$99.00

(AUD inc. GST)
23

3.1 based on 23 customer reviews

8
3
2
4
6
Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good Battery

NP-FW50 16 February 2015 by STMK (United Kingdom)

Got this just the other day. Its a good battery. The A7 Mark 2 is power hungry so needed a second battery when out and about for long shoots. No issues so far. Previously always purchased Sony Batteries as they are great quality and keep the charge for a long time.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needs improvement

NPFW50 21 February 2011 by jpt0521 (USA)

Battery is large, relatively heavy, and requires a special charger. It has respectable life when freshly charged but loses charge rapidly during storage. I can't store the freshly-charged battery for ~1 month without complete drain. VERY unreliable for the cost.

72

6

23 Customer Reviews

0

Perfect!

NP-FW50 17 May 2018 by Kimmetje (Australia)

Great second battery to have on hand for my new camera.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great Quality

NP-FW50 20 April 2018 by Danielle (Australia)

Great quality product that met my expectations for usage time

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Extremely poor usable battery life

NP-FW50 22 September 2017 by Wrinkly (Australia)

Love, love my Sony A7ii camera. Hate that I have to use this really poor life battery in it. Makes me want to try non-Sony alternatives. Top of the line price - bottom of the pile performance.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Hologram

NP-FW50 12 August 2017 by The opticist (USA)

Battery has a hologram with a bunch of numbers and the word Sony. But if you orient it correctly you see a big, bold L facing you. Rotate it to the left (clockwise), and you see a big R. That R sort of falsifies the hypothesis that the L stands for Low - what do the letters mean?

Performance

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Always get a genuine battery for your £££ camera!

NP-FW50 11 September 2015 by EviL Ras (United Kingdom)

So, i went on a photography course recently and the guy told the students that he has an A7 R ii and he buys the cheap knock off batteries for it because they're cheaper. Why? When you buy the genuine article you get the quality that the price suggests. Great build quality, perfect metering, I easily get 400 shots for my A6000 and it charges back fast. Do yourself a favour, dont risk damaging your expensive equipment! spend the extra £30 and get the genuine battery! And then you dont have to worry!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

17

0

Turn off Wi-Fi to extend battery life.

NPFW50 21 July 2015 by dvdmsmth (USA)

I bought my a6000 in 2015. I was looking for a light weight camera that could take great pictures. I soon realized that a single charge did not last very long. I could only get about 2 hours from the battery. After watching a Gary Fong video, I learned you can extend the battery life by putting the camera in Airplane mode. This will turn off the Wi-Fi. the Wi-Fi uses the battery to search for network connections.

27

2

0

Camera returns error to turn OFF, then ON again.

NPFW50 15 April 2015 by Nettar66 (USA)

When the camera is first turned ON, or awakes from sleep, the first photo will fail, returning a camera error with this battery. You must turn the camera OFF, then ON again. Extremely annoying. I suspect that it can't deliver enough current to truly boot the camera up and allow it to process the shot. Surprising that it is a Sony battery. Don't buy.

4

2

0

Good Battery

NP-FW50 16 February 2015 by STMK (United Kingdom)

Got this just the other day. Its a good battery. The A7 Mark 2 is power hungry so needed a second battery when out and about for long shoots. No issues so far. Previously always purchased Sony Batteries as they are great quality and keep the charge for a long time.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Genuine Sony Product

NP-FW50 08 November 2014 by Camera Buff (United Kingdom)

I purchased this battery for my Sony Alpha a6000 camera. You can buy cheaper and inferior look-a-like versions elsewhere, but it will be a false economy, because the performance is never as good or as reliable as the original. It frankly does not make sense to use inferior batteries in such a well designed and expensive camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

12

0

Average at best

NP-FW50 28 July 2014 by OneRingRules (Australia)

Battery life under constant use is only very average. On a recent four week trip I needed three batteries. Two batteries a day is required and essential and if any lengthy video recording then three. The batteries are compact and charge quickly in the powered adaptor but do not charge quickly through the camera charging system. The battery replacement system is easy and well designed in the camera. The battery life is short under constant use so don't expect to get a few days on one battery.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Extra battery is handy

NPFW50 16 September 2013 by PRASKA (USA)

I took my Sony NEX6 camera with this spare battery to Yellowstone national park. This battery came in very handy during full day of photo and video shooting.

8

4

0

no-fw50

NPFW50 07 September 2013 by LoneRanger2007 (USA)

These batteries are a bit too expensive and do not last for long periods of time if left in the camera. purchased this one for a backup.

13

3

0

NP-FW50 09 January 2013  (Australia)

I expected better battery options for Nex-6

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Battery Life is terrible

NPFW50 01 December 2012 by FLCAMERAGUY (USA)

When I first purchased this camera, the battery probably lasted about 50 photos. I've had this camera roughly a year now and the battery life is down to 20-30 photos. When using a flash, the battery life numbers should be cut in half. Today after fully charging the battery all night, I took five pictures using the flash and the battery was down to 19%. It is ridiculous, please make an add-on battery pack for this camera. I don't normally post reviews but specifically created a Sony account here so I could post this.

59

35

0

Battery Life NEX cameras

NPFW50 19 September 2012 by rkreiss (USA)

I have a NEX 5K for a year now. Purchased an extra battery soon after getting the camera. Just returned from 3 week in Africa and prior to leaving purchased another battery. This gave me 2 while on game drives and one back in camp charging. Most of the time, the battery lasted for 8 hours of of the 2 game drives. Only twice did I have to swap batteries during a game drive. No power at night to charge the batteries. Most of my photography is stills not movies. No matter what camera you own, digital photography uses battery power. One should have no less than 2 batteries to insure you have power during your days picture taking.

30

2

0

The life is too short.

NPFW50 30 August 2012 by laokeix (USA)

The battery can not last one day use.But you have no other choice.

17

6

0

Battery Life is short

NPFW50 01 June 2012  (USA)

A full charged battery only capable for 1 hour HD video shoot. In advance, video were shot continuosly for 30 min and showed overheated warning and shut off.

14

7

0

PRE-CHARGE BATTERY BEFORE USE

NPFW50 21 April 2012 by MaysEffect (USA)

i am only writing to warn people to pre charge batteries before first use. i dont know if some people do or do not do this but all batteries should be charged to its optimal level before the first use this is important to overall batter life, and charge capacitance. some people forget and have complained that the batter is useless or terrible. IF you do this first and the batter is still not up to its optimal level then you can complain.

30

4

0

Horrible Battery

NPFW50 30 October 2011 by SparkleP (USA)

This has to be the worst camera battery I have ever owned. I would never buy this camera again because of the battery life. What is the point of selling a $600.00 camera with a useless battery. If I buy an extra battery, that extra won't hold a charge. So what do you do when you need to use your camera for 2 hours? Take your Kodak.

24

15

0

right battery for the wrong camera or vice versa

NPFW50 19 July 2011 by ProfessionalAmateur (USA)

I was forced to buy this battery for my alpha 55 SLT camera, since the battery that came with the camera lasted on for approx 400 shots (this was as mentioned by sony, no surprises) with 18-55 kit lens. I was going on a vacation and was not sure if I would have the option to recharge the battery regularly. The other features of the camera were nice so I just didn't care much about the battery life at that time. I am repenting now!! Now, with the new 70400G lens which I have purchased, the battery lasts hardly for 200 shots!!!!! Its my bad. I didn't give enough consideration to battery life. This is a good battery for point and shoot cameras BUT not for SLR/SLT/NEX cameras!! Please make note of this, before deciding to buy these cameras!!! I am learning it the hard way I have heard that sony is coming up with new models in the near future which have a different battery and give excellent battery life. But I am screwed!! After so much investment I can't even go to a different brand ($1000 for camera+$1600 for lens$80 for battery)

43

5

0

awful battery

NPFW50 28 May 2011 by CBNY (USA)

The Sony Nex 5 is a fabulous camera but if I had known how terrible the battery life was, I probably wouldn't have gotten it.

28

8

0

Take up to 20 photos and the battery is gone

NPFW50 01 May 2011 by amymirandamakeup (USA)

I love my nex5 camera, but the battery pack has a very short life.. I took a few photos one day and i had to charge it again next day.. its like every time you do a session you make sure you either have another battery or charge it for a few hours. The price of $80 is quite high, as with everything sony.

19

4

0

Needs improvement

NPFW50 21 February 2011 by jpt0521 (USA)

Battery is large, relatively heavy, and requires a special charger. It has respectable life when freshly charged but loses charge rapidly during storage. I can't store the freshly-charged battery for ~1 month without complete drain. VERY unreliable for the cost.

72

6