$2,299.00

(AUD inc. GST)
207

4.6 based on 207 customer reviews

134
61
7
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Well made, handles easily

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 08 March 2015 by Triguy (USA)

I am still getting used to the mirrorless camera idea. And it still feels small to me. That said, it is why I bought it. I shoot a lot from a mountain bike and need to travel light. When I want a full feel camera I use the add on vertical position two battery holder. With it the camera feels like a solid pro camera. I am a retired pro shooter and have traveled all over the world carrying heavy 4x5 and RB67 equipment. This is nothing like that.

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Works great except 1 fatal flaw: AF inconsistency

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 12 March 2015 by CAdreamer (USA)

I really want to like this camera. In addition to the camera and kit lens, I also have the 55mm F/1.8, 16-35mm F/4, and 70-200mm F/4 lenses. I like the color and contrast of these lenses. The camera is light and has a lot of useful features. However, there is one fatal flaw: the auto focus is inconsistent and inaccurate at times. I have contacted Sony support and they escalated the issue to Level II support. A few days later, I received a phone call from them at 7am in the morning and left me a voice mail. He asked me to write down my issues in email and sent to them. So I did. But I still have not heard back from them. Let me state my AF issue here. Some of my photos turn out slightly blurry. I have been trying to figure out how to improve it for a few months. Then I did the following experiments and believe that Sony A7II's AF is not accurate and inconsistent under certain conditions: The experiment is as follows. Use the 55mm F/1.8 lens and set the camera at AF-S, aperture priority, center focus, and auto ISO. Try to use the AF function to lock the focus with aperture at F/1.8. Then try again at F/22. F/22 would take longer to focus, which one would think is fine. Then please switch to AF-C. This will allows the camera to continuously focus on the subject. Try to focus with aperture at F/1.8 and F/22 again. You will find that the camera cannot lock the focus at F/22, or take much longer time to lock than AF-S. It also appears to me that the AF-C with F/22 does not lock the focus and it simply times out. This indicates that AF-S does not always give you the accurate focus you need. I can demonstrate the AF problem consistently. Depending on the lighting condition, it shows as early as F/4.0. Mirrorless camera has come a long way. But I am very disappointed that the single most important function, auto focus, is so poor.

26

1

208 Customer Reviews

0

very easy to use

Body Only 11 August 2018 by bikeman (United Kingdom)

upgraded my A6000 and i am very happy with the new camera takes great pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera!

Body Only 06 August 2018 by Neil Evolving Imaging (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera in June 2018, as an addition to my Sony a6300 and Canon DSLR that i use for my semi pro photography work. The build quality is amazing, image quality fantastic and the IBIS (In Built Image Stabilising) is great. I can use this camera with my Canon lenses and have image stabilising on the lenses, that Canon only do on the lens itself. I bought mine with the 28-70 FE Sony lens and they are an awesome combo. It works well with the Sigma MC11 Canon EF lens adapter also so i can switch between Sony or Canon lenses with no issues and they all perform well. Yes that includes the auto focus as well. I find that the AF performs just as well on the A7M2 as my Canon with the Canon 50mm 1.4 lens and Sigma adapter. Eye AF which is available only on the Sony lenses at present, is amazing. It has about a 90% hit rate for me. The battery life is pretty good and better than the a6300 in fact. The video quality although only full HD, at 60fps is great also. Using the optical stabilisation and IBIS together means you get to shoot both video and stills with well controlled camera shake. Not gimbal like control, but very good. I shoot weddings, fashion, corporate portraits and events. The A7M2 covers them all with ease. Ok, so it doesn't have the AF system of the A7M3, but then my Canon (or any Canon DSLR for that matter) doesn't have the AF system of the A7M2, and as I've been a Canon user for around 12 years now, I know the system pretty well. The only gripe I have with the Sony, as with any CSC mirrorless camera, when you press the shutter, it doesn't always fire instantly. There will be an ever so slight (a fraction of a second) delay before it fires. With my Canon DSLR when I'm shooting a wedding, if i see that facial expression i want to catch, i just press the shutter button and it fires instantly. To get round this issue with the A7M2 i switch to burst mode, where it will fire at 5 fps, which is plenty fast enough for most situations at a wedding. If i want faster than that i switch out to the a6300 with it's 11fps shooting (and quieter shutter mechanism, or the option of 3 fps silent shutter). For me the Canon and my Sonys compliment each other and they are my perfect system. (the a6300 is mainly for action and video). Lastly, the A7M2 has great low light performance and shooting at ISO 6400 is very good for noise control, so I don't worry about the ISO when I'm shooting in low light and fast moving subjects (think Bride and Groom 1st dance where you don't want to spoil the intimate moment with strobe lighting in their faces). Ultimately, you have to find the kit that works for you and then concentrate on squeezing the most from it. Once Sony get their CSC cameras shooting with virtually NO shutter lag like a DSLR, That could be the clincher for me to switch out to all Sony. Any one who is still reading this review, I hope it helps you. All the best and thank you Sony for what you do and the fact that you listen and respond to your customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Low light excenlent

Body Only 03 August 2018  (USA)

happy for wedding shoot and excelent for wedding shoot

0

0

0

Good Camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 20 July 2018 by Jeyaram (USA)

I about 8 months ago in Sri Lanka. In our country the sony support is less and had difficulty buy the apps for the camera. Also the lenses are very expensive compare to cannon

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 15 July 2018 by Topcat 691 (United Kingdom)

This is my 6th Sony camera but my first full frame camera and i love it it is by far the the best Sony camera i have had photos and video are just perfect . The price can put a lot you off but do not let that stop you buying it its worth the spend you will be very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the extra features

Body Only 13 July 2018 by Vernz (United Kingdom)

I bought my new camera about 2 months ago and l love it. I am still getting used to using it but l love the extra features that l can use well l just like the camera and the panaramic and facial recognition everything about it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super resolution and easy to use

Body Only 11 July 2018 by Vivid47 (United Kingdom)

Had this for 2 weeks so not yet done a lot with it but so far the camera is living up to expectations. The only possible drawback is a lack of independant lenses for it and the Sony ones are very expensive. I think I will be using this camera for a long time as it has great potential especially for low light photography.

0

0

0

Moved On Up To The Big Times!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 06 July 2018 by MiamiOneAtl (USA)

Moved up from a Panasonic FZ80, a great camera. Have been extra impressed at the full frame's ability to capture low light photos while holding it in my hands, versus needing a tripod for the Panasonic to take lower light images. Also, the quality and resolution of my photos are better with more balanced contrast, reflecting almost exactly what I see with my naked yes. The A7 iii had arrived, but the new features and much higher price point, well, I could not justify them. Here are some photos I've taken with the new A7 ii.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great camera!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 05 July 2018 by Dlbash (USA)

I'm pretty new to photography so consider that with my review. After owning this camera for about 1 year i think i have a decent opinion of it. I've been able to capture some magical moments with this camera from the very start. The a7ii continually amazes me when i pull up the files on a PC and see the amount of color and light that i'm able to adjust. I thought the battery life would be a big issue, and that really isn't the case. It's something I can easily manage. I've purchased an inexpensive dual charger and a couple spare batteries and this is all i need. I've never run out of juice. For a long session i would get to a 2nd battery and be done. I do wish Sony would work on a better Menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

light camera

Body Only 28 June 2018 by Salman66 (United Kingdom)

Moved from dslr camera to mirrorless camera and so happy with my decision. Fantastic result in filming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Step up

Body Only 19 June 2018 by Gozza (United Kingdom)

For some time now i have been trying to get into photography and have finally moved up to the next level in the what i need out of a camera. I have to say that i love this camera it is easy to get used to the using it and has all the features i need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp as a tack

Body Only 18 June 2018 by tharrison28 (United Kingdom)

I am now over a month in to my ownership and these are my initial observations, bearing in mind I have been an a6000 user for 3 years. Firstly build quality, feels very solid and the handgrip is well designed to be able to balance a full spectrum of lenses, it is a huge leap from the a6000. Secondly image quality, wow! Full frame is a game changer and when partnered to good glass the results are stunning. The evf is also larger and much easier to use if like me you wear glasses. Very happy with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great quality

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 14 June 2018 by loui wheel (United Kingdom)

Great product quality fantastic great for recording and light weight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The camera looks and feels amazing in hand.

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 23 May 2018 by Megi (United Kingdom)

The alpha 7 is all you need. Easy to use, simple to navigate. Makes georgeous photos.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing Camara

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 18 May 2018 by Ralphy Dreamz (USA)

Bought It a few weeks ago and I am In love with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony full frame

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 11 May 2018 by Gamester (United Kingdom)

Already owning a Sony a6000 , I longed for a full frame camera , the Sony a7 does not disappoint ,the 28/70 lens is sharp with built in steady shot , the camera is small but solid , and there are a growing number of lenses available ,that are affordable, it is the best digital camera I have owned and I would recommend it to anyone.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 03 May 2018 by Daviesm4 (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from my A6000 to this model just before a trip to South Africa. The transition was fairly straightforward and after a couple of hours I had the basics sorted. After 3 weeks away I'm still learning the details of everything this wonderful camera can do. I'm really pleased with my decision to upgrade and the results of my photos especially when combined with my new 24-240mm lens. Looking forward to using it more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A step in the rise of greatness

Body Only 27 April 2018 by SCook (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a 2nd body to my Rii for shooting weddings. It definitely doesn't feel as good as the Rii, as you would expect. but now the camera is older I can appreciate where it fits in the Sony timeline to creating great cameras. the image quality is fantastic on the A7ii and I will definitely look to upgrade to the new mark ii when I can.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great features. great camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 21 April 2018 by clarita023 (USA)

Very nice camera and I am so happy to have it. I bought two weeks ago and I am still learning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not bad

Body Only 17 April 2018 by Outlet (USA)

The image quality is great. Focusing is rather a pain. Unlike other bodies, this one does not allow you to easily manually search for a focus point. I should have done more research about the eye auto focus on this body, as it is only available in S-Focus mode. But I will say I was very happy with the image quality. I gave it 3 stars because I was having issues with it not finding focus quickly on my 50mm, and I really don't enjoy the pains of selecting a focus point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Camera has big issue

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 16 April 2018 by Capo_ (USA)

I have serious problem with camera autofocus with Sony 24-240, almost 3 weeks of trip to India and just few photos are ok. I wrote to Sony to have some support and never received a reply. I am thinking to sell the whole package and switch to other brands.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality bit of kit.

Body Only 14 April 2018 by AndyMay (United Kingdom)

Having been a Canon man for more than 25 years, a semi professional sports photographer, I wanted a quality system without the bulk of a dslr. I’ve not used it that much yet, but you can tell from the first touch it’s a solid, quality piece of kit and the Carl Zeiss lenses are on par with the Canon L series glass I’m used to using. A genuine alternative to a DSLR set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Epic photos

Body Only 13 April 2018  (United Kingdom)

It’s my first full frame camera, and I’m so glad I bourght it. Even for a camera that’s a little older now, the pictures are rich and it’s an ease to use and carry around!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

GREAT FEATURES FULL FRAME

Body Only 23 March 2018 by BLUE NOSE (United Kingdom)

SOLD ALL MY NIKON KIT.JUST SO HEAVY. GOT SONY A7 MK11.TAKES A BIT OF GETTING USED TO MIRRORLESS BUT GETTING THERE SLOWLY. SHOULD HAVE DONE IT AGES AGO. JUST WISH YOU COULD GET A DVD WITH IT EXPLAINING EVERYTHING

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0