67

3.2 based on 67 customer reviews

16
16
16
5
14
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14 May 2019 by Tree Bear (USA)

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Review of my XAV-AX5000

XAV-AX5000 28 May 2018 by Ian0 (USA)

I've had my XAV-AX5000 for a few days now and wanted to add some commentary, as I expect others may have been like me and eagerly awaiting reviews before they make the purchase. I selected this Sony over the competitors after I had some hands-on time with the other units and really disliked their messy looking, cluttered interfaces. I wanted something clean and simple. At the time I only had the XAV-AX200 as a comparison, but from a UI standpoint it's functionally the same. The unit is quick to power up, and quick to switch to my reverse camera. Those who have been concerned about having to click that ridiculous warning message every time they get in their car will be happy to know that it automatically goes away after two or three seconds. Given how quickly the unit starts up, it's pretty much out of your way before you ever start really using the unit. As quick as it is to start up, I've actually found the responsiveness of the buttons rather slow. This unit has the captivate screen, but it does not respond like you would expect a cell phone to. I find myself unsure if it's registering my presses, so wind up pressing harder sometimes, or multiple times, like you do with a resistive. This is very pronounced when viewing the list of artists (or folders) off the second USB interface. The whole idea of having two USB interfaces is so that you can have your phone connected to one, and your big ol' collection of music on the second. And, that's how I've got mine set up. The problem is that with a fully-loaded 64GB USB stick full of my music, the responsiveness is really unacceptable. I can count over one second of delay between the page down button and when it responds. With that much music on there, you can forget about trying to quickly page down through your files and find something. There is a scroll bar, but I don't think it works, because it never seems to respond to my clicking. Either that, or it's beyond any kind of a reasonable response time for me to wait. This would be a lot more palatable if there was a way for me to search for an artist or song, but there isn't. I can't even select by first letter. I was curious was the transfer speed was of these USB interfaces, and I don't know if this has an impact here or not, but the first USB interface (for your phone) is USB 2.0, and the second interface (for your music thumbdrive) is USB 1.1. Yes, you read that right. USB 1.1. There's one more separate problem I've got with the music navigation. It doesn't order folder names properly. I have absolutely no idea what it's thinking. For the most part, it does seem to be in alphabetical order, but there's occasionally a folder that is way out of order. For example, I'll have three or four "A" folders in order, and then there will be an "I", and then more "A" folders, and then a "K", and then back to my "A" folders, and so on and so forth. I threw the stick back in my computer and looked at it to see if it was trying to order by date or some other type of meta data, but nothing I saw matched up even close. Alphabetizing shouldn't be hard, but apparently this Sony can't do it properly. Also, you can't select between a listing of songs and artists or albums. You just get the folder list, and then you get the list of songs when you click in the folder. Really basic navigation, that doesn't work well. I was disappointed that this did not come with HD Radio. If you're not already aware of that, now you know. It's pretty disappointing that a unit like this in 2018 doesn't come with what I would consider that fairly basic feature. There is hardly any customization you can do on this unit. I actually went to the manual to look and see if I was missing how to access all the options. There's really very little you can do with it. It would be nice, for example, for the XM Tuner to not display if you don' t have that source. As it is now, from the main display/menu I have to swipe on the sources list to get the USB2 interface to show up, because that extra non-usable XM icon forces the USB2 icon off the screen. So in summary, it has a clean interface, but really doesn't offer that much else. The better screen is nice but not great enough. The extra USB interface is worthless to me since I can't use it to load up and navigate through my music. I really feel like I didn't get much value here. I got a unit that just plays songs off the radio (non-HD) and can do car play/android auto (without wireless) for music (where I'll have to keep all my songs for accessibility). In other words, rather like the phone dash mount to my stock radio over Bluetooth that I was using before. Sony, if you are at all listening, you must fix the following items on this unit via a firmware update: 1. Buggy sorting of folders from USB media 2. Unacceptable responsiveness of page up/down navigation of USB media with a large number of files/folders 3. Ability to switch between a "folder" / "artist" / "album" / "song" view when navigating through the USB media 4. Ability to locate a "folder" / "artist" / "album" / "song" from these views by having an alphabetic selection or search screen

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

13

0

67 Customer Reviews

0

Terrible Purchase

XAV-AX5000 09 August 2019 by Morgan24 (USA)

Bought my first AX-5000 in May, had it professionally installed and had an issue of not being able to hear people on the other end of the phone call. Sony sent a replacement radio to try and solve the initial issue. When I had the second radio professionally installed the same issue arose where no sound would come out of the speakers when on a phone call. BT radio worked, but never on phone calls. When I contacted Sony about a refund due to fear of the 3rd radio not working as well, I was informed that they couldn’t guarantee a refund, only a replacement and they could not reimburse any money paid for either install. I will never purchase another Sony radio period.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Don't waste your money

XAV-AX5000 08 August 2019 by Jenn7522 (USA)

I bought this specifically for Android Auto and it never works. I have tried different cables etc. Nope. Junk. I can't make it 5 miles without it shutting down, freezing, etc. Save your money and buy something better.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Very easy to use!

XAVAX5000 20 July 2019 by Waterboy (USA)

Love the apple car play and Sirius radio and it’s so easy to use. Brought my 2006 Tacoma back to life!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Apple CarPlay does not work!

XAV-AX5000 28 June 2019 by Jon O (USA)

This unit is fantastic and I could say so many great things about it but there’s one glaring issue. Apple CarPlay does not work, I’ve tested several phones and several cables and nothing makes it work. I always get “usb device not supported”. Or it might actually connect for a second then it starts freezing and eventually stops entirely and disconnects. Sony please help me with Apple CarPlay. I’m not the only one on this issue. Several people on the forums have this issue. I’m on the latest firmware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Car Play not supporting

XAV-AX5000 29 May 2019 by Dalip (USA)

Excilent to use & touch panel but not supporting car play

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Great product.

XAV-AX5000 26 May 2019 by Davis246 (USA)

I love this receiver. I wanted it from the first day I saw it on Sony website. The features are good. I have an android so the android auto works.. ( you need to download the app on your phone ) . I just wished it played videos like Netflix and others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14 May 2019 by Tree Bear (USA)

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

0

Terrible Device /Lack of Support & Poor Car Play

XAV-AX5000 07 May 2019 by Unhappy_Sony_buyer (USA)

Main reason for purchase was to support Apple Car Play - it does not as of March 2019. Bluetooth reception is poor unless phone is close to the receiver. Looking to trade it in.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Very Smooth.... But I Wish It Had MirrorLink!!!!

XAV-AX5000 06 May 2019 by NC508 (USA)

Very nice looking and sounding radio... The system's touch screen works very smooth and is also easy to understand the day to day operations of the radio.... My only complaint is there is not enough features like MirrorLink, A/V Inputs, Or a simple AUX plug... I understand that everything works threw the USB 1 or 2 on this radio but a few more features would put this radio over the top on all the other "high-end" systems out there..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not waterproof

XAV-AX5000 30 April 2019 by NO H (USA)

I had this installed in my 2016 CVO SG and the installer did not ask me the type of riding I do. I ride whenever, wherever. I don't trailer my bike. Well one slight rain day in Dallas and I lost all my display. Carplay functions work when I plug in my phone but I have nothing on the display. I loved the radio prior to this day and Lucky 7 Customs Cycles did nothing to help me out so most likely I will be going back to stock HD head unit until someone comes out with a waterproof unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

17

0

Love it

XAV-AX5000 17 April 2019 by JNM3 (USA)

I had the 5000 installed on my Harley and it's a world of difference.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Simple and clean

XAVAX5000 12 April 2019 by Frankielb72 (USA)

This was a great deal on a multimedia product. Went online to crutchfield, got the kit and harness. Done, sleek and loud for a head unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pretty disappointed

XAV-AX5000 08 April 2019 by jamills68 (USA)

I’ve had this system and I’m not so satisfied , they did not get the rear view camera hooked up so it only comes on when you are in reverse , I have to manually go to camera and turn it on and off. The call back quality isn’t so great , and last it has glitches where it has lost my settings and once it went to rear view camera and I had no control of system at all . When I had arrived home and turned key off and removed it then it functioned again. This is a lot to deal with for a 400 buck piece of equipment .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

apple carplay and simplicity, perfect

XAV-AX5000 08 April 2019 by Pablo Jr (USA)

I bought it about a month or 2 ago, the head unit powers up instantly and connects to my phone in no time. For the price I could not find anything better with the same elegant look and features. Plan on adding a back up camera eventually so that is also a major plus. Cannot beat the value, and its a Sony which means it will outlast my car. Only downside is not being able to upload images to display as screen wall paper.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Extremely annoying

XAV-AX5000 03 April 2019 by Michigan worker (USA)

I use my truck for work. It's somewhat of a mobile office. This keeps disconnecting while on the phone with clients, disconnects from gps while in route to job sites, and WONT disconnect my phone when I turn my truck off. I'm constantly calling clients back after my car stereo drops them. Constantly disconnects my phone. The bottom model factory stereo worked all the time. I can't go an hour without some error, disconnect, then total restart. How is it still connected to my phone when I turn my truck off away? Same for both of my phones. AA takes over my phone controls so I can't switch to the headset. WARNING, AVOID THIS UNIT 2017 RAM 3500 Samsung S9...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Good features after a day. Will post more later!

XAVAX5000 09 March 2019 by mboatner (USA)

Sounds great so far! Will cone back after we've used iy so far and elaborate, but so far so good!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worth Every Penny.

XAV-AX5000 10 February 2019 by Uncle Nutzy (USA)

I bought this for my Nissan Xterra (standard factory 6 speaker sound system not the Rockford Fosgate premium system so no factory amp or subwoofer) and am very impressed with the wide range of functions and capability yet operation is so simple. The touch screen is very responsive and intuitive without being overly sensitive and fingerprints/smudges don't show as much as others I've seen. The display is bright and clear but not glaring. The sound output is breathtaking with crystal clear highs, mid ranges are not papery at all and bass is layered, deep and full with zero distortion at high volume. Works flawlessly with android auto using Waze and Spotify apps. I see some people reporting problems here and I think those may be due to them having bluetooth and USB 1 (Car Play/Android Auto) connected simultaneously. Use a good USB cable and disable bluetooth completely (not just disconnected but DISABLED) on your phone before connecting to Android Auto or Apple carplay. The backup camera is fantastic. The remote is good to have mainly for skipping tracks and adjusting volume without having to reach out to the unit and though I have seen much worse it could benefit from being a little more tactile and intuitive. The volume buttons are easy to locate though. I am beyond happy with this puchase. It doesn't just improve the vehicles sound system it improves the entire driving experience through better, broader yet simpler functionality, enhanced safety and refinement. I highly reccomend this unit for just about anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good Unit

XAV-AX5000 10 February 2019 by BIG MOOSE (USA)

Got the unit for Christmas and I installed it myself. Great sounding unit. Only issue is that I can't use the USB cables for my Apple I-POD that I wish I could.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Unit but with Issues

XAVAX5000 24 January 2019 by lawmac (USA)

I purchased this unit primarily for the Android Auto function. When it works, it works great, but there seems to be a problem that I do not think is unique to this particular unit but all after markets units. The USB connection is very sensitive and will disconnect the phone from the head unit without warning. All I can recommend is using the best quality USB cable available. My particular phone uses a Type C which appears to be even more sensitive than other types of cable connectors. I usually have to disconnect the cable from the phone and reconnect, and AA will run again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Horrible Voice call quality

XAV-AX5000 21 January 2019 by Jimbo33 (USA)

Let’s start off with the good. CarPlay is responsive and works well. I don’t spend much time outside of CarPlay, as the Bluetooth calling and folder music search features are rather clunky. Now the bad. I’ve had this unit for 3 months, and have upgraded firmware, tried 3 different mics, and still have terrible voice call quality whether on Bluetooth or over Carplay. I get cutouts on the speakers during a call, but never with radio or music playing. The call receiver consistently cannot hear me, and says it sounds like I’m talking from inside a fishbowl. Putting the OEM car stereo back in immediately solves phone call distortion, as does using airpods, so this is not a poor cell reception or location issue. It only involves this unit. It so bad with this unit, that I pop in airpods for a call, then have to remove so music will play from the speakers afterwards. There’s been many wasted hours on tech support, and tearing the dash apart to try different mics, mic locations, and eventually trying the OEM stereo (which sadly works flawlessly). I’ve been a devout Sony purchaser for 20 years, but never again for automotive.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

5

0

Great sound

XAV-AX5000 13 January 2019 by dinoroar (USA)

I had a fun time installing this device in my 2002 Honda CRV, but it worked out at the end. Great sounding system. The only thing that caught me by surprise was that you have to use the USB cord for android auto and carplay, but that was my fault.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Screen goes blank

XAVAX5000 12 January 2019 by Bonefish (USA)

With in a few hours of installation the screen went blank, you have to hit the home button then select whatever function you were using and it comes back up. Sometimes steering controls work and sometimes not.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Amazing!!!!

XAV-AX5000 08 January 2019 by OrangeAvy (USA)

The sound quality of this radio is amazing!! Super easy to use and the Apple CarPlay is great. Google maps and Waze work amazing! A must buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great upgrade for Harley Davidson

XAV-AX5000 08 January 2019 by Brnrbr247 (USA)

Bought unit for my Harley Davidson and it works great. Screen looks sleek mounted in dash and is very visible during the day when riding. I liked it so much I had 2 more installed in my vehicles.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0