it. Having showed in my install to some of my friends, they all regret (no exception)having chose another brand and are trying to send return whatever they have in order to install the same as mine. My favorite 3 things about the unit beside an awesome sound: Speed at which it starts, responsive, and SIMPLE INTERFACE

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Everything I need

XAVAX5000 06 March 2020 by Bmcgarah (USA)

Love the easy to use functions of this radio, I have been using the CarPlay feature on my Harley Davidson SGS, and so far it’s holding up without any issues, the only flaw is direct sunlight on the screen makes it difficult to see being out in the sunlight on a motorcycle but in a car would probably not be an issue. Love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Oh my goodness. The sound is horrible!

XAV-AX5000 25 February 2020 by Slice0flife (USA)

Wow. I love the display, and the simpleness but boy... It’s so flat and I can’t get any quality out of ANY song. it turned my stock speakers into muddled music with no range whatsoever. I would rather have no music than this. Awful product. I’m usually a huge fan of SONY but this was their chance to win me over cause I usually buy Pioneer. Guess not. You lost me like Android has every time they entice me. I’m even considering moving to XBOX. SONY has been very lackluster as of recently. I’m just disappointed cause I like Sony. I do...I really wanted to like this but I would rather have my stock radio with no features cause it doesn’t make my ears bleed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Disappointed

XAV-AX5000 09 February 2020 by Thumbs18 (USA)

Made it exactly 12 months with no issues. 2 weeks after warranty expires the USB input stops working. Go figure. Sony says “ too bad, buy another unit”.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Sony XAV-AX5000/Q is an Excellent Radio

XAVAX5000 20 January 2020 by TGerm (USA)

Excellant Radio, easy to install, this radio outperformed my expedtations by far, I would buy it again if I sold my vehicle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Good product lacks some detail.

XAVAX5000 11 January 2020 by RL Sink (USA)

Need the ability to change wall paper, only because of this I should have chosen a different unit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Lacking features for something of this decade

XAV-AX5000 10 January 2020 by yoshiismyhomeboy (USA)

Came in the truck I bought. Was originally pretty excited to see a double din touch screen but became very disappointed when I discovered how little features it has. Not being able to add a custom wallpaper in 2019 is a joke. Much better with a pioneer or cheap tablet

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

0

Awesome Receiver, Quick Boot Time

XAV-AX5000 30 December 2019 by GoeHeels (USA)

I bought this head unit along with the Sony XM-S400D Amplifier and could not be more impressed. The system boots quick. The interface is immediate. CarPlay is fantastic. When connected with the amplifier the sound is crazy clear and loud.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Like its looks and features

XAVAX5000 11 December 2019 by Tom42 (USA)

Have had this radio about 2 or 3 weeks and am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor connection with android

XAV-AX5000 21 November 2019 by Bradki (USA)

I have a s10 plus phone all updates done and will connect to head unit for 2-10 minutes and then disconnect and say USB device not supported I reconnect couple minutes later same issue. Tried with my wife's phone and my work phone and same issues. Very disappointed I paid 1300 to have installed with camera and it's just a touch screen radio now.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

1

0

CarPlay Issues, Lack of Features

XAV-AX5000 19 November 2019 by KVW4 (USA)

Expectations were let down in almost every department other than screen size. Yes, the screen is large, and there is even an equalizer...but that's pretty much all you get with this unit. CarPlay rarely works as intended. Restarting unit, updating firmware, restarting phone, shorter cables...every "solution" exhausted and still nothing from Sony. I really wanted to like this unit, but I really don't. SONY, fix the problem and release firmware updates. Please stop pretending like resetting units is going to fix an across-the-board problem with your product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

10

1

0

Great Unit!!

XAV-AX5000 18 November 2019 by JeepJK (USA)

I use this in my Jeep Wrangler & love the carplay feature. Over all it is a great unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1