Article ID : 00246955 / Last Modified : 10/06/2020

The pre-installed camera app does not work. I get the error message "Camera not available". (Android 10)

The camera app shows an error message, what can I do? / The camera app does not start up as expected, can it be fixed? / The pre-installed camera app does not work. I get the error message "Camera not available". What can I do?

    Valid for

    • Android 10
    • Pre-installed camera app

    Solution

    Try these methods one after the other. Verify whether the problem was solved after each method, before trying the next one.

    • Restart your device using the power key.
    • Force the camera app to stop.
    • Clear the camera app's cache.
    • Clear the camera app's data.
    • Check for new software wirelessly in your device using Settings System Advanced Software update > SYSTEM. However, some updates are not available for wireless download. You then need to check for new software using a computer using the Xperia Companion application.
    • Use Safe mode to check if any downloaded applications are causing the problem. In Safe mode, your device starts with pre-installed software and applications only. If the camera works in Safe mode, it's likely that one or more of your post-purchase downloaded applications are affecting the device negatively. If you're not sure which application is causing the problem, start by uninstalling the most recently downloaded application.
    • If your Xperia device has the latest available software and the problem still persists, try to perform a factory data reset on your device. Note that all content on the internal memory of your device gets deleted when you perform a factory data reset. You should therefore backup your data before proceeding on to perform a factory data reset. To back up your content, you can copy it to a computer. Content on any external memory card (SD card) is not deleted.

    To force an app to stop

    1. Find and tap Settings Apps & notifications > See all [number of apps] apps.
    2. Find and tap the app that you want to stop.
    3. Tap FORCE STOP.

    To clear cache from an app

    1. Find and tap Settings Apps & notifications > See all [number of apps] apps.
    2. Find and tap the app that you want to clear cache from.
    3. Tap Storage & cache CLEAR CACHE.

    Note! You will not lose any personal data by clearing the cache. Only temporary files, which are just used, for example, to start an app faster, get deleted. Such files are created again when the app restarts. The option to clear the application cache is not available for all applications.

    To clear data from an app

    1. Find and tap Settings Apps & notifications > See all [number of apps] apps.
    2. Find and tap the app that you want to clear data from.
    3. Tap Storage & cache CLEAR STORAGE.

    Note! When you clear data from an app you delete any personal data stored for this particular app. You also delete the cache for the app. Make sure you back up all important personal data linked to the app before you delete the app data.

    To enable Safe mode

    1. While the device is powered on, press and hold down the power key.
    2. In the pop-up menu, touch and hold Power off until the Reboot to safe mode message appears.
    3. Tap OK to restart in Safe mode.

    To back up your data using a computer

    1. Computer: If it is not already installed, please download and install the Xperia Companion application.
    2. Open the Xperia Companion application.
    3. Connect your Xperia device to the computer using a USB cable.
    4. Xperia device: When prompted by the Allow access? message, tap ALLOW.
    5. Computer: After a few moments, the Xperia Companion application detects your device. Click Backup on the Xperia Companion home screen, then follow the on-screen instructions.

    Note! 

    • Xperia Companion Application doesn't support data transfer for Xperia models launched from 2019 & onwards, We recommend that you use Google Backup and Google Photos to copy content between devices.
    • Instructions for other ways to backup your data are available in the Backing up and synchronising data chapter of the User guide for your Xperia device.

    To perform a factory data reset

    1. Find and tap Settings System Advanced Reset options > Erase all data (factory reset) > Delete all data.
    2. If required, draw your screen unlock pattern or enter your screen unlock password or PIN to continue.
    3. Tap Delete all data.

    Note! When you perform a factory data reset, you erase all personal data stored on the internal storage of your Xperia device. Make sure that you always back up data stored on the internal storage that you want to keep before performing a factory data reset. Photos, videos, music and documents stored on the SD card do not get erased during a factory data reset.