96

3.2 based on 96 customer reviews

26
19
18
10
23
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14 May 2019 by Tree Bear (USA)

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice clean user interface but has SiriusXM issues

XAV-AX5000 26 May 2018 by jmz15 (USA)

I just installed the AX5000 in my truck. I really like how the user interface is very simple, clean, and responsive. The CarPlay functionality is also very responsive. However, I also have a problem with the sound quality of satellite radio. Using the SiriusXM tuner module I hear a lot of crackling/distortion in the signal, even on simple stuff like the traffic and weather channel. It sounds like the input level is set too high inside the unit and is being clipped/over-driven.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

96 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound and easy interface!

XAV-AX5000 20 May 2020 by Junior217 (USA)

Very happy with this purchase. The sound is great and it's so much easier to use than my previous radio. I have found that the Android Auto issue is with the cable I was using. Once I spoke with my local Sony dealer and bought the 3' Anker USB cable, Android Auto has been great ever since. Highly recommend Sony products!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has never worked right

XAV-AX5000 15 May 2020 by Carl34711 (USA)

Lots of issues - doesn't recognize USB device when plugged in, issues with Android Auto and Pixel phones connecting to radio, the list goes on. $$$ spent with a tuner to show for it. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Not impressed

XAVAX5000 05 May 2020 by Sonysucksoverthetop (USA)

The last firmware update after 8 months waiting for a unit shutdown fix failed again. Nobody from Cruthfield can figure out this issue either.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great radio with one shortfall

XAV-AX5000 03 May 2020  (USA)

I installed this in my 2016 Jeep Wrangler and it is a huge upgrade. The sound settings are perfect and it has great sound. The one weak part is the SXM interface. I have had satellite radio in my cars for 15 years; a combination of factory and after market. All of them have been able to store song and artist alerts as well as direct tune capability...these two features do not exist on this radio. 

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Dual USB!!!

XAV-AX5000 23 April 2020  (USA)

Worked great for my 2002 Z28. Glare does suck. But other then that 300$ for a double din with CarPlay! Awesome product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Head Unit

XAV-AX5000 02 April 2020 by Vincent Hardeman (USA)

This is my second head unit. First one was bought over a year ago. Had issues with Home and Option button not working. Customer service replaced without any issues. However, after professional installation and over the warranty period the issues has begun again. No issues with the touchscreen but no response when pressing the home and option button. Reached out to customer support and basically I was told there was nothing they could do. Since I cannot access the home button there is no way to locate the serial number to research issues online. Was in love with the unit now its just a complete nightmare where I am unable to obtain all the features the unit was actually purchased for. Any help or suggestions would be highly appreciated at this time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Look no further, best brand and best model

XAVAX5000 21 March 2020 by saint42 (USA)

A while ago I installed a AX1000 in a truck. I was actually surprised by the speed and simplicity of the unit. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to upgrade the radio in my old 2008 Volvo XC90 and picked another well known brand. I was so annoyed by the fact that the unit was sluggish and WAY too many options on the screen. Then I remembered about the AX1000 that I installed in the past. So I ordered the AX5000 because of its big screen, and installed it with success in my 2008 XC90. What a BOMB this unit is. First of all, it starts in NO time. Then you have ZERO useless option showing up on the screen (meaning nothing about AppleCarPlay until you plug an iPhone, and nothing about Android until you plug an Android phone): This allow the screen to be simple and clear. Settings, USB1 and 2, XM, and sound options. Frankly what else do you need? The sound is really great and that's a reminder for me that if someone ask me to install an upgraded unit in their Volvo, I will only work with SONY. No reason to try anything else and be disappointed. Just go to the best right away. For $350, it is absolutely worth it. Having showed in my install to some of my friends, they all regret (no exception)having chose another brand and are trying to send return whatever they have in order to install the same as mine. My favorite 3 things about the unit beside an awesome sound: Speed at which it starts, responsive, and SIMPLE INTERFACE

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Everything I need

XAVAX5000 06 March 2020 by Bmcgarah (USA)

Love the easy to use functions of this radio, I have been using the CarPlay feature on my Harley Davidson SGS, and so far it’s holding up without any issues, the only flaw is direct sunlight on the screen makes it difficult to see being out in the sunlight on a motorcycle but in a car would probably not be an issue. Love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Oh my goodness. The sound is horrible!

XAV-AX5000 25 February 2020 by Slice0flife (USA)

Wow. I love the display, and the simpleness but boy... It’s so flat and I can’t get any quality out of ANY song. it turned my stock speakers into muddled music with no range whatsoever. I would rather have no music than this. Awful product. I’m usually a huge fan of SONY but this was their chance to win me over cause I usually buy Pioneer. Guess not. You lost me like Android has every time they entice me. I’m even considering moving to XBOX. SONY has been very lackluster as of recently. I’m just disappointed cause I like Sony. I do...I really wanted to like this but I would rather have my stock radio with no features cause it doesn’t make my ears bleed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Disappointed

XAV-AX5000 09 February 2020 by Thumbs18 (USA)

Made it exactly 12 months with no issues. 2 weeks after warranty expires the USB input stops working. Go figure. Sony says “ too bad, buy another unit”.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Sony XAV-AX5000/Q is an Excellent Radio

XAVAX5000 20 January 2020 by TGerm (USA)

Excellant Radio, easy to install, this radio outperformed my expedtations by far, I would buy it again if I sold my vehicle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good product lacks some detail.

XAVAX5000 11 January 2020 by RL Sink (USA)

Need the ability to change wall paper, only because of this I should have chosen a different unit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Lacking features for something of this decade

XAV-AX5000 10 January 2020 by yoshiismyhomeboy (USA)

Came in the truck I bought. Was originally pretty excited to see a double din touch screen but became very disappointed when I discovered how little features it has. Not being able to add a custom wallpaper in 2019 is a joke. Much better with a pioneer or cheap tablet

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Awesome Receiver, Quick Boot Time

XAV-AX5000 30 December 2019 by GoeHeels (USA)

I bought this head unit along with the Sony XM-S400D Amplifier and could not be more impressed. The system boots quick. The interface is immediate. CarPlay is fantastic. When connected with the amplifier the sound is crazy clear and loud.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Like its looks and features

XAVAX5000 11 December 2019 by Tom42 (USA)

Have had this radio about 2 or 3 weeks and am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor connection with android

XAV-AX5000 21 November 2019 by Bradki (USA)

I have a s10 plus phone all updates done and will connect to head unit for 2-10 minutes and then disconnect and say USB device not supported I reconnect couple minutes later same issue. Tried with my wife's phone and my work phone and same issues. Very disappointed I paid 1300 to have installed with camera and it's just a touch screen radio now.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

1

0

CarPlay Issues, Lack of Features

XAV-AX5000 19 November 2019 by KVW4 (USA)

Expectations were let down in almost every department other than screen size. Yes, the screen is large, and there is even an equalizer...but that's pretty much all you get with this unit. CarPlay rarely works as intended. Restarting unit, updating firmware, restarting phone, shorter cables...every "solution" exhausted and still nothing from Sony. I really wanted to like this unit, but I really don't. SONY, fix the problem and release firmware updates. Please stop pretending like resetting units is going to fix an across-the-board problem with your product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

10

1

0

Great Unit!!

XAV-AX5000 18 November 2019 by JeepJK (USA)

I use this in my Jeep Wrangler & love the carplay feature. Over all it is a great unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

I love it

XAV-AX5000 25 October 2019 by Lukifer (USA)

I have had this unit for six months now the capacitive touch screen over resistive, was the kicker for me It works so well I am afraid to upgrade the firmware ( if it ain't broke don't try to fix it) once every three months or so the the screen will glitch or go dark home and back fixes the glitch and restarting the car the dark. When installing I had the issue with the dropping of the phone I fixed that and haven't had a problem by routing the actual USB connection on the back of the unit to the key tray under the unit in front of the shifter and hooking my USB cable directly into the units USB connecter. Problem solved hope this helps somebody who is having issues. Works great with my Pixel 3 XL Only wish they would drop Sirius for maestro integration or just give us the ability to remove the Sirius icon

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Simple operation

XAV-AX5000 18 October 2019 by Sunzu (USA)

You don't buy a Sony for its software which is best described as 'simple' and a bit clunky or it's phone connectivity. You buy a Sony for its signal processor which everyone knows is the best. They don't make Walkmans that cost $3000 for no reason, but their $170 one sounds terrific. My AX5000 makes it very easy to get perfect sound with the bare minimum of adjustment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Galaxy S7 Edge constantly needs to be reconnected

XAV-AX5000 10 October 2019 by JMCJR (USA)

I bought this 2 days ago and had it professionally installed, I am completely disappointed. I bought it SPECIFICALLY to work with my Android phone(Samsung S7 Edge). It works fine for about 3-10 minutes at a time then disconnects. I tried reviewing every setting on the phone and the Sony 5000. With no luck. Now on Sony forums I am reading that This Unit the 5000 has had this compatibility issue for a long time? Something that people are changing to a shorter USB cord out the back of the head unit? How the heck do I figure that out?

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

0

Amazing Headunit

XAV-AX5000 04 October 2019 by MrMoo (USA)

Most of these reviews complain about one little thing and bump the raiting down to 2 or 3. You should do research before spending hundreds on something. If it doesn't have the features you need don't buy it! This headunit is super responsive. It made my stock system sound better. Android Auto and Carplay work flawless (if it doesn't replace your usb cable).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Pretty Averege

XAV-AX5000 16 September 2019 by Jaswinder (USA)

I got this unit installed a week ago in 2013 Camry. I mainly bought this to use apple and android Car play. When I use the Waze app with android auto the top One-inch area is little blurry and it does't show the name of the road you are on as the Waze app shows on your phone.The second problem I encounter with my steering wheel controls. In my Camry I can not use the call button anymore instead I have to use voice to make a phone call. As a non-native English speaker it is not that easy to make Siri or google understand what you saying. I should be able to zoom in on maps and keep my desired settings as default but that option is not there. other than that its a good looking unit with a very responsive screen. I hope sony will consider addressing these issues in their next firmware update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Best looking headunit...and that's it...run away!

XAV-AX5000 15 September 2019 by ericperry72 (USA)

I have had this unit since 3/2019 and I love the look. People think it's OEM in my Jeep Grand Cherokee. Problem is the unit itself in regards to Android auto. Useless. I have updated the firmware, same issue, random disconnect, shutdown, I even went out and purchased a new Android phone, LG Stylo 4..same issue. I used the oem cable that came with the phone, same issue. Then tried it with a Note 10+...same issue. So not only can I not okay CD's, as this is a media player unit and it's what I wanted, but Android audio doesn't work with dropping. The car audio shop replaced the headunit...same issue. I give up. Sony I thought you were back esp after your amps and that nice hi-res headunit but now...I can't recommend your product. And 2v output? And lack of a decent xover section with some form of DSP is crazy considering what pioneer and Kenwood offer in their media only models. I would sell this radio but I don't wanna scam somebody else.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

6